Back New eBooks @ Bloomfield Township Library | January Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New eBooks @ Bloomfield Township Library  

Mysteries and Thrillers

Munich: A novel

ROBERT HARRIS · Knopf
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the internationally best-selling author of Fatherland and the Cicero Trilogy--a new spy thriller about treason and conscience, loyalty and betrayal, set against the backdrop of the fateful Munich Conference of September 1938.

Hugh Legat is a rising star of the British...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Robicheaux: A Novel

James Lee Burke · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 447
Format: Hardcover

James Lee Burke's most beloved character, Dave Robicheaux, returns in this gritty, atmospheric mystery set in the towns and backwoods of Louisiana.

DAVE ROBICHEAUX IS A HAUNTED MAN.

Between his recurrent nightmares about Vietnam, his battle with alcoholism, and the sudden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Woman in the Window: A Novel

A. J. Finn · William Morrow
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"Astounding. Thrilling. Lovely and amazing....Finn has created a noir for the new millennium, packed with mesmerizing characters, stunning twists, beautiful writing and a narrator with whom I'd love to split a bottle of pinot. Maybe two bottles - I've got a lot of questions for her."...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbound

STUART WOODS · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Stone Barrington is pulled along for the ride when a friend pursues a perilous course of vengeance in the newest novel from #1 New York Times-bestselling author Stuart Woods.

In the wake of a personal tragedy, former CIA operative Teddy Fay - now a successful Hollywood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wanted

ROBERT CRAIS · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

It seemed like a simple case - before the bodies starting piling up. Investigator Elvis Cole and his partner, Joe Pike, take on the deadliest case of their lives in the new masterpiece of suspense from the #1 New York Times-bestselling author.

When single mother Devon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Promise Not to Tell

JAYNE ANN KRENTZ · Berkley
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

A broken promise reveals a terrifying legacy in this electrifying novel from the New York Times bestselling author of When All the Girls Have Gone.

A painter of fiery, nightmarish visions throws herself into the sea - but she'll leave some of her secrets...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife: A Novel

Alafair Burke · Harper
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10 - in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When...

Read More check catalog
 
 

Literary Fiction

The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fools and Mortals

BERNARD CORNWELL · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling, action-packed standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream - as related by William Shakespeare's estranged younger brother.

Lord, what...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ice House

Laura Lee Smith · Grove Press
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

From a writer who's been praised for her "intelligence, heart, wit" (Richard Russo, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Empire Falls) , The Ice House follows the beleaguered MacKinnons as they weather the possible loss of the family business, a serious medical...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Music Shop: A Novel

RACHEL JOYCE · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A love story and a journey through music, the exquisite and perfectly pitched new novel from the bestselling author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Power

NAOMI ALDERMAN · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

What would happen if women suddenly possessed a fierce new power?


In THE POWER, the world is a recognizable place: there's a rich Nigerian boy who lounges around the family pool; a foster kid whose religious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Anatomy of a scandal : a novel

Sarah Vaughan · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"A strong choice for book clubs. Former political correspondent Vaughan makes an impressive debut with this savvy, propulsive courtroom drama." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Vaughan offers gripping insight into a political scandal's hidden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Could Hurt: A Novel

JILLIAN MEDOFF · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Searing, sexy, and surprisingly funny, Jillian Medoff's This Could Hurt burns through the pages. No one is safe in this cruel but compassionate take on corporate America. I loved it." - Marcy Dermansky, author of The Red CarA funny and deeply felt novel that illuminates the pivotal...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Romance

Still Me: A Novel

JOJO MOYES · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the sensational #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa Clark

Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Widows of Malabar Hill

Sujata Massey · Soho Crime
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Introducing an extraordinary female lawyer-sleuth in a new historical series set in 1920s Bombay! Bombay, 1921: Perveen Mistry, the daughter of a respected Zoroastrian family, has just joined her father's law firm, becoming one of the first female lawyers in India. Armed with a law degree...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fall from Grace: A Novel

DANIELLE STEEL · Delacorte Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Danielle Steel comes the gripping story of a woman who loses everything - her husband, her home, her sense of self and safety, and her freedom.

Sydney Wells's perfect life with her wealthy, devoted husband vanishes when he dies...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Distant Heart

SONALI DEV · Kensington
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Her name means "miracle" in Sanskrit, and to her parents, that's exactly what Kimaya is. The first baby to survive after several miscarriages, Kimi grows up in a mansion at the top of Mumbai's Pali Hill, surrounded by love and privilege. But at eleven years old, she develops...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Past Perfect: A Novel

Danielle Steel · Delacorte Press
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Danielle Steel, Past Perfect is a spellbinding story of two families living a hundred years apart who come together in time in a startling moment, opening the door to rare friendship and major events in early-twentieth-century history.

...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Nonfiction

Darkest Hour: How Churchill Brought England Back from the Brink

Anthony McCarten · Harper Perennial
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

From the acclaimed novelist and screenwriter of The Theory of Everything comes a revelatory look at the period immediately following Winston Churchill's ascendancy to Prime Minister - soon to be a major motion picture starring Gary Oldman."He was speaking to the nation, the world,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Judgment Detox: Release the Beliefs That Hold You Back from Living A Better Life

Gabrielle Bernstein · North Star Way
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gabrielle Bernstein comes a clear, proactive, step-by-step process to release the beliefs that hold you back from living a better life.This six-step practice offers many promises. Petty resentments will disappear, compassion will replace attack,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Saboteur: The Aristocrat Who Became France's Most Daring Anti-Nazi Commando

PAUL KIX · Harper
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Agent Zigzag comes this breathtaking biography, as fast-paced and emotionally intuitive as the very best spy thrillers, which illuminates an unsung hero of the French Resistance during World War II - Robert de La Rochefoucald, an aristocrat turned anti-Nazi saboteur...

Read More check catalog
 
 
12 Strong: The Declassified True Story of the Horse Soldiers

Doug Stanton · Pocket Books
Pages: 576
Format: Mass Market Paperback

The New York Times bestselling "spellbinding true-life story" (USA TODAY) of a United States Special Forces team deployed to the war-ravaged Afghanistan mountains in the weeks immediately following 9/11, overcoming great odds to become heroes of our era - now a major motion...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost City of the Monkey God: A True Story

Douglas J Preston · Grand Central Publishing
Format: Audiobook

NAMED A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017#1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller! A Best Book of 2017 from the Boston GlobeOne of the 12 Best Books of the Year from National GeographicIncluded in Lithub's Ultimate Best Books of 2017 ListA Favorite Science Book of 2017...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Andrew Jackson and the Miracle of New Orleans: The Battle That Shaped America's Destiny

Brian Kilmeade · Sentinel
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Another pop history pageturner from the New York Times bestselling authors of George Washington's Secret Six and Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates.

When the British fought the young United States during the War of 1812, they knew that taking the mouth...
Read More check catalog