Back Recent and Readable | May Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Recent and Readable  
The House at the Edge of Night: A Novel

Catherine Banner · Random House
Pages: 419
Format: Print book

A sweeping saga about four generations of a family who live and love on an enchanting island off the coast of Italy - combining the romance of Beautiful Ruins with the magical tapestry of works by Isabel Allende.

Castellamare is an island far enough away from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
First Comes Love: A Novel

Emily Giffin · Ballantine Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A pair of sisters find themselves at a crossroads in this dazzling new novel from the author of Something Borrowed, Where We Belong, and The One & Only. First Comes Love is a story about family, friendship,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Could Be Beautiful: A Novel

Swan Huntley · Doubleday
Pages: 352
Format: Print book

A spellbinding psychological debut novel, Swan Huntley's We Could Be Beautiful is the story of a wealthy woman who has everything - and yet can trust no one.

Catherine West has spent her entire life surrounded by beautiful things. She owns an immaculate Manhattan apartment,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sleeping Giants

Sylvain Neuvel · Del Rey
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery - and a fight to control a gargantuan power.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Collecting the Dead

Spencer Kope · Minotaur Books
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Magnus "Steps" Craig is part of the elite three-man Special Tracking Unit of the FBI. Called in on special cases where his skills are particularly needed, he works as a tracker. The media dubs him "The Human Bloodhound," since Steps is renowned for his incredible...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Edge of the Fall: A Novel

Kate Williams · Pegasus Books
Pages: 400
Format: Print book

From New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams, the new novel in The Storms of War trilogy finds young Celia de Witt embracing the Roaring Twenties in postwar London.In the aftermath of the Great War, the De Witt family is struggling to piece together the shattered fragments of their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Missing, Presumed: A Novel

Susie Steiner · Random House
Format: Print book

"Detective Manon Bradshaw is 39, single, and miserable as sin. She has endured some of the worst dates in internet history. But she loves her job and performs it brilliantly; all she needs to rise up in the ranks is a big break. Edith Hind is a gorgeous, intrepid graduate student at Cambridge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Fate of Gender: Nature, Nurture, and the Human Future

Frank Browning · Bloomsbury
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Frank Browning takes us into human gender geographies around the world, from gender-neutral kindergartens in Chicago and Oslo to femminielli weather casters in Naples, from conservative Catholics in Paris fearful of God and Nature to transsexual Mormon parents in Utah. As he shares specific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rogue Justice: The Making of the Security State

Karen J Greenberg · Crown Publishers
Pages: 310
Format: Print book

The definitive account of how America's War on Terror sparked a decade-long assault on the rule of law, weakening our courts and our Constitution in the name of national security.

The day after September 11, President Bush tasked the attorney general with preventing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Commander in Chief: FDR's Battle with Churchill, 1943

Nigel Hamilton · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 464
Format: Print book

In the next installment of the "splendid memoir Roosevelt didn't get to write" (New York Times) , Nigel Hamilton tells the astonishing story of FDR's year-long, defining battle with Churchill, as the war raged in Africa and Italy.

Nigel Hamilton's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
To Protect and Serve: How to Fix America's Police

Norm Stamper · Nation Books
Pages: 309
Format: Print book

The police in America belong to the people - not the other way around. Yet millions of Americans experience their cops as racist, brutal, and trigger-happy: an overly aggressive, militarized enemy of the people. For their part, today's officers feel they are under siege - misunderstood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fair Play: How LGBT Athletes Are Claiming Their Rightful Place in Sports

Cyd Zeigler · Edge Of Sports
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

"This important and accessible book about the evolving treatment of LGBTQ athletes in organized sports should be required reading for anyone involved in the playing, coaching, and administration of organized sports. Zeigler, an expert in LGBTQ athletics and cofounder of the online...
Read More check catalog