Back Recent and Readable | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Recent and Readable  
The Afterlives: A Novel

Thomas Pierce · Riverhead Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

"Ridiculously good" (The New York Times) author Thomas Pierce's debut novel is a funny, poignant love story that answers the question: What happens after we die? (Lots of stuff, it turns out) .Jim Byrd died. Technically. For a few minutes. The diagnosis: heart attack at age thirty....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brass: A Novel

Xhenet Aliu · Random House
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A fierce debut novel about mothers and daughters, haves and have-nots, and the stark realities behind the American Dream A waitress at the Betsy Ross Diner, Elsie hopes her nickel-and-dime tips will add up to a new life. Then she meets Bashkim, who is at once both worldly and naïve,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
City of Endless Night

DOUGLAS PRESTON · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"For God's sake, tell us what's happened!""Vengeance. Vengeance is what's happened." It begins as a manhunt for Grace Ozmian, the missing daughter of a wealthy tech billionaire. At first, the NYPD assumes Grace, beautiful, reckless, and a regular feature of the local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cræft: An Inquiry Into the Origins and True Meaning of Traditional Crafts

Alex Langlands · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An archaeologist takes us into the ancient world of traditional crafts to uncover their deep, original histories.In the midst of a seemingly endless supply of mass-manufactured products, we find ourselves nostalgic for products bearing the mark of authenticity -- hand-made furniture, artisan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eternal Life: A Novel

DARA HORN

The award-winning, critically acclaimed author returns with an ingenious novel about what it would mean to live forever.Rachel has an unusual problem: she can't die. Her recent troubles -- widowhood, a failing business, an unemployed middle-aged son -- are only the lates
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fools and Mortals

BERNARD CORNWELL · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling, action-packed standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of A Midsummer Night's Dream - as related by William Shakespeare's estranged younger brother.Lord, what fools...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grist Mill Road: A Novel

Christopher J Yates · Picador
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The highly anticipated new novel from the author whose debut was called "The smart summer thriller you've been waiting for...The novel you should be reading tonight" (NPR's All Things Considered) and was named a Book of the Year by NPR and an Entertainment Weekly Must-List...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Happiness Is a Choice You Make: Lessons from a Year Among the Oldest Old

John Leland · Sarah Crichton Books
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

Based on the popular New York Times series, life-changing wisdom from an unexpected source: America's oldest oldIn 2015, the award-winning New York Times journalist John Leland set out to meet some of the city's oldest inhabitants for a series on America's fastest-growing age group: those...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hellbent

Gregg Hurwitz · Minotaur Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Evan Smoak -- government assassin gone rogue -- returns in Hellbent, an engrossing, unputdownable thriller from Gregg Hurwitz, the latest in his #1 international bestselling Orphan X series.Taken from a group home at age twelve, Evan Smoak was raised and trained as an off-the-books government...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Into the Black Nowhere: An UNSUB Novel

MEG GARDINER · Dutton
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by real-life serial killer Ted Bundy, an exhilarating thriller in which FBI profiler Caitlin Hendrix faces off against a charming, merciless serial killerIn southern Texas, on Saturday nights, women are disappearing. One vanishes from a movie theater. Another is ripped from her car at a stoplight....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Monk of Mokha

Dave Eggers · Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling author of The Circle and What Is the What, the true story of a young Yemeni-American man, raised in San Francisco, who dreams of resurrecting the ancient art of Yemeni coffee but finds himself trapped in Sana'a by civil war.Mokhtar Alkhanshali grew up in San Francisco,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Need to Know: A Novel

KAREN CLEVELAND · Ballantine Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"Prediction: If you read chapter one, you'll read chapter two. If you read chapter two, you'll miss dinner, stay up far too late, and feel tired at work tomorrow. This is that kind of book. Superb." - Lee Child In pursuit of a Russian sleeper cell on American soil, a CIA analyst...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Oliver Loving: A Novel

Stefan Merrill Block · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"A dazzling novel about love, loss, and the mysteries of the mind." -- David Ebershoff, Bestselling author of The Danish Girl and The 19th WifeA family in crisis, a town torn apart, and the boy who holds the secret has been cocooned in a coma for ten years.One warm, West Texas...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Red Clocks: A Novel

LENI ZUMAS · Lee Boudreaux Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road Not Taken: Edward Lansdale and the American Tragedy in Vietnam

MAX BOOT · Liveright
Pages: 784
Format: Hardcover

In chronicling the adventurous life of legendary CIA operative Edward Lansdale, The Road Not Taken definitively reframes our understanding of the Vietnam War. In this epic biography of Edward Lansdale (1908- 1987) , the man said to be the fictional model for Graham Greene's The Quiet...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A State of Freedom: A Novel

NEEL MUKHERJEE · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A devastating and powerful vision of a people defined by that most unquenchable human urge, the striving for a different life.Can we transform the possibilities we are born into? A State of Freedom wrests open the central, defining events of our century: displacement and migration. Five...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Still Me: A Novel

JOJO MOYES · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From the sensational #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa ClarkLouisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident that she can embrace this new adventure and keep her relationship...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Two Girls Down: A Novel

Louisa Luna · Doubleday
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"This is such a terrific read. High stakes, relationship-driven, perfectly paced. Two Girls Down has something else worth noting: three dimensional female characters. Alice Vega could give Jack Reacher a run for his money. Maybe Louisa Luna should write all the thrillers."--New...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Montezuma Met Cortés: The True Story of the Meeting that Changed History

MATTHEW RESTALL · Ecco
Pages: 560
Format: Hardcover

A dramatic rethinking of the encounter between Montezuma and Hernando Cortés that completely overturns what we know about the Spanish conquest of the AmericasOn November 8, 1519, the Spanish conquistador Hernando Cortés first met Montezuma, the Aztec emperor, at the entrance to the capital...
Read More check catalog
 
 
White Chrysanthemum

Mary Lynn Bracht · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In the spirit of Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943. Hana has lived her entire life under Japanese occupation. As a haenyeo, a female diver of the sea,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wife Between Us

GREER HENDRICKS · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A clever thriller with masterful twists." - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author of The Kept Woman "A fiendishly clever romantic thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. This one will keep you guessing." -Anita Shreve, New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Winter: A Novel

ALI SMITH · Pantheon
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

From the Man Booker-short-listed and Baileys Women's Prize-winning author of How to be both, the highly anticipated second novel in the acclaimed Seasonal series, which both continues the arc of the series and is also an extraordinary stand-alone read.In Winter, life force matches up to the toughest...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Winter Station

JODY SHIELDS · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

An aristocratic Russian doctor races to contain a deadly plague in an outpost city in Manchuria - before it spreads to the rest of the world. 1910: people are mysteriously dying at an alarming rate in the Russian-ruled city of Kharbin, a major railway outpost in Northern China. Strangely,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Wizard and the Prophet: Two Remarkable Scientists and Their Dueling Visions to Shape Tomorrow's World

CHARLES C MANN · Knopf
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling, award-winning author of 1491 and 1493--an incisive portrait of the two little-known twentieth-century scientists, Norman Borlaug and William Vogt, whose diametrically opposed views shaped our ideas about the environment, laying the groundwork for how people in the twenty-first...
Read More check catalog