Back Recent and Readable | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Recent and Readable  
All Our Wrong Todays: A Novel

Elan Mastai · Dutton
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

"A thrilling tale of time travel and alternate timelines with a refreshingly optimistic view of humanity's future." - Andy Weir, New York Times bestselling author of The Martian "Elan Mastai has conjured up a witty and freewheeling time-traveling romance that packs an emotional...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book That Changed America: How Darwin's Theory of Evolution Ignited a Nation

Randall Fuller · Viking
Pages: 294
Format: Print book

A compelling portrait of a unique moment in American history when the ideas of Charles Darwin reshaped American notions about nature, religion, science and race"A lively and informative history." - The New York Times Book ReviewThroughout its history America has been torn in two by debates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Doctorow : collected stories

E L Doctorow · Random House
Pages: 321
Format: Print book

A superb collection of fifteen stories by an American master, E. L. Doctorow - the author of Ragtime, The March, The Book of Daniel, and Billy Bathgate He has been called "a national treasure" by George Saunders. Doctorow's great topic, said Don DeLillo, is "the reach of American...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Falling into the Mob

Steve Zousmer · The Permanent Press
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

At fifty-nine, facing a dull and lonely future, Phillip Vail yearns for a way to put vigor and purpose into his remaining years. Then he finds the Mafia.While riding a commuter train, enjoying a chat with a younger woman sitting next to him, he encounters three violent drunks. Phil is powerless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl in Green

Derek B Miller · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 326
Format: Print book

From the author of Norwegian by Night, a novel about two men on a misbegotten quest to save the girl they failed to save decades before 1991. Near Checkpoint Zulu, one hundred miles from the Kuwaiti border, Thomas Benton meets Arwood Hobbes. Benton is a British journalist who reports from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Her Every Fear: A Novel

Peter Swanson · William Morrow
Pages: 333
Format: Print book

The author of the wildly popular The Kind Worth Killing returns with an electrifying and downright Hitchcockian psychological thriller - as tantalizing as the cinema classics Rear Window and Wait Until Dark - involving a young woman caught in a vise of voyeurism, betrayal, manipulation,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Human Acts: A Novel

Han Kang · Hogarth Pr
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

From the internationally bestselling author of THE VEGETARIAN, a "rare and astonishing" (The Observer) portrait of political unrest and the universal struggle for justice In the midst of a violent student uprising in South Korea, a young boy named Dong-ho is shockingly killed....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Kathleen Rooney · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 287
Format: Print book

"Extraordinary ... Hilarious ... Elegantly written, Rooney creates a glorious paean to a distant literary life and time -- and an unabashed celebration of human connections that bridge past and future. -- Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed) Fall 2016 Library Journal Editors' Pick"In...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Little Deaths: A Novel

Emma Flint · Hachette Books
Pages: 311
Format: Print book

ONE OF ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY'S MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2017"Gripping."---Maureen Corrigan, Washington Post"Mesmerizing."---Associated Press It's 1965 in a tight-knit working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, and Ruth Malone--a single mother who works long hours...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lucky Boy

Shanthi Sekaran · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 472
Format: Print book

A gripping tale of adventure and searing reality, Lucky Boy gives voice to two mothers bound together by their love for one lucky boy."Sekaran has written a page-turner that's touching and all too real." - People"A fiercely compassionate story about the bonds and the bounds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth: A Novel

Lindsey Lee Johnson · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable cast of characters is unleashed into a realm known for its cruelty - the American high school - in this captivating debut novel.The wealthy enclaves north of San Francisco are not the paradise they appear to be, and nobody knows this better than the students of a local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Nowhere Man

Gregg Hurwitz · Minotaur Books
Pages: 358
Format: Print book

Spoken about only in whispers, the Nowhere Man can only be reached by the truly desperate, he can -- He will do anything to save them. Evan Smoak is the Nowhere Man. Taken from a group home at twelve, Evan was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program, an off-the-books operation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On Second Thought

Kristan Higgins · Harlequin Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Following in the footsteps of her critically acclaimed novel If You Only Knew, multi-bestselling author Kristan Higgins returns with a pitch-perfect look at the affection - and the acrimony - that binds sisters together Ainsley O'Leary is so ready to get married - she's even found the engagement...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pachinko

Min Jin Lee · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 496
Format: Print book

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Refugees

Viet Thanh Nguyen · Grove Press
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Viet Thanh Nguyen's The Sympathizer was one of the most widely and highly praised novels of 2015, the winner not only of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, but also the Center for Fiction Debut Novel Prize, the Edgar Award for Best First Novel, the ALA Carnegie Medal for Fiction, the Asian/Pacific...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ring of Fire: A Pike Logan Thriller

Brad Taylor · Dutton
Pages: 433
Format: Print book

Former Delta Force officer and New York Times bestselling author Brad Taylor delivers a relentlessly fast-paced, gripping thriller featuring Taskforce operators Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill as they come face-to-face with an insidious threat to strike terror into the heart of America....
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Separation: A Novel

Katie M Kitamura · Riverhead Books
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

A mesmerizing, psychologically taut novel about a marriage's end and the secrets we all carry. A young woman has agreed with her faithless husband: it's time for them to separate. For the moment it's a private matter, a secret between the two of them. As she begins her new life,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mrs. Sherlock Holmes: The True Story of New York's City's Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation

Brad Ricca · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

Mrs. Sherlock Holmes tells the incredible true life story of Mrs. Grace Humiston, the New York lawyer and detective who solved the famous cold case of Ruth Cruger, an 18-year-old girl who disappeared in 1917. Grace was an amazing lawyer and traveling detective during a time when no women...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Signal Flame: A Novel

Andrew Krivak · Scribner
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

The stunning second novel from National Book Award finalist Andrew Krivak - a heartbreaking, captivating story about a family awaiting the return of their youngest son from the Vietnam War.In a small town in Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains Hannah and her son Bo mourn the loss of the family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Storm in a Teacup: The Physics of Everyday Life

Helen Czerski · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 275
Format: Print book

A physicist explains daily phenomena from the mundane to the magisterial.Take a look up at the stars on a clear night and you get a sense that the universe is vast and untouchable, full of mysteries beyond comprehension. But did you know that the key to unveiling the secrets of the cosmos...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Strays: A Novel

Emily Bitto · Twelve
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

WINNER OF AUSTRALIA'S 2015 STELLA PRIZEFor readers of Atonement, a powerful and haunting story of three sisters and their friend who grow up on the outskirts of their parents' glamorous bohemian lifestyle. On her first day at a new school, Lily befriends one of the daughters of infamous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The True Flag: Theodore Roosevelt, Mark Twain, and the Birth of American Empire

Stephen Kinzer · Henry Holt
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The bestselling author of Overthrow and The Brothers brings to life the forgotten political debate that set America's interventionist course in the world for the twentieth century and beyond.How should the United States act in the world? Americans cannot decide. Sometimes we burn with righteous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unbanking of America: How the New Middle Class Survives

Lisa Servon · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

An urgent and incisive exposé of our broken banking system - why Americans are fleeing traditional banks in growing numbers What do an undocumented immigrant in the South Bronx, a high-net-worth entrepreneur, and a twenty-something graduate student have in common? All three are victims...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Very Expensive Poison: The Assassination of Alexander Litvinenko and Putin's War with the West

Luke Harding · Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

A real-life political assassination story--complete with KGB, CIA, MI5, and Russian mobsters--that reverberates from the streets of London to the deadly halls of today's Kremlin. A Vintage Original. On November 1, 2006, journalist and Russian dissident Alexander Litvinenko was poisoned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Winter in Anna: A Novel

Reed Karaim · W.W. Norton & Company
Pages: 256
Format: Print book

The story of an unlikely and transformative connection forged between a young journalist and a woman whose past holds a terrible secret.A young man, Eric, drops out of college and lucks into a job with a small-town newspaper where he meets Anna -- a woman whose story will both haunt and inspire...
Read More check catalog