Back Ages 9-12 | August Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Ages 9-12  
No Better Friend: Young Readers Edition: A Man, a Dog, and Their Incredible True Story of Friendship and Survival in World War II

Robert Weintraub · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A middle-grade edition of the New York Times bestselling No Better Friend-the extraordinary tale of friendship and survival in World War IINo Better Friend tells the incredible true story of Frank Williams, a radarman in Britain's Royal Air Force, and Judy, a purebred pointer, who met as prisoners...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Life as a Youtuber

JANET TASHJIAN · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Book 7 of the much-loved My Life series that has the irrepressible Derek Fallon starting his own Youtube web series!Derek Fallon finally found something to get excited about at school -- an extracurricular class on making videos! Together with his friends Carly, Matt, and Umberto, Derek...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Let's Pretend We Never Met

MELISSA WALKER · HarperCollins
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The Thing About Jellyfish meets The Kind of Friends We Used to Be in this sweet, honest middle grade debut.If it were up to Mattie Markham, there would be a law that said your family wasn't allowed to move in the middle of the school year. After all, sixth grade is hard enough without wondering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Camille's Mermaid Tale

VALERIE TRIPP · AMER GIRL
Pages: 104
Format: Print book

Camille loves the ocean -- the warm sand, the pretty shells, and the sparkling waves that tickle her toes. Sometimes she even imagines that she's a mermaid with whales and dolphins for friends! When the other WellieWishers see how much Camille misses her summers by the sea, they want...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mesmerist

Ronald L Smith · Clarion Books
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

Thirteen-year-old Jessamine Grace and her mother make a living as sham spiritualists - until they discover that Jess is a mesmerist and that she really can talk to the dead. Soon she is plunged into the dark world of Victorian London's supernatural underbelly and learns that the city is under...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Awesome America

Editors of TIME For Kids Magazine · Time for Kids Books
Pages: 208
Format: Print book

TIME For Kids explores America from sea to shining sea!Discover what makes America unique in this comprehensive timeline and photographic overview of American history--pre-Columbus through the present--highlighting the milestone events and important people that have made America awesome....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Book Uncle and Me

Uma Krishnaswami · Groundwood Books
Pages: 149
Format: Print book

Every day, nine-year-old Yasmin borrows a book from Book Uncle, a retired teacher who has set up a free lending library next to her apartment building. But when the mayor tries to shut down the rickety bookstand, Yasmin has to take her nose out of her book and do something.But what can she do? The local...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Six Kids and a Stuffed Cat

Gary Paulsen · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

From three-time Newbery Honor author Gary Paulsen comes a laugh-out-loud novel about six wacky misfits who get stuck together in a school restroom and discover friendship.It seemed like a normal school day, until a horrible storm forced the very cautious school administration to make everyone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
National Geographic Kids Almanac 2018

National Geographic Kids · National Geographic Society
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Kids can have fun keeping up with our quickly changing world with the New York Times best-selling Almanac, packed with incredible photos, tons of fun facts, crafts, activities, and fascinating features about animals, science, nature, technology, and more. New features include three chapters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Left Out

Tim Green · HarperCollins
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green tells a heartfelt and moving story about a deaf boy's journey to change how others see him - both on and off the football field. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.Landon Dorch wants to be like everyone else. But his deafness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ollie's Odyssey

William Joyce · Atheneum Children'S Books
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

Can a beloved but lost stuffed rabbit save himself and other Losts from becoming the most feared designation of all: The Forgotten? Find out in this epic quest from the author of The Guardians series and the creative force behind The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore.Oswald...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Knights of Crystallia: Alcatraz vs. the Evil Librarians

Brandon Sanderson · Starscape
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

The evil Librarians are back! Alcatraz Smedry has made it to the Free Kingdoms. Unfortunately, so have the evil Librarians - including his mother...Now all Alcatraz has to do is find a traitor among the Knights of Crystallia, try to be friends with his very unfriendly father, save one of the last...
Read More check catalog
 
 
DK Eyewitness Books: Islam

Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff. · DK Children
Pages: 72
Format: Hardcover

Discover Islam--the faith, culture, and history that have shaped the Islamic world.Explore the world's fastest-growing religion--from the Prophet Muhammad to Ramadan and the Qu'ran. Learn about traditional Islamic dress, feasts, and Islam's rich tradition of design.Why do Muslims...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Game On! 2017: All the Best Games: Awesome Facts and Coolest Secrets

Scholastic · Scholastic Inc.
Pages: 224
Format: Print book

Game On! 2017 is the second edition of this hot new annual!Features information and statistics about all of the most popular games, tips and tricks for gamers, and interviews from gaming's biggest personalities--including game developers and pro gamers! With the help of Imagine Publishing,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Algeria

Martin Hintz · Children's Press
Pages: 144
Format: Print book

After more than 100 years of French rule, the nation of Algeria achieved independence in 1962 after a long, bloody war. Today, the largest country in Africa is a land of vibrant culture. Readers will find out how people live in Algeria, from what they eat and how they dress to how their...
Read More check catalog