Kirtland Public Library
 
Simple News Pro
  Sports  
The Comeback: LeBron, the Cavs & Cleveland

Terry Pluto · Gray & Company
Pages: 234
Format: Print book

This epic homecoming tale recounts one of the greatest Cleveland sports stories ever - how LeBron James and the Cavaliers took fans on a roller coaster ride from despair to hope and, finally, to glory as the 2016 NBA champions. Fans felt gut-punched in 2010 when local hero and MVP LeBron...
 
 
The Blueprint: LeBron James, Cleveland's Deliverance, and the Making of the Modern NBA

JASON LLOYD · Dutton
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

In 2010, LeBron James left the Cleveland Cavaliers. That same year, Jason Lloyd began to cover the team for the Akron Beacon Journal, LeBron's hometown newspaper. The story he uncovered started as a tragedy but ended in incredible triumph. Back in 2010, starting in the days, weeks, and months...
 
 
50 Hikes in Ohio

Ralph Ramey · The Countryman Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

A veteran hiker revisits old favorite trails in the Buckeye State In this revised and updated edition, Ralph Ramey visits old and new trails that reflect his love of hiking in Ohio. Walks through remnant prairies and an area of drifting sand dunes, a climb to a dolomite promontory, and a hike...
 
 
Advanced Bushcraft: An Expert Field Guide to the Art of Wilderness Survival

Dave Canterbury · Adams Media
Format: Print book

"Meant to follow "Bushcraft 101" by providing more advanced techniques for making tools, traps, shelters, and more, in the wilderness"--
 
 
Carry on.

Lisa Fenn · Harperwave
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

In the spirit of The Blind Side and Friday Night Lights comes a tender and profoundly moving memoir about an ESPN producer's unexpected relationship with two disabled wrestlers from inner city Cleveland, and how these bonds - blossoming, ultimately, into a most unorthodox family - would...
 
 
The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit

Michael Finkel · Knopf
Pages: 203
Format: Hardcover

Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality - not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. A New York...
 
 
The Three-Year Swim Club: The Untold Story of Maui's Sugar Ditch Kids and Their Quest for Olympic Glory

Julie Checkoway · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 415
Format: Print book

For readers of Unbroken and The Boys in the Boat comes the inspirational, untold story of impoverished children who transformed themselves into world-class swimmers.In 1937, a schoolteacher on the island of Maui challenged a group of poverty-stricken sugar plantation kids to swim upstream...
 
 
Return of the King: LeBron James, the Cleveland Cavaliers, and the Greatest Comeback in NBA History

BRIAN WINDHORST · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Now a New York Times bestseller! The inside story of LeBron James's return and ultimate triumph in Cleveland. What really happened when LeBron James stunned the NBA by leaving a potential dynasty in Miami to come home to play with the Cleveland Cavaliers? How did the Cavs use secret meetings...
 
 
Cleveland Area Golf

Kenneth L Hopkins · Arcadia
Pages: 127
Format: Book

Whether you are a casual golfer or one dedicated to the game, you will enjoy reading about the history of golf in Cleveland and Northeast Ohio. The area has some of the finest golf courses in the world and can boast of a rich championship heritage. The first golf was played here in the early...
 
 
No Barriers: A Blind Man's Journey to Kayak the Grand Canyon

Erik Weihenmayer · St Martin'S Press
Pages: 480
Format: Print book

No Barriers is about my journey since coming down from Mt. Everest in 2001, and the path to where I am today. It is the story of my own life, the personal and professional struggles in the pursuit of growth, learning, and family, as well as a dream to kayak one of the world's great...
 
 
Coaching Youth Basketball-5th Edition

American Sport Education Program · Human Kinetics; 5 edition
Pages: 264
Format: Paperback

Coaching Youth Basketball, Fifth Edition, will help you run organized practices as you develop your players' fundamental skills. Written by the American Sport Education Program (ASEP) , in conjunction with expert coach Don Showalter of USA Basketball, this book covers all aspects of player...
 
 
Glory Days in Tribe Town: The Cleveland Indians and Jacobs Field 1994-1997

Tom Hamilton · Gray & Company, Publishers
Format: Print book

Relive the most thrilling seasons of Cleveland Indians baseball in recent memory! Remember the excitement of those first years at Jacobs Field? When it seemed the Indians could find a way to win almost any game? When screaming fans rocked the jam-packed stands every night? When a brash...
 
 
Basketball Essentials

Ryan Goodson · Human Kinetics
Pages: 248
Format: Paperback

LeBron James, Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, and all of the best basketball players in the world began their careers in the same way: by focusing on the fundamentals. With Basketball Essentials there has never been a better way to learn to play! In Basketball Essentials, you learn by doing....
 
 
Secret Marvels of the World: 360 extraordinary places you never knew existed and where to find them

Lonely Planet. · Lonely Planet
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Featuring communist bunkers, burning gas craters and at least one sponge-rock fluorescent grotto built by Polish monks, this book reveals weird and wonderful sights the crowds don't reach. We've all heard of India's Taj Mahal, but what about Karna Mata Temple? It's a building teeming...
 
 
Back from the Dead

Bill Walton · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

This inspiring memoir from sports and cultural icon Bill Walton recounts his devastating injuries and amazing recoveries, set in the context of his UCLA triumphs under John Wooden, his storied NBA career, and his affinity for music and the Grateful Dead.In February 2008, Bill Walton suffered...