Back National Book Award for Young People's Literature

Simple News Pro
  National Book Award for Young People's Literature  
1 - 1919 The Year That Changed America

Martin W. Sandler · Bloomsbury Children's Books

Acclaimed author Sandler examines the pinnacle events of 1919 and their relevance to significant issues in American life today.

1919 was a world-shaking year. America was recovering from World War I and black soldiers returned to racism so violent that that summer would become...

Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo · HarperTeen

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful...

Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Far from the Tree

Robin Benway · HarperTeen

National Book Award Winner and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of NBC's "This Is Us," Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms - how to find it, how to keep...

Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - March: Book Three

Nate Powell · Top Shelf Productions

2016 National Book Award Winner for Young People's Literature2017 Printz Award Winner2017 Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner2017 Sibert Medal Winner2017 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction Winner2017 Walter Award Winner
"One of the Best Books of 2016" - Publishers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Challenger Deep

Neal Shusterman · HarperTeen

National Book Award and Golden Kite Award Winner

A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman.

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest...

Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Brown Girl Dreaming

Jacqueline Woodson · Nancy Paulsen Books

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

A New York Times Bestseller and National Book Award Winner

Jacqueline Woodson, the acclaimed author of
Another Brooklyn, tells the moving story of her childhood...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - The Thing About Luck

Cynthia Kadohata · Atheneum Books for Young Readers

The winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, from Newbery Medalist Cynthia Kadohata. There is bad luck, good luck, and making your own luck - which is exactly what Summer must do to save her family.Summer knows that kouun means "good luck" in Japanese,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Goblin Secrets

William Alexander · Margaret K. McElderry Books

In the National Book Award-winning Goblin Secrets, a boy joins a theatrical troupe of goblins to find his missing brother.

In the town of Zombay, there is a witch named Graba who has clockwork chicken legs and moves her house around - much like the fairy tale figure of Baba...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - Inside Out and Back Again

Thanhha Lai · Harper

Inside Out and Back Again is a New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama, this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse...

Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - Mockingbird (Mok'ing-bûrd)

Kathryn Erskine · Philomel Books

In Caitlin's world, everything is black or white. Things are good or bad. Anything in between is confusing. That's the stuff Caitlin's older brother, Devon, has always explained. But now Devon's dead and Dad is no help at all. Caitlin wants to get over it, but as an eleven-year-old girl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice

Phillip M Hoose · Melanie Kroupa Books/Farrar Straus Giroux

"When it comes to justice, there is no easy way to get it. You can't sugarcoat it. You have to take a stand and say, 'This is not right.'" - Claudette Colvin On March 2, 1955, an impassioned teenager, fed up with the daily injustices of Jim Crow segregation, refused...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - What I Saw And How I Lied

Judy Blundell · Scholastic Press

This National Book Award winner set during the aftermath of WWII is now available in paperback!When Evie's father returned home from World War II, the family fell back into its normal life pretty quickly. But Joe Spooner brought more back with him than just good war stories. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

Sherman Alexie · Little

Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Vol. 1: The Pox Party

M.T. Anderson · Candlewick; First Edition edition

A gothic tale becomes all too shockingly real in this mesmerizing magnum opus by the acclaimed author of FEED.It sounds like a fairy tale. He is a boy dressed in silks and white wigs and given the finest of classical educations. Raised by a group of rational philosophers known only by numbers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Jeanne Birdsall · Knopf

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

This summer the Penderwick sisters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Godless (National Book Award for Young People's Literature (Awards))

Pete Hautman · Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers

"I refuse to speak further of the Ten-legged One...but the more I think about it, the more I like it. Why mess around with Catholicism when you can have your own customized religion? All you need is a disciple or two...and a god." Fed up with his parents' boring old religion,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Canning Season

Polly Horvath · Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Love under trying circumstances One night out of the blue, Ratchet Clarks ill-natured mother tells her that Ratchet will be leaving their Pensacola apartment momentarily to take the train up north. There she will spend the summer with her aged relatives Penpen and Tilly, inseparable twins...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The House of the Scorpion

Nancy Farmer

In a future where humans despise clones, Matt enjoys special status as the young clone of El Patrón, the 142-year-old leader of a corrupt drug empire nestled between Mexico and the United States--Résumé de l'éditeur.
Read More check catalog