Back LA Times Paperback Nonfiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times Paperback Nonfiction  
1 - Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly

Anthony Bourdain · Thorndike Press
Format: Large Print]

Most diners believe that their sublime sliver of seared foie gras, topped with an ethereal buckwheat blini and a drizzle of piquant huckleberry sauce, was created by a culinary artist of the highest order, a sensitive, highly refined executive chef. The truth is more brutal. More likely,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI

David Grann · Random House Large Print
Pages: 492
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - You are a badass

Jen Sincero · Tantor Audio
Format: Audiobook

In this witty, refreshingly blunt guide, bestselling author Jen Sincero helps listeners to embrace their inner badass and achieve success in all areas of life.
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Don Miguel Ruiz · Hay House Inc
Pages: 151
Format: Paperback

Don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, the Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love....
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 264
Format: Print Length

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "A riveting book." - The Wall Street Journal"Essential reading." - David Brooks, New York TimesFrom a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Yuval Noah Harari · Harpercollins
Pages: 443
Format: Book

New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution - a #1 international bestseller - that explores the ways in which biology and history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness

Sy Montgomery · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD New York Times Bestseller "Sy Montgomery's The Soul of an Octopus does for the creature what Helen Macdonald's H Is for Hawk did for raptors." (New Statesman, UK) Starred BOOKLIST and Library Journal Editors' Spring Pick One of the Best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Things That Matter: Three Decades of Passions, Pastimes and Politics

Charles Krauthammer · Crown Forum
Pages: 387
Format: Hardcover

From America's preeminent columnist, named by the Financial Times the most influential commentator in the nation, the long-awaited collection of Charles Krauthammer's essential, timeless writings. A brilliant stylist known for an uncompromising honesty that challenges conventional wisdom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - 111 Places in Los Angeles That You Must Not Miss

Laurel Moglen · Emons
Pages: 5
Format: Print book

. Go beyond the glitz and glamour of Hollywood to discover the quirky culture of The City of Angels . Part of the international 111 Places/111 Shops series with over 150 titles and 1 million copies in print worldwide "In Los Angeles, everyone is a star. " - Denzel Washington Adventures...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts

Gary D Chapman · Northfield
Pages: 202
Format: Paperback

Marriage should be based on love, right? But does it seem as though you and your spouse are speaking two different languages? New York Times bestselling author Dr. Gary Chapman guides couples in identifying, understanding, and speaking their spouse's primary love language - quality time,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The Lost City of the Monkey God : a true story

Douglas J Preston · Hachette Audio
Format: Audiobook

#1 New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston takes listeners on an adventure deep into the Honduran jungle in this riveting, danger-filled true story about the discovery of an ancient lost civilization.
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Slouching towards Bethlehem

Joan Didion; Diane Keaton · Brilliance Audio
Format: Audiobook

A collection of essays that paints a picture of America, and particularly California, in the sixties.
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel Brown · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

TIMOTHY SNYDER · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 126
Format: Paperback

#1 New York Times BestsellerThe Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century. We are no wiser than the Europeans who saw democracy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - How to Fight

THICH NHAT HANH · Parallax Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Learn how to relax the bonds of anger, attachment, and delusion through mindfulness and kindness toward ourselves and others.The Mindfulness Essentials series introduces beginners and reminds seasoned practitioners of the essentials of mindfulness practice. This time Nhat Hanh brings his signature...
Read More check catalog