Back LA Times Paperback Nonfiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times Paperback Nonfiction  
1 - You are a badass

Jen Sincero · Tantor Audio
Format: Audiobook

In this witty, refreshingly blunt guide, bestselling author Jen Sincero helps listeners to embrace their inner badass and achieve success in all areas of life.
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NAMED BY THE TIMES AS ONE OF "6 BOOKS TO HELP UNDERSTAND TRUMP'S WIN" AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR-MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD "You will not read a more important book about America this year." - The Economist "A riveting book."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Killers of the Flower Moon: The Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI

David Grann · Random House Large Print
Pages: 492
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Don Miguel Ruiz · Amber-Allen Publishing
Format: Print book

Rooted in traditional Toltec wisdom beliefs, four agreements in life are essential steps on the path to personal freedom. As beliefs are transformed through maintaining these agreements, shamanic teacher and healer don Miguel Ruiz asserts lives will "become filled with grace, peace,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Why Buddhism is True: The Science and Philosophy of Meditation and Enlightenment

Robert Wright · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 321
Format: eBook

From one of America's greatest minds, a journey through psychology, philosophy, and lots of meditation to show how Buddhism holds the key to moral clarity and enduring happiness.Robert Wright famously explained in The Moral Animal how evolution shaped the human brain. The mind is designed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

TIMOTHY SNYDER · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 126
Format: Paperback

#1 New York Times BestsellerThe Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century. We are no wiser than the Europeans who saw democracy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Lab Girl

Hope Jahren · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

A New York Times 2016 Notable BookNational Best SellerNamed one of TIME magazine's "100 Most Influential People"An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016A Washington Post Best Memoir of 2016A TIME and Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016 So Far An illuminating debut memoir of a woman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Coach Wooden and Me: Our 50-Year Friendship On and Off the Court

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar explores his 50-year friendship with Coach John Wooden, one of the most enduring and meaningful relationships in sports history.
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind

Yuval Noah Harari · Harpercollins
Pages: 443
Format: Book

New York Times BestsellerA Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity's creation and evolution - a #1 international bestseller - that explores the ways in which biology and history...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - The Lost City of the Monkey God : a true story

Douglas J Preston · Hachette Audio
Format: Audiobook

#1 New York Times bestselling author Douglas Preston takes listeners on an adventure deep into the Honduran jungle in this riveting, danger-filled true story about the discovery of an ancient lost civilization.
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Churchill and Orwell: The Fight for Freedom

Thomas E Ricks · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Thomas E. Ricks, a dual biography of Winston Churchill and George Orwell, whose farsighted vision and inspired action preserved democracy from the threats of authoritarianism, from the left and right alikeBoth George Orwell and Winston Churchill...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts

Gary D Chapman · Northfield
Pages: 202
Format: Paperback

Marriage should be based on love, right? But does it seem as though you and your spouse are speaking two different languages? New York Times bestselling author Dr. Gary Chapman guides couples in identifying, understanding, and speaking their spouse's primary love language - quality time,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel Brown · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Pages: 404
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times-bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany, the inspiration for the PBS documentary The Boys of '36, broadcast to coincide with the 2016 Summer Olympics and the 80th anniversary of the boys' gold medal race.For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - A Brief History of Time: From the Big Bang to Black Holes

Stephen Hawking · Bantam
Format: Print book

Stephen Hawking has earned a reputation as the most brilliant theoretical physicist since Einstein. In this landmark volume, Professor Hawking shares his blazing intellect with nonscientists everywhere, guiding us expertly to confront the supreme questions of the nature of time and the universe....
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - How to Fight

THICH NHAT HANH · Parallax Press
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

Learn how to relax the bonds of anger, attachment, and delusion through mindfulness and kindness toward ourselves and others.The Mindfulness Essentials series introduces beginners and reminds seasoned practitioners of the essentials of mindfulness practice. This time Nhat Hanh brings his signature...
Read More check catalog