Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - She Would Be King: A Novel

WAYTU MOORE · Graywolf Press
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

A novel of exhilarating range, magical realism, and history -- a dazzling retelling of Liberia's formationWayétu Moore's powerful debut novel, She Would Be King, reimagines the dramatic story of Liberia's early years through three unforgettable characters who share an uncommon bond....
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Whiskey When We're Dry

John Larison · Viking
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From a blazing new voice in fiction, a gritty and lyrical American epic about a young woman who disguises herself as a boy and heads westIn the spring of 1885, seventeen-year-old Jessilyn Harney finds herself orphaned and alone on her family's homestead. Desperate to fend off starvation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Vox

Christina Dalcher · Berkley
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

One of Entertainment Weekly's and SheReads' books to read after The Handmaid's TaleOne of Good Morning America's "Best Books to Bring to the Beach This Summer"Set in an America where half the population has been silenced, VOX is the harrowing, unforgettable story of what one woman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Winter Soldier

Daniel Mason · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

By the international bestselling author of The Piano Tuner, a sweeping and unforgettable love story of a young doctor and nurse at a remote field hospital in the First World War.Vienna, 1914. Lucius is a twenty-two-year-old medical student when World War I explodes across Europe. Enraptured...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Lake Success: A Novel

Gary Shteyngart · Random House
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

When his dream of the perfect marriage, the perfect son, and the perfect life implodes, a Wall Street millionaire takes a cross-country bus trip in search of his college sweetheart and ideals of youth in the long-awaited novel, his first in seven years, from the acclaimed, bestselling author...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Ohio

Stephen Markley · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

The debut of a major talent; a lyrical and emotional novel set in an archetypal small town in northeastern Ohio - a region ravaged by the Great Recession, an opioid crisis, and the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan - depicting one feverish, fateful summer night in 2013 when four former classmates...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - French Exit: A Novel

Patrick deWitt · Ecco
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From bestselling author Patrick deWitt, a brilliant and darkly comic novel about a wealthy widow and her adult son who flee New York for Paris in the wake of scandal and financial disintegration.Frances Price - tart widow, possessive mother, and Upper East Side force of nature - is in dire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Severance: A Novel

Ling Ma · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Maybe it's the end of the world, but not for Candace Chen, a millennial, first-generation American and office drone meandering her way into adulthood in Ling Ma's offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire, Severance.Candace Chen, a millennial drone self-sequestered in a Manhattan office...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Silence of the Girls: A Novel

PAT BARKER · Doubleday
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the Booker Prize-winning author of the Regeneration trilogy comes a monumental new masterpiece, set in the midst of literature's most famous war. Pat Barker turns her attention to the timeless legend of The Iliad, as experienced by the captured women living in the Greek camp in the final...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - One Person, No Vote: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy

CAROL ANDERSON · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of White Rage, the startling--and timely--history of voter suppression in America, with a foreword by Senator Dick Durbin.In her New York Times bestseller White Rage, Carol Anderson laid bare an insidious history of policies that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The Good Neighbor: The Life and Work of Fred Rogers

MAXWELL KING · Abrams Press
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Fred Rogers (1928-2003) was an enormously influential figure in the history of television and in the lives of tens of millions of children. As the creator and star of Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, he was a champion of compassion, equality, and kindness. Rogers was fiercely devoted to children...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - In Pieces

Sally Field · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

In this intimate, haunting literary memoir, an American icon tells her story for the first time, and in her own gorgeous words--about a challenging and lonely childhood, the craft that helped her find her voice, and a powerful emotional legacy that shaped her journey as a daughter and a mother....
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Diary of a Bookseller

SHAUN BYTHELL · Melville House
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Hilarious, wry, and charming tales of bookselling in remotest Scotland "Among the most irascible and amusing bookseller memoirs I've read." --Dwight Garner, New York TimesThe funny and fascinating memoir of Bythell's experiences at the helm of The Bookshop, Scotland's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Lands of Lost Borders: A Journey on the Silk Road

KATE HARRIS · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Lands of Lost Borders carried me up into a state of openness and excitement I haven't felt for years. It's a modern classic." - Pico IyerA brilliant, fierce writer makes her debut with this enthralling travelogue and memoir of her journey by bicycle along the Silk Road - an illuminating...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - A Key to Treehouse Living

Elliot Reed · Tin House Books
Pages: 170
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Mark Haddon, Tony Earley, and Jonathan Safran Foer, an epic tale of boyhood from an unforgettable new voice. "Disorienting, weirdly wise, indescribably transparent, impossibly recognizable. Fun, too." -- Joy WilliamsA Key to Treehouse Living is the adventure of William...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit

Amy Stewart · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Trailblazing Constance's hard-won job as deputy sheriff is on the line in Miss Kopp Just Won't Quit, the fourth installment of Amy Stewart's Kopp Sisters series.After a year on the job, New Jersey's first female deputy sheriff has collared criminals, demanded justice for wronged women,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Tattooist of Auschwitz: A Novel

Heather Morris · Harper Paperbacks
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The Dinner List: A Novel

Rebecca Serle · Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"I have five words for Rebecca Serle's The Dinner List: wistful, delicious, romantic, magical, love." -- Gabrielle Zevin, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and Young Jane Young"We've been waiting for an hour." That's what Audrey says....
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Leave No Trace: A Novel

MINDY MEJIA · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the "compelling" (Star Tribune, Minneapolis) and critically acclaimed Everything You Want Me to Be, a riveting and suspenseful thriller about the mysterious disappearance of a boy and his stunning return ten years later.There is a place in Minnesota with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Tragedy Plus Time: A Tragi-comic Memoir

Adam Cayton-Holland · Touchstone
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius and Truth & Beauty - from one of Variety's "10 Comics to Watch," a poignant tragicomic memoir about the author's beautiful, funny, and heartbreaking relationship with his younger sister and the depression that took...
Read More check catalog