Back LA Times Hardcover Fiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times Hardcover Fiction  
1 - On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

Ocean Vuong

Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Such a Fun Age

Kiley Reid · G.P. Putnam's Sons

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

Alix...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens · Penguin Audio

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Dutch House: A Novel

Ann Patchett · Harper

Ann Patchett, the New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth and State of Wonder, returns with her most powerful novel to date: a richly moving story that explores the indelible bond between two siblings, the house of their childhood, and a past that will not let them go.

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - The Topeka School: A Novel

Ben Lerner · Farrar, Straus and Giroux

From the award-winning author of 10:04 and Leaving the Atocha Station, a tender and expansive family drama set in the American Midwest at the turn of the century: a tale of adolescence, transgression, and the conditions that have given rise to the trolls and tyrants of the New RightAdam...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse

Charlie Mackesy · HarperOne

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER

USA TODAY BESTSELLER


From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life's universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.

"What do you want...

Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Trust Exercise

Susan Choi


Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Dear Edward: A Novel

Ann Napolitano · The Dial Press

A twelve-year-old boy struggles with the worst kind of fame - as the sole survivor of a notorious plane crash - in a heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for readers of Small Great Things, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Immortalists.

What does it mean not just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - Normal People

Sally Rooney (author) · Faber & Faber

Review: It is time to take a sharp inhale, people. Sally Rooney has produced a second novel, Normal People. It is superb . . . a tremendous read, full of insight and sweetness. (Anne Enright Guardian) ; Magnificent . . . Rooney is the best young novelist - indeed one of the best novelists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - Exhalation

Ted Chiang


Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Creatures: A Novel

Crissy Van Meter · Algonquin Books

"Wiry, rhythmic, and wrenchingly beautiful, Creatures plumbs the sea-struck heart of a family fractured by longing and grief." - Leni Zumas, bestselling author of Red Clocks On the eve of Evangeline's wedding, a dead whale is trapped in the harbor of Winter Island, the groom...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Grand Union: Stories

Zadie Smith · Penguin Press

Longlisted for the Carnegie Medal!

A dazzling collection of short fiction

Zadie Smith has established herself as one of the most iconic, critically respected, and popular writers of her generation. In her first short story collection, she combines her power of observation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - Dumpty: The Age of Trump in Verse

John Lithgow · Chronicle Prism

Award-winning actor and bestselling author John Lithgow wields a whip-smart, satirical pen in this poetic diatribe chronicling the last few abysmal years in politics. With lacerating wit, he takes readers verse by verse through the history of Donald Trump's presidency, lampooning the likes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Fleabag: The Scriptures

Phoebe Waller-Bridge · Ballantine Books

Go deeper into the groundbreaking, Emmy-nominated series with this must-have collection of the complete scripts, plus original commentary from award-winning creator and star Phoebe Waller-Bridge

"Her coat falls open. She only has her bra on underneath. She pulls out the little...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West

David Mccoullough · Simon & Schuster

Pulitzer Prize-winning historian David McCullough rediscovers an important and dramatic chapter in the American story-the settling of the Northwest Territory by dauntless pioneers who overcame incredible hardships to build a community based on ideals that would come to define our country....

Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Dog Man: Fetch-22: From the Creator of Captain Underpants

Dav Pilkey · Graphix

Petey the Cat is out of jail, and he has a brand-new lease on life. While Petey's reevaluated what matters most, Li'l Petey is struggling to find the good in the world. Can Petey and Dog Man stop fighting like cats and dogs long enough to put their paws together and work as a team? They...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Truth Will Set You Free, But First It Will Piss You Off!: Thoughts on Life, Love, and Rebellion

Gloria Steinem · Random House

A beautifully illustrated collection of Gloria Steinem's most inspirational and outrageous quotes, with an introduction and essays by the feminist activist herself

For decades - and especially now, in these times of crisis - people around the world have found guidance, humor, and unity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - Educated: A Memoir

Tara Westover · Random House

An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University

"Tara's story will find a place alongside modern classic memoirs like Wild and The Glass Castle. It's that special."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - The Night Fire

Michael Connelly · Little, Brown and Company

Harry Bosch and LAPD Detective Renée Ballard come together again on the murder case that obsessed Bosch's mentor, the man who trained him---new from #1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly

Back when Harry Bosch was just a rookie homicide detective, he had an inspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Little Weirds

Jenny Slate · Little, Brown and Company

Step into Jenny Slate's wild, unfiltered imagination in this "magical" (Mindy Kaling) , "delicious" (Amy Sedaris) , and "poignant" (John Mulaney) collection about love, heartbreak, and being alive -- "this book is something new and wonderful"...
Read More check catalog