Back Boston Globe - Horn Book Awards

Simple News Pro
  Boston Globe - Horn Book Awards  
1 - The Patchwork Bike

Maxine Beneba Clarke · Candlewick

It has a bent bucket seat, bashed tin-can handlebars, and wood-cut wheels - and riding the patchwork bike that you and your crazy brothers made is the best fun in the whole village.

When you live in a village at the edge of the no-go desert, you need to make your own fun. That's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - The Season of Styx Malone

Kekla Magoon · Wendy Lamb Books

This lively and diverse middle-grade story from the award-winning author of How It Went Down has the warmth of a modern-day The Watsons go to Birmingham--1963.

Caleb Franklin and his big brother Bobby Gene have the whole summer for adventures in the woods behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - This Promise of Change: One Girl's Story in the Fight for School Equality

Jo Ann Allen Boyce · Bloomsbury Children's Books

Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - They Say Blue

Jillian Tamaki · Abrams Books for Young Readers

In captivating paintings full of movement and transformation, Tamaki follows a young girl through a year or a day as she examines the colors in the world around her. Egg yolks are sunny orange as expected, yet water cupped in her hands isn't blue like they say. But maybe a blue whale is blue....
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo · HarperTeen

A National Book Award Longlist title!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful...

Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Photographic: The Life of Graciela Iturbide

Isabel Quintero · Getty Publications

Graciela Iturbide was born in Mexico City in 1942, the oldest of 13 children. When tragedy struck Iturbide as a young mother, she turned to photography for solace and understanding. From then on Iturbide embarked on a photographic journey that has taken her throughout her native Mexico,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers

Deborah Heiligman · Henry Holt and Co.

Printz Honor Book * YALSA Nonfiction Award Winner * Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winner * SCBWI Golden Kite Winner * Cybils Senior High Nonfiction Award Winner

From the author of National Book Award finalist Charles and Emma comes an incredible story of brotherly love.

The...

Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan

Ashley Bryan · Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Newbery Honor Book
Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book
Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

Using original slave auction and plantation estate documents, Ashley Bryan offers a moving and powerful picture book that contrasts the monetary value of a slave with the priceless...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Hate U Give

Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War

Steve Sheinkin · Roaring Brook Press

This captivating nonfiction investigation of the Pentagon Papers has captured widespread critical acclaim, including features in The Washington Post and on NPR, selection as a 2015 National Book Award finalist, and selection as winner of the 2016 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction...

Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The Lie Tree

Frances Hardinge · Amulet Books

Read this thought-provoking, critically acclaimed novel (6 starred reviews ) from Frances Hardinge, winner of the Costa Book of the Year, Costa Children's Book Award, and Horn Book-Boston Globe Award. Faith Sunderly leads a double life. To most people, she is reliable, dull, trustworthy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Jazz Day: The Making of a Famous Photograph

Roxane Orgill · Candlewick

What happens when you invite as many jazz musicians as you can to pose for a photo in 1950s Harlem? Playful verse and glorious artwork capture an iconic moment for American jazz.

When Esquire magazine planned an issue to salute the American jazz scene in 1958, graphic designer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Farmer and the Clown

Marla Frazee

Whimsical and touching images tell the story of an unexpected friendship and the revelations it inspires in this moving, wordless picture book from two-time Caldecott Honor medalist Marla Frazee.

A baby clown is separated from his family when he accidentally bounces off the
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Cartwheeling in Thunderstorms

Katherine Rundell · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Even a life on the untamed plains of Africa can’t prepare Wilhelmina for the wilds of an English boarding school in this lovely and lyrical novel from the author of Rooftoppers, which Booklist called “a glorious adventure.”Wilhelmina Silver’s world is golden. Living...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Family Romanov: Murder, Rebellion, and the Fall of Imperial Russia

Candace Fleming · Schwartz & Wade

"[A] superb history.... In these thrilling, highly readable pages, we meet Rasputin, the shaggy, lecherous mystic...; we visit the gilded ballrooms of the doomed aristocracy; and we pause in the sickroom of little Alexei, the hemophiliac heir who, with his parents and four sisters,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

Peter Brown · Little

Are you bored with being so proper? Do you want to have more fun? Mr. Tiger knows exactly how you feel. So he decides to go wild. But does he go too far? From Caldecott Honor artist Peter Brown comes a story that shows there's a time and place for everything... even going wild.
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - Grasshopper Jungle

Andrew Smith · Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated

A 2015 Michael L. Printz Honor Book
Winner of the 2014 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award for Fiction

"Grasshopper Jungle is a rollicking tale that is simultaneously creepy and hilarious. It's propulsive plot would be delightful enough on its own, but Smith's ability to blend...

Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights

Steve Sheinkin · Roaring Brook Press

An astonishing civil rights story from Newbery Honor winner and National Book Award finalist Steve Sheinkin.
On July 17, 1944, a massive explosion rocked the segregated Navy base at Port Chicago, California, killing more than 300 sailors who were at the docks, critically injuring...

Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Building Our House

Jonathan Bean · Farrar Straus Giroux

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice
Winner of the 2013 Boston Globe Horn Book Award for Best Picture Book
A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2013
A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013

In this unique construction book...

Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell · St. Martin's Griffin

#1 New York Times Best Seller!

"Eleanor & Park reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book."-John Green, The New York Times Book Review

Bono met his wife...

Read More check catalog
 
 
21 - Electric Ben: The Amazing Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin

Robert Byrd · Dial Books; First Edition edition

Electric Ben is now a 2013 Boston Globe-Horn Book Nonfiction Book Award Winner, a Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Book, a Horn Fanfare Book, and a  Robert F. Sibert Honor book!“a true standout…bright, witty, informative and cleverly organized as the man himself.”...
Read More check catalog
 
 
22 - Chuck Close: Face Book

Chuck Close · Abrams Books for Young Readers

This fascinating, interactive autobiography presents Chuck Close's story, his art, and a discussion of the many processes he uses in the studio. The question-and-answer format is based on real kids' inquiries about Close's life and work, and his answers to them. Close, who is wheelchair-bound...
Read More check catalog
 
 
23 - No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller

Vaunda Micheaux Nelson · Carolrhoda Lab TM

A documentary novel of the life and work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem bookseller'You can't walk straight on a crooked line. You do you'll break your leg. How can you walk straight in a crooked system?'Lewis Michaux was born to do things his own way. When a white banker told...
Read More check catalog
 
 
24 - Extra Yarn

Mac Barnett · Balzer + Bray; First Edition edition

Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller, is the story of how a young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community.With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range...
Read More check catalog