Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - In the Dream House: A Memoir

Carmen Maria Machado · Graywolf Press

A revolutionary memoir about domestic abuse by the award-winning author of Her Body and Other Parties

In the Dream House is Carmen Maria Machado's engrossing and wildly innovative account of a relationship gone bad, and a bold dissection of the mechanisms...

Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - The Starless Sea: A Novel

Erin Morgenstern · Doubleday

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world--a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a graduate student in Vermont when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Nothing to See Here

Kevin Wilson · Ecco

Kevin Wilson's best book yet - a moving and uproarious novel about a woman who finds meaning in her life when she begins caring for two children with remarkable and disturbing abilities

Lillian and Madison were unlikely roommates and yet inseparable friends at their elite...

Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - On Swift Horses: A Novel

Shannon Pufahl · Riverhead Books

A lonely newlywed and her wayward brother-in-law follow divergent and dangerous paths through the postwar American West.

Muriel is newly married and restless, transplanted from her rural Kansas hometown to life in a dusty bungalow in San Diego. The air is rich with the tang of salt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - The Revisioners: A Novel

Margaret Wilkerson Sexton · Counterpoint

Following her National Book Award-nominated debut novel, A Kind of Freedom, Margaret Wilkerson Sexton returns with this equally elegant and historically inspired story of survivors and healers, of black women and their black sons, set in the American South

In 1925, Josephine...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - The Bromance Book Club

Lyssa Kay Adams · Berkley

The first rule of book club:
You don't talk about book club.

Nashville Legends second baseman Gavin Scott's marriage is in major league trouble. He's recently discovered a humiliating secret: his wife Thea has always faked the Big O. When he loses his cool at the revelation, it's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Little Weirds

Jenny Slate · Little, Brown and Company

"Magical" -- Mindy Kaling"Delicious" -- Amy Sedaris"Funny and poignant and beautiful" -- John Mulaney"It made me remember I was alive" -- George SaundersHello! I looked into my brain and found a book. Here it is. Inside you will find:The smell of honeysuckleHeartbreakA...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Get a Life, Chloe Brown: A Novel

Talia Hibbert · Avon

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance's brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who's tired of being "boring" and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things - perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine...

Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Family Upstairs: A Novel

Lisa Jewell · Atria Books

From the New York Times bestselling author and master of "bone-chilling suspense" (People) comes another page-turning look inside one family's past as buried secrets threaten to come to light.

Gifted musician Clemency Thompson is playing for tourists...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - Ordinary Girls

Jaquira Diaz · Algonquin Books

"There is more life packed on each page of Ordinary Girls than some lives hold in a lifetime." - Julia Alvarez

Ordinary Girls is a fierce, beautiful, and unflinching memoir from a wildly talented debut author. While growing up in housing projects in Puerto...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Twice in a Blue Moon

Christina Lauren · Gallery Books

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the "delectable, moving" (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it ... Sam Brandis was Tate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Running with Sherman: The Donkey with the Heart of a Hero

Christopher McDougall · Knopf

A heartwarming story about training a rescue donkey to run one of the most challenging races in America.

When Chris McDougall agreed to take in a donkey from an animal hoarder, he thought it would be no harder than the rest of the adjustments he and his family had made after moving...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Crying Book

Heather Christle · Catapult

"This is a wonderful and profound look at the act of crying -- something human and yet hidden, common and yet mysterious. I found myself reading with a thirst for the tears Heather Christle collects here -- instances within literature, film, history, and the author's own life all add up to a greater...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me

Adrienne Brodeur · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

A daughter's tale of living in the thrall of her magnetic, complicated mother, and the chilling consequences of her complicity.

On a hot August night on Cape Cod when Adrienne was fourteen, her mother, Malabar, woke her at midnight with five simple words that would set the course...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA

Amaryllis Fox · Knopf

Amaryllis Fox's riveting memoir tells the story of her ten years in the most elite clandestine ops unit of the CIA, hunting the world's most dangerous terrorists in sixteen countries while marrying and giving birth to a daughterAmaryllis Fox was in her last year as an undergraduate...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Eat Joy: Stories & Comfort Food from 31 Celebrated Writers

Natalie Eve Garrett · Black Balloon Publishing

"Food binds this book together, and each beautifully told story circles life's truths in ways that are surprising, often revelatory, and always moving. It's impossible not to love Eat Joy, and equally impossible not to want to bake and eat these dishes while reading. It's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Great Pretender: The Undercover Mission That Changed Our Understanding of Madness

Susannah Cahalan · Grand Central Publishing

For centuries, doctors have struggled to define mental illness--how do you diagnose it, how do you treat it, how do you even know what it is? In search of an answer, in the 1970s a Stanford psychologist named David Rosenhan and seven other people--sane, normal, well-adjusted members of society--went...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - All This Could Be Yours

Jami Attenberg · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

From New York Times best-selling author Jami Attenberg comes a sharp, funny, and emotionally powerful novel about a family reuniting at the deathbed of its patriarch. In reckoning with his secret past, can they rebuild and begin anew?

"If I know why he is the way he is then...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - The Deep

Rivers Solomon · Gallery / Saga Press

The water-breathing descendants of African slave women tossed overboard have built their own underwater society - and must reclaim the memories of their past to shape their future in this brilliantly imaginative novella inspired by the Hugo Award nominated song "The Deep" from...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - The Accomplice

Joseph Kanon · Atria Books

From "master of the genre" (The Washington Post) Joseph Kanon, a heart-pounding and intelligent espionage novel about a Nazi war criminal who was supposed to be dead, the rogue CIA agent on his trail, and the beautiful woman connected to them both.

Seventeen...
Read More check catalog