Back LA Times Hardcover Fiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times Hardcover Fiction  
1 - The Mirror & the Light

Hilary Mantel · Henry Holt and Co.

"If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?"

England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors....

Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Weather in Spring

Jenny Fretland VanVoorst · Bullfrog Books

In Weather in Spring, beginning readers explore spring's changing weather and how it affects people and other living things. Vibrant, full-color photos and carefully leveled text will engage early readers as they explore how spring's rain and wind gives them new ways to enjoy being...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens · Penguin Audio

#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous

Ocean Vuong

Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - My Dark Vanessa: A Novel

Kate Elizabeth Russell · William Morrow

"A hard story to read and a harder one to put down . . . a well-constructed package of dynamite." - Stephen KingExploring the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teenage girl and her magnetic and manipulative teacher, a brilliant, all-consuming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins · Flatiron Books

OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB PICK

"Extraordinary."
-- Stephen King

"This book is not simply the great American novel; it's the great novel of las Americas. It's the great world novel! This is the international story of our times. Masterful."
-- Sandra...

Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - A Long Petal of the Sea: A Novel

Isabel Allende · Ballantine Books

From the New York Times bestselling author of The House of the Spirits, this epic novel spanning decades and crossing continents follows two young people as they flee the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War in search of a place to call home.

In the late 1930s, civil...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Such a Fun Age

Kiley Reid · G.P. Putnam's Sons

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.Alix Chamberlain...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Night Watchman

Louise Erdrich · Harper

Based on the extraordinary life of National Book Award-winning author Louise Erdrich's grandfather who worked as a night watchman and carried the fight against Native dispossession from rural North Dakota all the way to Washington, D.C., this powerful novel explores themes of love and death...

Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Writers & Lovers

Lily King · Grove Press

Following the breakout success of her critically acclaimed and award-winning novel Euphoria, Lily King returns with an unforgettable portrait of an artist as a young woman.


Blindsided by her mother's sudden death, and wrecked by a recent love affair, Casey Peabody has arrived...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Long Range

C.J. Box · Recorded Books, Inc.

The wife of a prominent local judge is shot and killed on Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett's turf. But as Joe investigates, all signs point to the shot having been taken from an impossibly long distance. Joe has seen a lot in his time as warden, but he's never seen a killing like this....

Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - Deacon King Kong: A Novel

James McBride · Riverhead Books

From James McBride, author of the National Book Award-winning The Good Lord Bird, comes a wise and witty novel about what happens to the witnesses of a shooting.

In September 1969, a fumbling, cranky old church deacon known as Sportcoat shuffles into the courtyard of the Cause...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Long Bright River: A Novel

· Penguin Publishing Group

Two sisters travel the same streets,though their lives couldn't be more different.
Then one of them goes missing.

In a Philadelphia neighborhood rocked by the opioid crisis, two once-inseparable sisters find themselves at odds. One, Kacey, lives on the streets in the vise of addiction....
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Secrets We Kept: A novel

Lara Prescott · Knopf

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A HELLO SUNSHINE x REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK

A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice--inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet Russia, not with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Dear Edward: A Novel

Ann Napolitano · The Dial Press

A twelve-year-old boy struggles with the worst kind of fame - as the sole survivor of a notorious plane crash - in a heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for readers of Small Great Things, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Immortalists.

What does it mean not just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - Blindsided: The True Story of One Man's Crusade Against Chemical Giant DuPont for a Boy with No Eyes

James L. Ferraro · Gildan Press

In 1996, an unprecedented decade-long courtroom battle was waged in Florida to help bring justice and hope to the family of a young boy born with no eyes after his mother was doused outside of a local u-pick farm by a chemical fungicide believed to have caused his birth defect and the birth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - Apeirogon: A Novel

Colum McCann · Random House

From the National Book Award-winning and bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin comes an epic novel rooted in the real-life friendship between two men united by loss.

Colum McCann's most ambitious work to date, Apeirogon - named for a shape with a countably...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Untitled Donna Leon: A Comissario Guido Brunetti Mystery

Grove Atlantic · Atlantic Monthly Press

When Dottoressa Donato calls the Questura to report that a dying patient at the hospice Fatebenefratelli wants to speak to the police, Commissario Guido Brunetti and his colleague, Claudia Griffoni, waste no time in responding.

"They killed him. It was bad money. I told him no,"...

Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Arroyo: A Novel

Chip Jacobs · Rare Bird Books

Set against two distinct epochs in the history of Pasadena, California, Arroyo tells the parallel stories of a young inventor and his clairvoyant dog in 1913 and 1993. In both lives, they are drawn to the landmark Colorado Street Bridge, or "Suicide Bridge," as the locals call...
Read More check catalog