Back LA Times Paperback Fiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times Paperback Fiction  
1 - The overstory : a novel

Richard Powers · Recorded Books

The Overstory unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fable that range from antebellum New York to the late twentieth-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond. An air force loadmaster in the Vietnam War is shot out of the sky, then saved by falling into a banyan. An artist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Girl, Woman, Other

Bernardine Evaristo · Hamish Hamilton

Teeming with life and crackling with energy - a love song to modern Britain, to black womanhood, to the ever-changing heart of London

Girl, Woman, Other follows the lives and struggles of twelve very different characters. Mostly women, black and British, they tell the stories...

Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Little Women

Louisa May Alcott · BBC Audiobooks America

This dramatization is chock full of interesting sound effects. Hear the hymns as the sisters sing around Beths piano, the crackle of Jos manuscript as Amy sends it up in flames, the crack of the ice as Amy falls through. Many listeners will also enjoy the productions complete cast of voices...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - Killing Commendatore: A novel

Haruki Murakami · Random House Audio Publishing Group

The much-anticipated new novel from the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of 1Q84 and Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage, Killing Commendatore is an epic tour de force of love and loneliness, war and art - as well as a loving homage to The Great Gatsby - and a stunning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Little fires everywhere

Celeste Ng · Findaway World

Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - There there

Tommy Orange · Books on Tape

"Not since Sherman Alexie's The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven and Louise Erdrich's Love Medicine has such a powerful and urgent Native American voice exploded onto the landscape of contemporary fiction. Tommy Orange's There There introduces a brilliant new author...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Conversations with Friends: A Novel

Sally Rooney · Hogarth

Winner of the 2017 Sunday Times Young Writer of the YearOne of Vogue's 10 Best Books of 2017  ∙  Slate's 10 Favorite Books of the Year  ∙ Elle. com's Best Books of the Year  ∙ The Cut's Best Books by WomenA sharply intelligent novel about friendship, lust,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - A Gentleman in Moscow

Amor Towles · Windmill

In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - Before We Were Yours: A Novel

Lisa Wingate · Ballantine Books

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - The Immortalists

Chloe Benjamin · G.P. Putnam's Sons

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A captivating family saga." - The New York Times Book Review

"You won't be able to put it down." - The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The left hand of darkness

Ursula K Le Guin · BBC Digital Audio

The first ever broadcast dramatisation of Ursula Le Guin's seminal science fiction novel. On an alien world in the middle of an Ice Age, one man prepares for the biggest mission of his life. Alone and unarmed, Genly Ai has been sent from Earth to persuade the people of Gethen to join...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - My Year of Rest and Relaxation

Ottessa Moshfegh · Random House Large Print

From one of our boldest, most celebrated new literary voices, a novel about a young woman's efforts to duck the ills of the world by embarking on an extended hibernation with the help of one of the worst psychiatrists in the annals of literature and the battery of medicines she prescribesOur...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - Outline: A Novel

Rachel Cusk · Farrar, Straus and Giroux

A luminous, powerful novel that establishes Rachel Cusk as one of the finest writers in the English language A man and a woman are seated next to each other on a plane. They get to talking--about their destination, their careers, their families. Grievances are aired, family tragedies discussed,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - The House of Broken Angels

Lus Alberto Urrea · Findaway World

[*Read by the author - Luís Alberto Urrea]

The definitive Mexican-American immigrant story, at once intimate and epic, from an acclaimed storyteller.

In his final days, beloved and ailing patriarch Miguel Angel De La Cruz, known affectionately as Big Angel, has summoned...

Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Outsider

STEPHEN KING · Scribner

An unspeakable crime. A confounding investigation. At a time when the King brand has never been stronger, he has delivered one of his most unsettling and compulsively readable stories.

An eleven-year-old boy's violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints...
Read More check catalog