Back Schneider Family Book Award

Simple News Pro
  Schneider Family Book Award  
1. Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille

Jennifer Bryant · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

An inspiring picture-book biography of Louis Braille - a blind boy so determined to read that he invented his own alphabet.**Winner of a Schneider Family Book Award!** Louis Braille was just five years old when he lost his sight. He was a clever boy, determined to live like everyone else,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2. As Brave As You

Jason Reynolds · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 410
Format: Print book

Kirkus Award Finalist Schneider Family Book Award Winner Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book When two brothers decide to prove how brave they are, everything backfires - literally - in this piercing middle grade novel by the winner of the Coretta Scott King - Johnson Steptoe Award.Genie's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3. When We Collided

Emery Lord · Bloomsbury
Pages: 344
Format: Print book

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4. The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

Teresa Toten · Delacorte Press
Pages: 289
Format: Print book

Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, this understated and wise novel explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness and healing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park and All the Bright Places. ADAM'S GOALS:Grow immediately.Find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5. The War that Saved My Life

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley · Dial Books
Pages: 316
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times BestsellerNewbery Honor BookWinner of the Schneider Family Book Award (Middle School) Wall Street Journal Best Children's Books of 2015New York Public Library's 100 Books for Reading and Sharing An exceptionally moving story of triumph against all odds set during World...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6. Fish in a Tree

Lynda Mullaly Hunt · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 276
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times Bestseller!The author of the beloved One for the Murphys gives readers an emotionally-charged, uplifting novel that will speak to anyone who's ever thought there was something wrong with them because they didn't fit in. "Everybody is smart in different ways. But if you judge...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7. Emmanuel's Dream: The True Story of Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah

Laurie Ann Thompson · Schwartz & Wade
Format: Hardcover

Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah's inspiring true story - which was turned into a film, Emmanuel's Gift, narrated by Oprah Winfrey - is nothing short of remarkable. Born in Ghana, West Africa, with one deformed leg, he was dismissed by most people - but not by his mother, who taught him to reach...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8. A boy and a jaguar

Alan Rabinowitz · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format: Print book

The renowned cat conservationist reflects on his early childhood struggles with a speech disorder, describing how he only spoke fluently when he was communicating with animals and how he resolved at a young age to find his voice to be their advocate.
Read More check catalog
 
 
9. Rain Reign

Ann M Martin · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 226
Format: Book

A New York Times Bestseller!Rose Howard is obsessed with homonyms. She's thrilled that her own name is a homonym, and she purposely gave her dog Rain a name with two homonyms (Reign, Rein) , which, according to Rose's rules of homonyms, is very special. Not everyone understands Rose's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10. Girls Like Us

Gail Giles · Candlewick Press
Pages: 210
Format: Print book

A 2015 Schneider Family Book Award WinnerWith gentle humor and unflinching realism, Gail Giles tells the gritty, ultimately hopeful story of two special ed teenagers entering the adult world. We understand stuff. We just learn it slow. And most of what we understand is that people what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11. Rose Under Fire

Elizabeth Wein · Disney Pr
Pages: 360
Format: Print book

While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbr ck, the notorious women's concentration camp. Trapped in horrific circumstances, Rose finds hope in the impossible through the loyalty,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12. Handbook for Dragon Slayers

Merrie Haskell · Harper
Pages: 324
Format: Hardcover

Like Gail Carson Levine's books, Merrie Haskell's middle grade fantasy adventure Handbook for Dragon Slayers mixes magic, mythical creatures, thrilling action, and a wonderful cast of characters.Political upheaval sends Princess Tilda fleeing from her kingdom in the company of two hopeful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13. A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin

Jen Bryant · Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A Robert F. Sibert Honor BookWinner of the Schneider Family Book AwardAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's BookWinner of the NCTE Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for ChildrenAs a child in the late 1800s, Horace Pippin loved to draw: He loved the feel of the charcoal as it slid across...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14. Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am

Harry Mazer · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A soldier returns home from Iraq forever changed in this poignant and pivotal novel from award-winning authors-one a veteran.Ben lives a charmed life - effortlessly landing the lead in the high school musical, dating the prettiest girl in school. When he decides to enlist in the army, no one thinks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15. A Dog Called Homeless

Sarah Lean · Katherine Tegen Books; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Praised by Newbery Medal-winning author Katherine Applegate as "graceful" and "miraculous," this Schneider Family Book Award-winning novel tells how one girl's friendship with a homeless dog mends a family's heart.Cally Fisher knows she can see her dead mother,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16. Back to Front and Upside Down

Claire Alexander · Eerdmans Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Its the principal Mr. Slippers birthday, and while the rest of the class gets busy writing cards for the occasion, Stan becomes frustrated when his letters come out all in a muddle. Stan is afraid to ask for help, until a friend assures him that nobodys good at everything. And after lots...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17. Close to Famous

Joan Bauer · Viking Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Foster McFee dreams of having her own cooking show like her idol, celebrity chef Sonny Kroll. Macon Dillard's goal is to be a documentary filmmaker. Foster's mother Rayka longs to be a headliner instead of a back-up singer. And Miss Charleena plans a triumphant return to Hollywood....
Read More check catalog
 
 
18. Wonderstruck

Brian Selznick · Scholastic
Pages: 640
Format: Book

This lavish edition of Brian Selznick's breathtaking Wonderstruck is a must have for collectors and fans alike.Playing with the form he created in his trailblazing debut novel, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Brian Selznick once again sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19. The Running Dream

Wendelin Van Draanen · Knopf Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the 2012 Schneider Family Book AwardJessica thinks her life is over when she loses a leg in a car accident. She's not comforted by the news that she'll be able to walk with the help of a prosthetic leg. Who cares about walking when you live to run?As she struggles to cope with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20. The Pirate of Kindergarten

George Ella Lyon · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Doubles are good for lots of things - double scoops of ice cream, double features at the movies. But double vision is NOT a good kind of double. In fact, it can make kindergarten kind of hard. Ginny sees double chairs at reading circle and double words in her books. She knows that only...
Read More check catalog