Back LA Times® Paperback Nonfiction

Simple News Pro
  LA Times® Paperback Nonfiction  
1. No Is Not Enough: Resisting Trump's Shock Politics and Winning the World We Need

NAOMI KLEIN · Haymarket Books
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

The election of Donald Trump is a dangerous escalation in a world of cascading crises. Trump's vision -- a radical deregulation of the US economy in the interest of corporations, an all-out war on "radical Islamic terrorism," and sweeping aside climate science to unleash a domestic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2. On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

TIMOTHY SNYDER · TIM DUGGAN BOOKS
Pages: 128
Format: Print book

"The Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century. We are no wiser than the Europeans who saw democracy yield to fascism,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3. Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life

William Finnegan · Penguin Press
Pages: 447
Format: Print book

**Winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Autobiography**A deeply rendered self-portrait of a lifelong surfer by the acclaimed New Yorker writerBarbarian Days is William Finnegan's memoir of an obsession, a complex enchantment. Surfing only looks like a sport. To initiates, it is something...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4. The Soul of an Octopus: A Surprising Exploration into the Wonder of Consciousness

Sy Montgomery · Atria Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

LONGLISTED FOR THE NATIONAL BOOK AWARD New York Times Bestseller "Sy Montgomery's The Soul of an Octopus does for the creature what Helen Macdonald's H Is for Hawk did for raptors." (New Statesman, UK) Starred BOOKLIST and Library Journal Editors' Spring Pick One of the Best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5. You are a badass

Jen Sincero · Tantor Audio
Format: Audiobook

In this witty, refreshingly blunt guide, bestselling author Jen Sincero helps listeners to embrace their inner badass and achieve success in all areas of life.
Read More check catalog
 
 
6. We Should All Be Feminists (Kindle Single) (A Vintage Short)

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie · Vintage Books
Pages: 32
Format: eBook

What does "feminism" mean today? That is the question at the heart of We Should All Be Feminists, a personal, eloquently-argued essay - adapted from her much-viewed Tedx talk of the same name - by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the award-winning author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown · Thorndike Press; Lrg edition
Format: Hardcover

For readers of Laura Hillenbrands Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitlers 1936 Berlin OlympicsDaniel James Browns robust book tells the story of the University of Washingtons 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8. Lab Girl

Hope Jahren · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 290
Format: Print book

A New York Times 2016 Notable BookNational Best SellerNamed one of TIME magazine's "100 Most Influential People"An Amazon Top 20 Best Book of 2016A Washington Post Best Memoir of 2016A TIME and Entertainment Weekly Best Book of 2016 So Far An illuminating debut memoir of a woman...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9. The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself

Michael A. Singer · New Harbinger Publications/ Noetic Books
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback

What would it be like to free yourself from limitations and soar beyond your boundaries? What can you do each day to discover inner peace and serenity? The Untethered Soul—now a #1 New York Times bestseller—offers simple yet profound answers to these questions. Whether this is your...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10. The Genius of Birds

Jennifer Ackerman · Penguin Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Birds are astonishingly intelligent creatures. According to revolutionary new research, some birds rival primates and even humans in their remarkable forms of intelligence. In The Genius of Birds, acclaimed author Jennifer Ackerman explores the newly discovered brilliance of birds. As she travels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11. Alexander Hamilton

Ron Chernow · Penguin Audiobooks
Format: Audiobook

A New York Times Bestseller, and the inspiration for the hit Broadway musical Hamilton!Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ron Chernow presents a landmark biography of Alexander Hamilton, the Founding Father who galvanized, inspired, scandalized, and shaped the newborn nation.In the first full-length...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12. Hidden Figures: The Story of the African-American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race

Margot Lee Shetterly · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestsellerThe phenomenal true story of the black female mathematicians at NASA at the leading edge of the feminist and civil rights movement, whose calculations helped fuel some of America's greatest achievements in space - a powerful, revelatory contribution that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13. The Perfect Horse: The Daring U.S. Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis

Elizabeth Letts · Ballantine Books
Pages: 369
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II In the chaotic last days of the war, a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14. Tattoos on the Heart: The Power of Boundless Compassion

Fr. Gregory Boyle · Free Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Father Gregory Boyle’s sparkling parables about kinship and the sacredness of life are drawn from twenty years working with gangs in LA.How do you fight despair and learn to meet the world with a loving heart? How do you overcome shame? Stay faithful in spite of failure? No matter...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15. Originals: How Non-Conformists Move the World

Adam Grant · Penguin Audiobooks
Format: Audiobook

"Reading Originals made me feel like I was seated across from Adam Grant at a dinner party, as one of my favorite thinkers thrilled me with his insights and his wonderfully new take on the world." - Malcolm Gladwell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Outliers and The Tipping...
Read More check catalog