Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive

Stephanie Land · Hachette Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Evicted meets Nickel and Dimed in Stephanie Land's memoir about working as a maid, a beautiful and gritty exploration of poverty in America. Includes a foreword by Barbara Ehrenreich. "My daughter learned to walk in a homeless shelter."While the gap between upper middle-class...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Lost Children Archive: A novel

Valeria Luiselli · Knopf
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

From the two-time NBCC Finalist, a fiercely imaginative novel about a family's summer road trip across America--a journey that, with breathtaking imagery, spare lyricism, and profound humanity, probes the nature of justice and equality in America today.A mother and father set out with...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest

Hanif Willis-Abdurraqib
Format: Paperback

How does one pay homage to A Tribe Called Quest? The seminal rap group brought jazz into the genre, resurrecting timeless rhythms to create masterpieces such as The Low End Theory and Midnight Marauders. Seventeen years after their last album, they resurrected themselves with an intense,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays

Esmé Weijun Wang · Graywolf Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Powerful, affecting essays on mental illness, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize and a Whiting AwardAn intimate, moving book written with the immediacy and directness of one who still struggles with the effects of mental and chronic illness, The Collected Schizophrenias cuts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country

Pam Houston · W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"How do we become who we are in the world? We ask the world to teach us."On her 120-acre homestead high in the Colorado Rockies, beloved writer Pam Houston learns what it means to care for a piece of land and the creatures on it. Elk calves and bluebirds mark the changing seasons,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - The Last Romantics: A Novel

TARA CONKLIN · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings."The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - The Girls at 17 Swann Street

Yara Zgheib · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Yara Zgheib's poetic and poignant debut novel is a haunting portrait of a young woman's struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life. The chocolate went first, then the cheese, the fries, the ice cream. The bread was more difficult, but if she could just lose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Black Leopard, Red Wolf

MARLON JAMES · Riverhead Books
Pages: 640
Format: Hardcover

"A fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made." --Neil Gaiman"Gripping, action-packed....The literary equivalent of a Marvel Comics universe." --Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times The epic novel, an African Game of Thrones, from the Man Booker Prize-winning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Current: A Novel

Tim Johnston · Algonquin Books
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

"The Current is a rare creature: a gripping thriller and page-turner but also a masterwork of mood and language - a meditation on memory and time. You'll want to go fast at the same time you'll be compelled to savor each and every word." - Ivy Pochoda, author of Wonder Valley...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - The Age of Light: A Novel

WHITNEY SCHARER · Little, Brown and Company
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping debut set in Paris in the 1930's about the love story between Vogue model turned photographer Lee Miller and the artist Man Ray. "I'd rather take a picture than be one," says Lee Miller, after she arrives in Paris in 1929. Gorgeous and talented, Lee has left behind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - Leading Men: A Novel

Christopher Castellani · Viking
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

An expansive yet intimate story of desire, artistic ambition, and fidelity, set in the glamorous literary and film circles of 1950s ItalyIn July of 1953, at a glittering party thrown by Truman Capote in Portofino, Italy, Tennessee Williams and his longtime lover Frank Merlo meet Anja Blomgren,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Bowlaway: A Novel

Elizabeth McCracken · Ecco
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping and enchanting new novel from the widely beloved, award-winning author Elizabeth McCracken about three generations of an unconventional New England family who own and operate a candlepin bowling alleyFrom the day she is discovered unconscious in a New England cemetery at the turn...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Silent Patient

ALEX MICHAELIDES · Celadon Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

"That rarest of beasts: the perfect thriller. This extraordinary novel set my blood fizzing -- I quite literally couldn't put it down. I told myself I'd just dip in; eleven hours later -- it's now 5:47 a.m. -- I've finished it, absolutely dazzled." -- A. J. Finn, #1 New York...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - The Only Woman in the Room: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

She possessed a stunning beauty. She also possessed a stunning mind. Could the world handle both?Her beauty almost certainly saved her from the rising Nazi party and led to marriage with an Austrian arms dealer. Underestimated in everything else, she overheard the Third Reich's plans while...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - The Lost Girls of Paris

Pam Jenoff · Park Row
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

From the author of the runaway bestseller The Orphan's Tale comes a remarkable story of friendship and courage centered around three women and a ring of female spies during World War II.1946, ManhattanOne morning while passing through Grand Central Terminal on her way to work, Grace Healey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Golden Child: A Novel

CLAIRE ADAM · SJP for Hogarth
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A deeply affecting debut novel set in Trinidad, following the lives of a family as they navigate impossible choices about scarcity, loyalty, and loveRural Trinidad: a brick house on stilts surrounded by bush; a family, quietly surviving, just trying to live a decent life. Clyde, the father,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - When You Read This: A Novel

Mary Adkins · Harper
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell, a comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts.Iris Massey is gone. But she's left something behind. For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The Weight of a Piano: A novel

Chris Cander · Knopf
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, Annie Proulx's Accordion Crimes, Amanda Coplin's The OrchardistA tour-de-force about two women and the piano that inexorably ties their lives together through time and across continents, for better and for worse.In 1962, in the Soviet Union, eight-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - You Know You Want This: "Cat Person" and Other Stories

Kristen Roupenian · Gallery/Scout Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

From the author of "Cat Person" - "the short story that launched a thousand theories" (The Guardian) - comes Kristen Roupenian's highly anticipated debut, a compulsively readable collection of short stories that explore the complex - and often darkly funny - connections...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - The Falconer: A Novel

Dana Czapnik · Atria Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A literary page-turner brimming with intelligence, energy, and wit, centered on an unforgettable young heroine that "will thrill readers of all generations" (Colum McCann) .New York, 1993. Seventeen-year-old Lucy Adler, a street-smart, trash-talking baller, is often the only...
Read More check catalog