Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins · Flatiron Books

También de este lado hay sueños. On this side too, there are dreams.Already being hailed as "a Grapes of Wrath for our times" and "a new American classic", American Dirt is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Weather: A novel

Jenny Offill · Knopf

From the author of the nationwide best seller Dept. of Speculation--one of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year--a shimmering tour de force about a family, and a nation, in crisisLizzie Benson slid into her job as a librarian without a traditional degree. But this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Author in Chief: The Untold Story of Our Presidents and the Books They Wrote

Craig Fehrman · Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster

In the tradition of The Gatekeepers and The Presidents Club, historian Craig Fehrman offers a surprising new look into both the public and private lives of America's presidents. Most Americans are familiar with Lincoln's famous words in the Gettysburg Address and the Emancipation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - A Long Petal of the Sea: A Novel

Isabel Allende


Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - When We Were Vikings

Andrew David MacDonald · Gallery/Scout Press

A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.Sometimes life isn't as simple as heroes and villains. For Zelda, a twenty-one-year-old Viking enthusiast who lives with her older brother, Gert, life is best lived...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Homie: Poems

Danez Smith · Graywolf Press

Danez Smith is our presidentHomie is Danez Smith's magnificent anthem about the saving grace of friendship. Rooted in the loss of one of Smith's close friends, this book comes out of the search for joy and intimacy within a nation where both can seem scarce and getting scarcer....
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Things in Jars

Jess Kidd · Canongate Books Ltd

London, 1863. Bridie Devine, the finest female detective of her age, is taking on her toughest case yet. Reeling from her last job and with her reputation in tatters, a remarkable puzzle has come her way. Christabel Berwick has been kidnapped. But Christabel is no ordinary child. She is not supposed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Verge: Stories

Lidia Yuknavitch · Riverhead Books

A fiercely empathetic group portrait of the marginalized and outcast in moments of crisis, from one of the most galvanizing voices in American fiction. I tell you, do not go near that place. Do not go near it. Graywolves guard the ground there. Girls are growing from guts, enough for a body...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Mercies

Kiran Millwood Hargrave · Little, Brown and Company

"Every once in a while, a modern day parable, perfectly told, reflects all that could happen in a world gone mad."-Adriana Trigiani Finnmark, Norway, 1617. Twenty-year-old Maren Magnusdatter stands on the craggy coast, watching the sea break into a sudden and reckless storm....
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - My Autobiography of Carson McCullers: A Memoir

Jenn Shapland · Tin House Books

My Autobiography of Carson McCullers is an audacious new form of nonfiction that remakes the boundaries between criticism, biography, and autobiography in search of two identities.While working as an intern in the archives at the Harry Ransom Center, Jenn Shapland encounters the love letters...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The Authenticity Project: A Novel

Clare Pooley · Pamela Dorman Books

A story about a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love--think Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine meets Love, Actually"Everybody lies about their lives. What would happen if you shared the truth?"This is the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Highfire: A Novel

Eoin Colfer


Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Seep

Chana Porter


Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Run Me to Earth

Paul Yoon · Simon & Schuster

From award-winning author Paul Yoon comes a beautiful, aching novel about three kids orphaned in 1960s Laos - and how their destinies are entwined across decades, anointed by Hernan Diaz as, "one of those rare novels that stays with us to become a standard with which we measure other...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - Everywhere You Don't Belong

Gabriel Bump · Algonquin Books

"This book is astonishing. You'll be smiling even as your heart is breaking, and you'll tip willingly into this world Bump offers you, because what appears again and again are spectacular beams of light also called love, also called hope, also called family. Gabriel Bump has established...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - When Time Stopped: A Memoir of My Father, Survival and What Remains

Neumann, Ariana · SCRIBNER BOOKS CO

In this remarkably moving memoir Ariana Neumann dives into the secrets of her father's past: years spent hiding in plain sight in war-torn Berlin, the annihilation of dozens of family members in the Holocaust, and the courageous choice to build anew. In 1941, the first Neumann family...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - The Third Rainbow Girl: The Long Life of a Double Murder in Appalachia

Emma Copley Eisenberg · Hachette Books

A stunningly written investigation of the murder of two young women--showing how a violent crime casts a shadow over an entire community. In the early evening of June 25, 1980 in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, two middle-class outsiders named Vicki Durian, 26, and Nancy Santomero, 19, were...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The Unspoken Name

A. K. Larkwood · Tor Books

A. K. Larkwood's The Unspoken Name is a stunning debut fantasy about an orc priestess turned wizard's assassin.What if you knew how and when you will die?Csorwe does -- she will climb the mountain, enter the Shrine of the Unspoken, and gain the most honored title: sacrifice. But on the day of her foretold...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Cartier's Hope: A Novel

M. J. Rose · Atria Books

From M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author of Tiffany Blues, "a lush, romantic historical mystery" (Kristin Hannah, The Nightingale) , comes a gorgeously wrought novel of ambition and betrayal set in the Gilded Age. New York, 1910: A city of extravagant balls in Fifth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - The Resisters: A novel

Gish Jen · Knopf

"The Resisters is palpably loving, smart, funny, and desperately unsettling. The novel should be required reading for the country both as a cautionary tale and because it is a stone-cold masterpiece. This is Gish Jen's moment. She has pitched a perfect game." --Ann PatchettThe...
Read More check catalog