Back New York Times® Paperback Nonfiction

Simple News Pro
  New York Times® Paperback Nonfiction  
1. Thank You for Being Late: An Optimist's Guide to Thriving in the Age of Accelerations

Thomas L. Friedman · MacMillan Audio
Format: Audiobook

A field guide to the twenty-first century, written by one of its most celebrated observersWe all sense it -- something big is going on. You feel it in your workplace. You feel it when you talk to your kids. You can't miss it when you read the newspapers or watch the news. Our lives...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2. The Undoing Project: A Friendship that Changed Our Minds

Michael Lewis · Audioworks
Format: Audiobook on CD

Bestselling author Michael Lewis examines how a Nobel Prize-winning theory of the mind altered our perception of reality.Forty years ago, Israeli psychologists Daniel Kahneman and Amos Tversky wrote a series of breathtakingly original studies undoing our assumptions about the decision-making...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3. Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End

Atul Gawande · Metropolitan Books
Pages: 282
Format: Hardcover

In Being Mortal, bestselling author Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its endingMedicine has triumphed in modern times, transforming birth, injury, and infectious disease from harrowing to manageable....
Read More check catalog
 
 
4. The Glass Castle: A Memoir

Jeannette Walls · Moline Public Library
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest desert towns, camping in the mountains. Rex was a charismatic,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5. Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together

Ron Hall · Thomas Nelson; Reprint edition
Pages: 245
Format: Paperback

A dangerous, homeless drifter who grew up picking cotton in virtual slavery. An upscale art dealer accustomed to the world of Armani and Chanel. A gutsy woman with a stubborn dream. A story so incredible no novelist would dare dream it. It begins outside a burning plantation hut in Louisiana...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6. Thinking, fast and slow

Daniel Kahneman; Amazon.com · Farrar
Format:  eBook : Document : EnglishView all editions and formats

In the international bestseller, Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman, the renowned psychologist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, takes us on a groundbreaking tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional;...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness

Richard H. Thaler · Penguin Books; Revised & Expanded edition
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback

For fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahneman’s Thinking Fast and Slow, a revelatory new look at how we make decisions A New York Times bestsellerAn Economist Best Book of the YearA Financial Times Best Book of the YearNudge is about choices—how...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8. On Tyranny: Twenty Lessons from the Twentieth Century

TIMOTHY SNYDER · Tim Duggan Books
Pages: 126
Format: Paperback

#1 New York Times BestsellerThe Founding Fathers tried to protect us from the threat they knew, the tyranny that overcame ancient democracy. Today, our political order faces new threats, not unlike the totalitarianism of the twentieth century. We are no wiser than the Europeans who saw democracy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9. Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli pirates : the forgotten war that changed American History

Brian Kilmeade · Penguin Publishing Group, 2015.
Format: eBook

-- George Washington's Secret Six Lieutenant Andrew Sterett's ferocious cannon battle on the high seas against the treacherous pirate ship -- Thomas Jefferson and the Tripoli Pirates From the Hardcover edition.
Read More check catalog
 
 
10. Just mercy : a story of justice and redemption

Bryan Stevenson · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 336
Format: Book

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times * The Washington Post * The Boston Globe * The Seattle Times * Esquire * Time Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Nonfiction | Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction | Winner of a Books...
Read More check catalog