Back Indie Next

Simple News Pro
  Indie Next  
1 - A Lucky Man: Stories

JAMEL BRINKLEY · Graywolf Press
Pages: 264
Format: Hardcover

"This is the rare debut that introduces not a promising talent but a major writer, fully formed." -- Garth GreenwellIn the nine expansive, searching stories of A Lucky Man, fathers and sons attempt to salvage relationships with friends and family members and confront mistakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - Tin Man: A Novel

SARAH WINMAN · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

"This is an astoundingly beautiful book. It drips with tenderness. It breaks your heart and warms it all at once." --Matt Haig, author of How to Stop TimeFrom the internationally bestselling author Sarah Winman comes an unforgettable and heartbreaking novel celebrating love in all of its forms...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - Noir: A Novel

Christopher Moore · William Morrow
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The absurdly outrageous, sarcastically satiric, and always entertaining New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore returns in finest madcap form with this zany noir set on the mean streets of post-World War II San Francisco, and featuring a diverse cast of characters, including...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - Love and Ruin: A Novel

PAULA MCLAIN · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The bestselling author of The Paris Wife returns to the subject of Ernest Hemingway in a novel about his passionate, stormy marriage to Martha Gellhorn - a fiercely independent, ambitious young woman who would become one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century In 1937,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - The Ensemble: A Novel

Aja Gabel · Riverhead Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The addictive novel about four young friends navigating a cutthroat world and their complex relationships with each other, as ambition, passion, and love intertwine over the course of their lives.Jana. Brit. Daniel. Henry. They would never have been friends if they hadn't needed each other....
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - The Only Story: A novel

JULIAN BARNES · Knopf
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

From the Man Booker Prize-winning author of The Sense of an Ending, an achingly profound love story between a young man on the cusp of adulthood and a woman whose life is gradually and suddenly moving in the opposite direction.Most of us have only one story to tell. I don't mean that only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - The Perfect Mother: A Novel

Aimee Molloy · Harper
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERTHE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SUMMER--SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING SCANDAL'S KERRY WASHINGTONAn addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.A...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - Welcome to Lagos: A Novel

Chibundu Onuzo · Catapult
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A provocative portrait of a rapidly-changing Nigeria by a "tremendous" young novelist who is "energizing the form." (William Boyd, The Guardian) When army officer Chike Ameobi is ordered to kill innocent civilians, he knows it is time to desert his post. As he travels...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - Warlight: A novel

Michael Ondaatje · Knopf
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of The English Patient: a mesmerizing new novel that tells a dramatic story set in the decade after World War II through the lives of a small group of unexpected characters and two teenagers whose lives are indelibly shaped by their...
Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - My Ex-Life

Stephen McCauley · Flatiron Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

David Hedges's life is coming apart at the seams. His job helping San Francisco rich kids get into the colleges of their (parents') choice is exasperating; his younger boyfriend has left him; and the beloved carriage house he rents is being sold. His solace is a Thai takeout joint that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - The Mars Room: A Novel

RACHEL KUSHNER · Scribner
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From twice National Book Award-nominated Rachel Kushner, whose Flamethrowers was called "the best, most brazen, most interesting book of the year" (Kathryn Schulz, New York magazine) , comes a spectacularly compelling, heart-stopping novel about a life gone off the rails in contemporary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - Mr. Flood's Last Resort: A Novel

JESS KIDD · Atria Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning author of the "supernaturally skillful debut" (Vanity Fair) Himself, a spellbinding romp about a caretaker and a cranky hoarder with a secret - complete with skulking saints, unresolved disappearances, greedy heirs, and a firecracker neighbor determined...
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - How to Walk Away: A Novel

Katherine Center · St. Martin's Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Happiness for Beginners comes an unforgettable love story about finding joy even in the darkest of circumstances. Margaret Jacobsen has a bright future ahead of her: a fiancé she adores, her dream job, and the promise of a picture-perfect life just around the corner....
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - You Think It, I'll Say It: Stories

Curtis Sittenfeld · Random House
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A dazzling collection of short stories from the New York Times bestselling author of Prep, American Wife, and Eligible Curtis Sittenfeld has established a reputation as a sharp chronicler of the modern age who humanizes her subjects even as she skewers them. Now, with this first collection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - Wicked River: A Novel

Jenny Milchman · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - The Feather Thief: Beauty, Obsession, and the Natural History Heist of the Century

KIRK WALLACE JOHNSON · Viking
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A rollicking true-crime adventure and a thought-provoking exploration of the human drive to possess natural beauty for readers of The Stranger in the Woods, The Lost City of Z, and The Orchid Thief.On a cool June evening in 2009, after performing a concert at London's Royal Academy of Music,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - First, We Make the Beast Beautiful: A New Memoir About Anxiety

SARAH WILSON · Dey Street Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling author of I Quit Sugar transforms cultural perceptions of the mental health issue of our age - anxiety - viewing this widespread condition not as a burdensome affliction but as a powerful spiritual teacher that can deepen our lives.While reading psychiatrist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After

CLEMANTINE WAMARIYA · Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A riveting story of dislocation, survival, and the power of stories to break or save us Clemantine Wamariya was six years old when her mother and father began to speak in whispers, when neighbors began to disappear, and when she heard the loud, ugly sounds her brother said were "thunder....
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - Motherhood: A Novel

Sheila Heti · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the author of How Should a Person Be? ("one of the most talked-about books of the year" -- Time Magazine) and the New York Times Bestseller Women in Clothes comes a daring novel about whether to have children.In Motherhood, Sheila Heti asks what is gained and what is lost...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - The Best Cook in the World: Tales from My Momma's Table

Rick Bragg · Knopf
Pages: 512
Format: Hardcover

From the beloved, best-selling author of All Over but the Shoutin', a delectable, rollicking food memoir, cookbook, and loving tribute to a region, a vanishing history, a family, and, especially, to his mother. Including seventy-five mouthwatering Bragg family recipes for classic southern...
Read More check catalog