Back Texas Lone Star Reading List

Simple News Pro
  Texas Lone Star Reading List  
1 - The Companion

Katie Alender - G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, lucky to be chosen by a prestigious family to live at their remote country estate. But it wasn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
2 - A Match Made in Mehendi

Nandini Bajpai

Fifteen-year-old Simran "Simi" Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole -- matchmakers -- with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the "gift."But...
Read More check catalog
 
 
3 - The Inheritance Games

Jennifer Lynn Barnes - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Times} A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out. Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
4 - The Canyon's Edge

Dusti Bowling - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hatchet meets Long Way Down in this heartfelt and gripping novel in verse about a young girl's struggle for survival after a climbing trip with her father goes terribly wrong. One year after a random shooting changed their family forever, Nora and her father are exploring a slot canyon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
5 - King and the Dragonflies

Kacen Callender - Scholastic Press

In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him beyond the bayous of his backyard, to learn that there is no right way to be yourself.Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure his brother Khalid has turned into a dragonfly. When Khalid unexpectedly passed away, he shed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
6 - Turning Point

Paula Chase - Greenwillow Books

When being yourself isn't good enough, who should you be? Told in dual perspectives, this provocative and timely novel for middle-school readers by Paula Chase, the acclaimed author of So Done and Dough Boys, will resonate with fans of Jason Reynolds, Rebecca Stead, and Renée Watson....
Read More check catalog
 
 
7 - Dress Coded

Carrie Firestone - G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

In this debut middle-grade girl-power friendship story, an eighth grader starts a podcast to protest the unfair dress code enforcement at her middle school and sparks a rebellion.Molly Frost is FED UP... Because Olivia was yelled at for wearing a tank top. Because Liza got dress coded and Molly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
8 - This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

Andrew Fukuda

"I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers." -- Andrew FukudaIn 1935, ten-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
9 - The Silence Between Us

Alison Gervais - Blink

Moving halfway across the country to Colorado right before senior year isn't Maya's idea of a good time. Leaving behind Pratt School for the Deaf where she's been a student for years only to attend a hearing school is even worse. Maya has dreams of breaking into the medical field and is determined...

Read More check catalog
 
 
10 - Wink

Rob Harrell

Ross Maloy just wants to be a normal seventh grader. He doesn't want to lose his hair, or wear a weird hat, or deal with the disappearing friends who don't know what to say to "the cancer kid." But with his recent diagnosis of a rare eye cancer, blending in is off the table....
Read More check catalog
 
 
11 - When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller - Random House Books for Young Readers

An uplifting story of a girl discovering a secret family history when she makes a deal with a magical tiger from her grandmother's stories, the Korean version of "Once upon a time..."

Some stories refuse to stay bottled up...

When Lily and her family move...
Read More check catalog
 
 
12 - I'll Be the One

Lyla Lee - Katherine Tegen Books

The world of K-Pop has never met a star like this. Debut author Lyla Lee delivers a deliciously fun, thoughtful rom-com celebrating confidence and body positivity - perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Julie Murphy. Skye Shin has heard it all. Fat girls shouldn't dance. Wear bright colors....
Read More check catalog
 
 
13 - The Bone Houses

Emily Lloyd-Jones

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn ("Ryn") only cares about two things: her family and her family's graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote...
Read More check catalog
 
 
14 - Don't Turn Out the Lights: A Tribute to Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Jonathan Maberry - HarperCollins

Featuring stories from R.L. Stine and Madeleine Roux, this middle grade horror anthology, curated by New York Times bestselling author and master of macabre Jonathan Maberry, is a chilling tribute to Alvin Schwartz's Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark. Flesh-hungry ogres? Brains full...
Read More check catalog
 
 
15 - Thirteens

Kate Alice Marshall - Viking Books for Young Readers

Neil Gaiman's Coraline meets Stranger Things in a dark and twisted story about a sleepy town with a dark secret--and the three kids brave enough to uncover it.Every thirteen years in the town of Eden Eld, three thirteen-year-olds disappear.Eleanor has just moved to the quiet, prosperous...
Read More check catalog
 
 
16 - Paola Santiago and the River of Tears

Tehlor Kay Mejia - Rick Riordan Presents

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It's all they've heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago. Pao is embarrassed to admit that she has been told to stay away for even longer than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
17 - Bloom

Kenneth Oppel - Yearling

The invasion begins--but not as you'd expect. It begins with rain. Rain that carries seeds. Seeds that sprout--overnight, everywhere. These new plants take over crop fields, twine up houses, and burrow below streets. They bloom--and release toxic pollens. They bloom--and form Venus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
18 - Tornado Brain

Cat Patrick - Puffin Books

Things never seem to go as easily for thirteen-year-old Frankie as they do for her sister, Tess. Unlike Tess, Frankie is neurodivergent. In her case, that means she can't stand to be touched, loud noises bother her, she's easily distracted, she hates changes in her routine, and she has to go see a therapist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
19 - City Spies

James Ponti - Aladdin

In this thrilling new series that Stuart Gibbs called "a must-read," Edgar Award winner James Ponti brings together five kids from all over the world and transforms them into real-life spies - perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith's Spy School for Girls.Sara Martinez...
Read More check catalog
 
 
20 - Black Brother, Black Brother

Jewell Parker Rhodes - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the best. Sometimes, 12-year-old Donte wishes he were invisible. As one of the few black boys at Middlefield Prep, most of the students don't look like him. They don't like him either. Dubbing him "Black Brother," Donte's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
21 - The Barren Grounds: The Misewa Saga, Book 1

David A. Robertson - Puffin Canada

Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families and communities, are brought together in a foster home in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They each feel disconnected, from their culture and each other, and struggle to fit in at school and at their new home -- until they find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
22 - Crown of Coral and Pearl

Mara Rutherford - Inkyard Press

"A fabulous interweaving of fantasy, politics, and sisterhood -- this unusual, tense tale will have you on the edge of your seat!" -- #1 New York Times bestselling author Tamora PierceRed Queen meets House of Salt and Sorrow in Mara Rutherford's debut YA fantasy Crown of Coral...
Read More check catalog
 
 
23 - A Place at the Table

Saadia Faruqi - CLARION BOOKS

Sixth graders Sara and Elizabeth could not be more different. Sara is at a new school that is completely unlike the small Islamic school she used to attend. Elizabeth has her own problems: her British mum has been struggling with depression. The girls meet in an after-school South Asian...
Read More check catalog
 
 
25 - Manning Up

Bee Walsh - West 44 Books

Jack is at the top of his game. He's a senior running back on the football team, dominating every opponent in his way. To everyone else, Jack is totally in control. In reality, he struggles with an eating disorder that controls every aspect of his daily life. When Jack starts using steroids,...
Read More check catalog