Back New E-Titles | February Newsletter

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New in Ebooks - All Non-Fiction
New e-title highlights is brought to you by Ebook Alerts. If you would like to see all new titles for this category, click here
 
Debt 101
Debt 101

Michele Cagan

Get out of debt and use credit wisely with this easy-to-understand, comprehensive guide to making your debt work for you. The key to borrowing, managing, and paying off debt is understanding what it is, how it works and how it can affect your finances and your life. Debt 101 is the easy-to-follow...
Read More
 
 
A Map Is Only One Story
A Map Is Only One Story

Chung, Nicole; Demary, Mensah

From rediscovering an ancestral village in China to experiencing the realities of American life as a Nigerian, the search for belonging crosses borders and generations. Selected from the archives of Catapult magazine, the essays in A Map Is Only One Story highlight the human...

Read More
 
 
Machiavelli
Machiavelli

Boucheron, Patrick; Wood, Willard

In a series of poignant vignettes, a preeminent historian makes a compelling case for Machiavelli as an unjustly maligned figure with valuable political insights that resonate as strongly today as they did in his time.

Whenever a tempestuous period in history begins,...
Read More
 
 
Open Book
Open Book

Jessica Simpson

Jessica reveals for the first time her inner monologue and most intimate struggles. Guided by the journals she's kept since age fifteen, and brimming with her unique humor and down-to-earth humanity, Open Book is as inspiring as it is entertaining.This was supposed to be a very different...
Read More
 
 
Brother & Sister
Brother & Sister

Diane Keaton

From the beloved film star and best-selling author of Then Again: a heartfelt memoir about her relationship with her younger brother, and a poignant exploration of the divergent paths siblings' lives can take.When they were children in the suburbs of Los Angeles in the 1950s, Diane Keaton...
Read More
 
 
The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read
The Book You Wish Your Parents Had Read

Philippa Perry

"A beautifully comprehensive look at what it might mean to be a sane and emotionally intelligent parent . . . hugely warm, wise, hopeful and encouraging."—Alain de Botton, author of How Proust Can Change Your LifeInstant #1 Sunday Times BestsellerEvery parent wants their child to be happy...
Read More
 
 
As Needed for Pain
As Needed for Pain

Dan Peres

In the vein of Mary Karr's Lit, Augusten Burroughs' Dry and Sarah Hepola's Blackout, As Needed for Pain is a raw and riveting—and often wryly funny—addiction memoir from one of New York media's most accomplished editors which explores his never-before-told story of opioid addiction...
Read More
 
 
Me and White Supremacy
Me and White Supremacy

Layla F. Saad

Based off the original workbook, Me and White Supremacy teaches readers how to dismantle the privilege within themselves so that they can stop (often unconsciously) inflicting damage on people of color, and in turn, help other white people do better, too.When Layla Saad began an Instagram...
Read More
 
 
A Black Women's History of the United States
A Black Women's History of the United States

Daina Ramey Berry

A vibrant and empowering history that emphasizes the perspectives and stories of African American women to show how they are—and have always been—instrumental in shaping our countryIn centering Black women's stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American...
Read More
 
 
The Scientist and the Spy
The Scientist and the Spy

Mara Hvistendahl

A riveting true story of industrial espionage in which a Chinese-born scientist is pursued by the U.S. government for trying to steal trade secrets, by a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in nonfiction. In September 2011, sheriff's deputies in Iowa encountered three ethnic Chinese men near...
Read More
 
 
Remember The Sultana
Remember The Sultana

Ray Appleton

The soldiers had survived the horrors of the U.S. Civil War and the POW camps. Over 2000 Union soldiers were crammed aboard the steamboat Sultana, heading home. But graft, greed, overcrowding, a poorly maintained boat, and a swollen Mississippi River conspired to create disaster. On April...
Read More
 
 
I Could Be You
I Could Be You

Sheila Bugler

A life has been taken. But whose life is it? On a stifling hot day, former journalist Dee Doran finds the crumpled body of her friend at the roadside. Katie and her little boy, Jake, have been a light in Dee's otherwise desolate life – now a woman is dead and a child is missing. Katie...
Read More
 
 
The Snow Killer
The Snow Killer

Ross Greenwood

'Fear the north wind. Because no one will hear you scream...' A family is gunned down in the snow but one of the children survives. Three years on, that child takes revenge and the Snow Killer is born. But then, nothing - no further crimes are committed, and the case goes cold. Fifty years...
Read More