Back Celebrating Racial Diversity (Chapter Books) | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Celebrating Racial Diversity (Chapter Books)  
Blended

SHARON M DRAPER - Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Eleven-year-old Isabella's blended family is more divided than ever in this thoughtful story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon M. Draper.

Eleven-year-old Isabella's parents are divorced,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inside Out and Back Again: A Harper Classic

Thanhha Lai - HarperCollins
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the National Book Award, a Newbery Honor, and a #1 New York Times bestseller!

Inspired by the author's childhood experience as a refugee - fleeing Vietnam after the fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama - this coming-of-age debut told in verse has been celebrated...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Bud, Not Buddy

Christopher Paul Curtis - Delacorte Press
Pages: 245
Format: Print book

It's 1936, in Flint, Michigan. Times may be hard, and ten-year-old Bud may be a motherless boy on the run, but Bud's got a few things going for him:1. He has his own suitcase filled with his own important, secret things.2. He's the author of Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things for Having a Funner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Echo

Pam MunÌ?oz Ryan - Scholastic Press
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

Winner of a 2016 Newbery Honor, ECHO pushes the boundaries of genre, form, and storytelling innovation.

Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Betty Before X

Ilyasah Shabazz - Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

In Detroit, 1945, eleven-year-old Betty's house doesn't quite feel like home. She believes her mother loves her, but she can't shake the feeling that her mother doesn't want her. Church helps those worries fade, if only for a little while. The singing, the preaching, the speeches...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

Mildred D. Taylor - Puffin Books
Pages: 276
Format: Paperback

With the land to hold them together, nothing can tear the Logans apart.Why is the land so important to Cassie's family? It takes the events of one turbulent year - the year of the night riders and the burnings, the year a white girl humiliates Cassie in public simply because she is black...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Return to Sender

Julia Alvarez - Knopf Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Format: Book

After Tyler's father is injured in a tractor accident, his family is forced to hire migrant Mexican workers to help save their Vermont farm from foreclosure. Tyler isn’t sure what to make of these workers. Are they undocumented? And what about the three daughters, particularly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
For Black Girls Like Me

Mariama J. Lockington - Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

In this lyrical coming-of-age story about family, sisterhood, music, race, and identity, Mariama J. Lockington draws on some of the emotional truths from her own experiences growing up with an adoptive white family.

I am a girl but most days I feel like a question mark.

Makeda...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Harbor Me

JACQUELINE WOODSON - Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature

Jacqueline Woodson's first middle-grade novel since National Book Award winner Brown Girl Dreaming celebrates the healing that can occur when a group of students share their stories.

...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Night Diary

Veera Hiranandani - Kokila
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country

It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Genesis Begins Again

Alicia D. Williams - Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

This deeply sensitive and powerful debut novel tells the story of a thirteen-year-old who must overcome internalized racism and a verbally abusive family to finally learn to love herself.

There are ninety-six things Genesis hates about herself. She knows the exact number because...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Crack in the Sea

H M Bouwman - G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 357
Format: Hardcover

An enchanting historical fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Thanhha Lai's Newbery Honor-winning Inside Out and Back Again

No one comes to the Second World on purpose. The doorway between worlds opens only when least expected. The Raft King is desperate to change...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks

Jason Reynolds - Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

A National Book Award Finalist!

From National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds comes a novel told in ten blocks, showing all the different directions a walk home can take.

This story was going to begin like all the best stories....
Read More check catalog