Back Appreciating Inclusivity | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Appreciating Inclusivity  
Americanah

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Knopf
Pages: 477
Format: Hardcover

One of The New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year

LONGLISTED 2015 - International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

From the award-winning author of Half of a Yellow Sun, a dazzling new novel: a story of love and race centered around a young...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The color purple : a novel

Alice Walker - Harcourt Brace Jovanovich
Format: Book

Set in the period between the world wars, this novel tells of two sisters, their trials, and their survival.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: A Novel

Mark Haddon - Doubleday
Pages: 226
Format: Hardcover

Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, Christopher is autistic....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Electric Arches

EVE L EWING - Haymarket Books
Pages: 94
Format: Paperback

Electric Arches is an imaginative exploration of Black girlhood and womanhood through poetry, visual art, and narrative prose.

Blending stark realism with the surreal and fantastic, Eve L. Ewing's narrative takes us from the streets of 1990s Chicago to an unspecified future, deftly...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Every Heart a Doorway

Seanan Mcguire - Tom Doherty Associates
Pages: 173
Format: Print book

Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children
No Solicitations
No Visitors
No Quests

Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging...

Read More check catalog
 
 
God in Pink

Namir, Hasan

Lambda Literary Award winner, Best Gay Fiction

A revelatory novel about being queer and Muslim, set in war-torn Iraq in 2003. Ramy is a young gay Iraqi struggling to find a balance between his sexuality, religion, and culture. Ammar is a sheikh whose guidance Ramy seeks,

Read More check catalog
 
 
Invisible Man

Ralph Ellison - Modern Library/Random House
Pages: 572
Format: Print book

Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all timeInvisible Man is a milestone in American literature, a book that has continued to engage readers since its appearance in 1952. A first novel by an unknown writer, it remained on the bestseller list for sixteen weeks,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Life Of Pi

Charles E Stinnett

After the tragic sinking of a cargo ship, one solitary lifeboat remains bobbing on the wild, blue Pacific.The crew of the surviving vessel consists of a hyena, a zebra (with a broken leg) , a female orang-utan, a 450-pound Royal Bengal tiger and Pi - a 16-year-old Indian boy.The
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Marriage of Opposites

Alice Hoffman - Simon & Schuster
Pages: 369
Format: Print book

"A luminous, Marquez-esque tale" (O, The Oprah Magazine) from the New York Times bestselling author of The Museum of Extraordinary Things: a forbidden love story set on a tropical island about the extraordinary woman who gave birth to painter Camille Pissarro...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Middlesex: A Novel

Jeffrey Eugenides - Picador
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback

"I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of l974. . . My birth certificate lists my name as Calliope Helen Stephanides. My most recent...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Pachinko

Min Jin Lee - Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * A NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN OF THE YEAR * NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 *A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017 * JULY PICK FOR THE PBS NEWSHOUR-NEW YORK TIMES BOOK CLUB NOW READ THIS * FINALIST FOR THE 2018 DAYTON LITERARY...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood

Marjane Satrapi

Originally published to wide critical acclaim in France, where it elicited comparisons to Art Spiegelman's Maus, Persepolis is Marjane Satrapi's wise, funny, and heartbreaking memoir of growing up in Iran during the Islamic Revolution. In powerful black-and-white comic strip image
Read More check catalog
 
 
Precious

Sapphire - Vintage; 1 Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTUREIncludes a Reading Group GuidePrecious Jones, an illiterate sixteen-year-old, has up until now been invisible to the father who rapes her and the mother who batters her and to the authorities who dismiss her as just one more of Harlem's casualties. But when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Priory of the Orange Tree

Samantha Shannon - Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 848
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle) .

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.

The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel

Casey McQuiston - St. Martin's Griffin
Pages: 432
Format: Paperback

"I took this with me wherever I went and stole every second I had to read! Absorbing, hilarious, tender, sexy -- this book had everything I crave. I'm jealous of all the readers out there who still get to experience Red, White & Royal Blue for the first time!" - Christina...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Say Say Say

Lila Savage - Random House Large Print
Pages: 272
Format: Large Print

"A gem of a book . . . lyrical, tender, and profoundly insightful."--Abraham Verghese, author of Cutting for Stone

A beautiful, bracingly honest debut novel about the triangle formed between a young woman and the couple whose life she enters one transformative year:...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spinning Silver

NAOMI NOVIK - Del Rey
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

A fresh and imaginative retelling of the Rumpelstiltskin fairytale from the bestselling author of Uprooted, called "a very enjoyable fantasy with the air of a modern classic" by The New York Times Book Review.

Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
An Unkindness of Ghosts

Rivers Solomon - Akashic Books
Pages: 340
Format: Paperback

"Harrowing and beautiful, this is SF at its best: showing the possible future but warning of the danger of bringing old prejudices and cruelties to that new world. While a story about enslaved people in space could be a one-note polemic, the fully rounded characters bring nuance...

Read More check catalog