Back Readings on Race & Racism | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Readings on Race & Racism  
Between the World and Me

Ta-Nehisi Coates - Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 152
Format: Print book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER | NATIONAL BOOK AWARD WINNER | NAACP IMAGE AWARD WINNER | PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST | NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST | NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review * O: The Oprah Magazine * The Washington...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Biased: Uncovering the Hidden Prejudice That Shapes What We See, Think, and Do

Jennifer L. Eberhardt PhD - Viking
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"A fascinating new book... [Dr. Jennifer Eberhardt is] a genius."--Trevor Noah, The Daily Show with Trevor Noah

"This book should be required reading for everyone."--Robin DiAngelo, author of White Fragility

As featured on CBS This Morning, NPR's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brown White Black: An American Family at the Intersection of Race, Gender, Sexuality, and Religion

Nishta J. Mehra - Picador
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Intimate and honest essays on motherhood, marriage, love, and acceptance

Brown, White, Black is a portrait of Nishta J. Mehra's family: her wife, who is white; her adopted son, who is black; and their experiences dealing with America's rigid ideas of race, gender, and sexuality....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Everything You Love Will Burn: Inside the Rebirth of White Nationalism in America

Vegas Tenold - Nation Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

The dark story of the shocking resurgence of white supremacist and nationalist groups, and their path to political power
Six years ago, when Vegas Tenold began reporting from the inner circle of three white power groups in America -- the KKK, the National Socialist Movement, and the Traditionalist...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Be an Antiracist

Ibram X. Kendi - One World
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the National Book Award-winning author of Stamped from the Beginning comes a "groundbreaking" (Time) approach to understanding and uprooting racism and inequality in our society...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor

Layla Saad - Sourcebooks
Pages: 256
Format: Hardcover

"Layla Saad moves her readers from their heads into their hearts, and ultimately, into their practice. We won't end white supremacy through an intellectual understanding alone; we must put that understanding into action." -- Robin DiAngelo, author of New York Times bestseller...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Motherhood So White: A Memoir of Race, Gender, and Parenting in America

Nefertiti Austin - Sourcebooks
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

The story every parent in America needs to read

The path to creating a family is almost never easy or straightforward. As a single African American woman, Nefertiti Austin knew her journey would be more challenging than most. Eager to finally join the motherhood ranks, Nefertiti...

Read More check catalog
 
 
One Goal: A Coach, a Team, and the Game That Brought a Divided Town Together

Amy Bass - Hachette Books
Pages: 328
Format: Hardcover

In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and Outcasts United, ONE GOAL tells the inspiring story of the soccer team in a town bristling with racial tension that united Somali refugees and multi-generation Mainers in their quest for state--and ultimately national--glory.When thousands of Somali...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Self-Portrait in Black and White: Unlearning Race

Thomas Chatterton Williams - W. W. Norton & Company
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

A meditation on race and identity from one of our most provocative cultural critics.

A reckoning with the way we choose to see and define ourselves, Self-Portrait in Black and White is the searching story of one American family's multigenerational transformation from what is called...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Tell Me Who You Are: Sharing Our Stories of Race, Culture, & Identity

Winona Guo - TarcherPerigee
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

An eye-opening exploration of race in AmericaIn this deeply inspiring book, Winona Guo and Priya Vulchi recount their experiences talking to people from all walks of life about race and identity on a cross-country tour of America. Spurred by the realization that they had nearly completed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Uncensored: My Life and Uncomfortable Conversations at the Intersection of Black and White America

Zachary Wood - Dutton
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Drawing upon his own powerful personal story, Zachary Wood shares his perspective on free speech, race, and dissenting opinions--in a world that sorely needs to learn to listen.

As the former president of the student group Uncomfortable Learning at his alma mater, Williams College,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Blacker: A Memoir in Essays

Damon Young - Ecco
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

From the cofounder of VerySmartBrothas.com, and one of the most read writers on race and culture at work today, a provocative and humorous memoir-in-essays that explores the ever-shifting definitions of what it means to be Black (and male) in America

For Damon Young, existing...

Read More check catalog
 
 
White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism

Robin J DiAngelo - Beacon Press
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

The New York Times best-selling book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when their assumptions about race are challenged, and how these reactions maintain racial inequality.

In this "vital, necessary, and beautiful book" (Michael Eric Dyson)...
Read More check catalog