Back Tuesday Book Club at Linebaugh | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Tuesday Book Club at Linebaugh  

2022 Book List and Meeting Dates

January 25:

Anxious People: A Novel

Fredrik Backman - Atria Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Looking at real estate isn’t usually a life-or-death situation, but an apartment open house becomes just that when a failed bank robber bursts in and takes a group of strangers hostage. The captives include a recently retired couple who relentlessly hunt down fixer-uppers to avoid the painful...
Read More check catalog
 
 

February 22:

Persuasion

Jane Austen - Macmillan Collector's Library
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

Persuasion narra la historia de una mujer madura, sensible y menospreciada, que anos despues de haber rechazado al hombre que amaba, persuadida por un mal consejo, ve como este reaparece en su vida, rico y honorable pero aun despechado. Una mujer que quiza por primera vez en la historia...
Read More check catalog
 
 

March 22:

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde - Penguin Classics Hardcover; Reprint edition
Format: Book

The Picture of Dorian Gray was a succès de scandale. Early readers were shocked by its hints at unspeakable sins and the book was later used as evidence against Wilde at the Old Bailey in 1895. Enthralled by his own exquisite portrait, Dorian Gray makes a Faustian bargain to sell...
Read More check catalog
 
 

April 26:

The Nickel Boys: A Novel

Colson Whitehead - Doubleday
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize, and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys...
Read More check catalog
 
 

May 24:

Hamnet: A novel

Maggie O'Farrell - Knopf
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A thrilling departure: A short, piercing, deeply moving new novel from the acclaimed author of I Am, I Am, I Am, about the death of Shakespeare's eleven-year-old son Hamnet--a name interchangeable with Hamlet in fifteenth-century Britain--and the years leading up to the production of his great...
Read More check catalog
 
 

June 28:

The Midnight Library: A Novel

Matt Haig - Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

'Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices... Would you have done anything different, if you had the chance...
Read More check catalog
 
 

July 26:

Ragtime

E.L. Doctorow - Random House; 1st edition
Format: Hardcover

This novel recounts the interrelated early 20th-century lives of the families of a New Rochelle manufacturer, an immigrant socialist, and a Harlem musician and their involvement with Evelyn Nesbit, Henry Ford, Houdini, Morgan, Freud, Zapata, and other period notables.,
Read More check catalog
 
 

August 23:

The Little Girls by Elizabeth Bowen 

September 27:

The Lincoln Highway: A Novel

Amor Towles - Viking
Format: Hardcover

In June, 1954, eighteen-year-old Emmett Watson is driven home to Nebraska by the warden of the juvenile work farm where he has just served fifteen months for involuntary manslaughter. His mother long gone, his father recently deceased, and the family farm foreclosed upon by the bank, Emmett's...
Read More check catalog
 
 

October 25:

The Girl They Left Behind: A Novel

Roxanne Veletzos - Atria Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation - perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key.

On a freezing night in January 1941,...
Read More check catalog
 
 

November 22:

The Yellow House: A Memoir

Sarah M. Broom

n/a
Read More check catalog
 
 

December 27:

The Snow Child: A Novel

Eowyn Ivey - Reagan Arthur Books
Pages: 389
Format: eBook

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall,...
Read More check catalog