Back Afternoon Book Club at Linebaugh | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Afternoon Book Club at Linebaugh  

2019 BOOK LIST & MEETING DATES

January 3:

Sisters First: Stories from Our Wild and Wonderful Life

Jenna Bush Hager · Grand Central Publishing
Pages: 256
Format: Book

Former first daughters Jenna Bush Hager and Barbara Pierce Bush share intimate stories and reflections from the Texas countryside to the storied halls of the White House and beyond.

Born into a political dynasty, Jenna and Barbara Bush grew up in the public eye. As small...

Read More check catalog
 
 

February 7:

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

LISA WINGATE · Ballantine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT - A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life...
Read More check catalog
 
 

March 7:

The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafon · Penguin Press; First Edition edition
Pages: 486
Format: Hardcover

Barcelona, 1945just after the war, a great world city lies in shadow, nursing its wounds, and a boy named Daniel awakes on his eleventh birthday to find that he can no longer remember his mothers face. To console his only child, Daniels widowed father, an antiquarian book dealer, initiates...
Read More check catalog
 
 

April 4:

Marguerite's Landing

June Hall McCash · Twin Oaks Press
Pages: 394
Format: Paperback

Marguerite's Landing is based on the true story of Marguerite Lossieux and Christophe Poulain du Bignon of Jekyll Island, Georgia. A widow with three children when they meet, Marguerite marries again and makes a home with her sea captain husband in Brittany, France--until the French...
Read More check catalog
 
 

May 2:

The Woman's Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote

ELAINE F WEISS · Viking
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

The nail-biting climax of one of the greatest political battles in American history: the ratification of the constitutional amendment that granted women the right to vote.

"Anyone interested in the history of our country's ongoing fight to put its founding values into practice--as...
Read More check catalog
 
 

June 6:

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn

Betty Smith · Harper Perennial Modern Classics
Pages: 528
Format: Paperback

A PBS Great American Read Top 100 Pick

The American classic about a young girl's coming-of-age at the turn of the century.

From the moment she entered the world, Francie needed to be made of stern stuff, for the often harsh life of Williamsburg demanded fortitude,...

Read More check catalog
 
 

July 11: *Note change in date due to holiday

Miss Kopp's Midnight Confessions

Amy Stewart · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

The best-selling author of Girl Waits with Gun and Lady Cop Makes Trouble continues her extraordinary journey into the real lives of the forgotten but fabulous Kopp sisters.

Deputy sheriff Constance Kopp is outraged to see young women brought into the Hackensack jail...
Read More check catalog
 
 

August 1:

Varina

Charles Frazier · HarperAudio
Format: Audiobook

In his powerful fourth novel, Charles Frazier returns to the time and place of Cold Mountain, vividly bringing to life the chaos and devastation of the Civil War

With her marriage prospects limited, teenage Varina Howell agrees to wed the much-older widower Jefferson Davis, with...

Read More check catalog
 
 

September 5:

The Other Einstein: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special...

Read More check catalog
 
 

October 3:

A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel

Amor Towles · Viking
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

More than half a million readers have fallen in love with the New York Times bestseller A Gentleman in Moscow

"How delightful that in an era as crude as ours this finely composed novel stretches out with old-World elegance." - The Washington Post

"'The...
Read More check catalog
 
 

November 7:

Carnegie's Maid: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the author of The Other Einstein, the mesmerizing tale of what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty.

Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She's not the experienced Irish maid who was hired to work in one of Pittsburgh's grandest households. She's a poor...

Read More check catalog
 
 

December 5:

In Farleigh Field: A Novel of World War II

Rhys Bowen · Lake Union Press
Pages: 396
Format: Print book

"Instantly absorbing, suspenseful, romantic, and stylish - like binge-watching a great British drama on Masterpiece Theater." - Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author

World War II comes to Farleigh Place, the ancestral home of Lord Westerham and his five...

Read More check catalog