Back Afternoon Book Club at Linebaugh | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Afternoon Book Club at Linebaugh  

2021 BOOK LIST & MEETING DATES

Please contact cghattas@rclstn.org if you have questions about this group and meeting locations, as some meetings may be via Zoom due to conditions.

January 7:

Code Name Hélène: A Novel

Ariel Lawhon · Doubleday
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

BASED ON THE THRILLING REAL-LIFE STORY OF SOCIALITE SPY NANCY WAKE, comes the newest feat of historical fiction from the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia, featuring the astonishing woman who killed a Nazi with her bare hands and went on to become one of the most decorated...
Read More check catalog
 
 

February 4:

Lady Clementine: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence during World War I and World War II: Clementine Churchill.

Read More check catalog
 
 

March 4:

Becoming Dr. Seuss: Theodor Geisel and the Making of an American Imagination

Brian Jay Jones · Dutton
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

The definitive, fascinating, all-reaching biography of Dr. Seuss

Dr. Seuss is a classic American icon. His work has defined our childhoods and the childhoods of our own children. More than twenty-five years after his death, his books continue to find new readers, now grossing over...
Read More check catalog
 
 

April 1:

A Rule Against Murder: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

Louise Penny · Minotaur; First American Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

What happened here last night isnt allowed, said Madame Dubois.It was such an extraordinary thing to say it stopped the ravenous Inspector Beauvoir from taking another bite of his roast beef on baguette.You have a rule against murder? he asked.I do. When my husband and I bought the Bellechasse...
Read More check catalog
 
 

May 6:

Sold on a Monday: A Novel

Kristina McMorris · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

From New York Times bestselling author Kristina McMorris comes another unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history.

2 CHILDREN FOR SALE

The sign is a last resort. It sits on a farmhouse porch in 1931, but could be found anywhere in an era of breadlines,...

Read More check catalog
 
 

June 3:

Lantern, The

Deborah Lawrenson · Harper; 1st Printing edition
Format: Hardcover

Set in the lush countryside of Provence, Deborah Lawrensons The Lantern is an atmospheric modern gothic tale of love, suspicion, and murder, in the tradition of Daphne du Mauriers Rebecca. Drawn to a wealthy older man, Eve embarks on a whirlwind romance that soon offers a new life and a new home—Les...
Read More check catalog
 
 

July 1: 

The Giver of Stars: A Novel

Jojo Moyes · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn't want it to end!"
- Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies

"Epic in scope and fiercely...
Read More check catalog
 
 

August 5:

The Paris Library: A Novel

Janet Skeslien Charles · Atria Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Based on the true World War II story of the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris, this is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife. Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious...
Read More check catalog
 
 

September 2:

The Mountain Between Us

Charles Martin · Broadway Books
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback

Excerpt. Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.
Read More check catalog
 
 

October 7:

Magpie Murders: A Novel

Anthony Horowitz · Harper
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

"Magpie Murders is a double puzzle for puzzle fans, who don't often get the classicism they want from contemporary thrillers." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times

*A New York Times bestseller

*#1 Indie Next Pick

*NPR best book of 2017

*Amazon best book...

Read More check catalog
 
 

November 4:

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery

Alan Bradley · Bantam
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback

Winner of the CRIME WRITERS' ASSOCIATION DEBUT DAGGER AWARD and the AGATHA AND DILYS AWARD - "A wickedly clever story, a dead-true and original voice" - Laurie R. King

It is the summer of 1950-and at the once-grand mansion of Buckshaw, young Flavia de Luce, an aspiring...
Read More check catalog
 
 

December 2:

The Story Keeper

Lisa Wingate · Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Format: Hardcover

"Not since To Kill a Mockingbird has a story impacted me like this." -- COLLEEN COBLE, USA Today bestselling author of Seagrass PierWingate is, quite simply, a master storyteller. Her story-within-a-story, penned with a fine, expressive style, will captivate writers and nonwriters...
Read More check catalog