10 To Try, Children: Fantasy or Fairy Tale | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  10 To Try, Children: Fantasy or Fairy Tale  
Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds

Samira Ahmed - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

On the day of a rare super blue blood moon eclipse, twelve-year-old Amira and her little brother, Hamza, can't stop their bickering while attending a special exhibit on medieval Islamic astronomy. While stargazer Amira is wowed by the amazing gadgets, a bored Hamza wanders off, stumbling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Girl and the Ghost

Hanna Alkaf - HarperCollins
Format: Hardcover

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies. I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother's legacy. I am yours to command. Suraya is delighted...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Serpent's Secret

Sayantani DasGupta - Scholastic Press
Format: Hardcover

MEET KIRANMALA:INTERDIMENSIONAL DEMON SLAYER(Only she doesn't know it yet.) On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey . . . until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It's Not Little Red Riding Hood

Funk, Josh - TWO LIONS
Format: Book

Little Red likes to play by the rules. So when the narrator comes along and asks her to follow the story set out in her fairy tale, she grabs the basket for Grandma and goes. After all, she loves her grandma. But unfortunately, none of the other characters are quite what they’re expecting.…
Read More check catalog
 
 
Federico and the Wolf

Gomez, Rebecca J. - CLARION BOOKS

Clever Federico outsmarts el lobo in this fresh and funny Mexican-American take on Little Red Riding Hood.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadows of Sherwood

Kekla Magoon - Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: Hardcover

The night her parents disappear, twelve-year-old Robyn Loxley must learn to fend for herself. Her home, Nott City, has been taken over by a harsh governor, Ignomus Crown. After fleeing for her life, Robyn has no choice but to join a band of strangers-misfit kids, each with their own special...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears

Tehlor Kay Mejia - Rick Riordan Presents
Format: Hardcover

Space-obsessed 12-year-old Paola Santiago and her two best friends, Emma and Dante, know the rule: Stay away from the river. It's all they've heard since a schoolmate of theirs drowned a year ago. Pao is embarrassed to admit that she has been told to stay away for even longer than...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Natalie Portman's Fables

Natalie Portman - Feiwel & Friends
Format: Hardcover

From realizing that there is no "right" way to live to respecting our planet and learning what really makes someone a winner, the messages at the heart of Natalie Portman's Fables are modern takes on timeless life lessons. Told with a playful, kid-friendly voice and perfectly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Dreamweavers

G. Z. Schmidt - Holiday House
Format: Hardcover

Since their parents' strange disappearance several years ago, 12-year-old twins Mei and Yun have been raised by their grandfather, who makes the best mooncakes around using a secret ingredient.On the day of the Mid-Autumn Harvest Festival, the emperor sends his son to sample Grandpa's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Three Ninja Pigs

Corey Rosen Schwartz - Putnam Juvenile
Format: Hardcover

Practice makes perfect in this kick-butt fractured fairy tale.Why does this wolf think he can come to town and blow all the houses down? These three little pigs just aren't going to take it from that bully anymore! The first starts aikido lessons---he'll make mincemeat out of that...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

Liesl Shurtliff - Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. New York Times Bestselling author Liesl Shurtliff "spins words into gold [Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor winner]."In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tell the Truth, B.B. Wolf

Judy Sierra - Knopf Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Big Bad Wolf’s first visit to his local library (as related in Mind Your Manners, B.B. Wolf) was such a success that he returns to tell his version of “The Three Little Pigs.” His outrageous spin on the tale draws skeptical remarks from his audience: “Isn’t...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sisters of the Neversea

Cynthia L Smith
Format: Book

In this magical, modern twist on Peter Pan, stepsisters Lily and Wendy are spirited away to Neverland by a mysterious boy and must find a way back to the family they love.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

Anne Ursu - Walden Pond Press
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed author of The Real Boy and The Lost Girl comes a wondrous and provocative fantasy about a kingdom beset by monsters, a mysterious school, and a girl caught in between them.If no one notices Marya Lupu, is likely because of her brother, Luka. And that's because of what...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Falling for Rapunzel

Leah Wilcox - G.P. Putnam's Sons
Format: Print book

"The course of true love never did run smooth." --William ShakespeareWhen the prince spies Rapunzel high in her tower, he's convinced she is the girl of his dreams. Of course he thinks he can save her the traditional way, but this is no traditional Rapunzel.She throws down...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
Simple News Pro
Connect with us: Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram
This email is a service provided by ReadingHouseLLC.com
If you no longer wish to receive emails please unsubscribe here.
©  2014 ReadingHouseLLC.com All Rights Reserved.
Simple News Pro