10 To Try, Adult: Fantasy or Fairy Tale | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  10 To Try, Adult: Fantasy or Fairy Tale  
The Bear and the Nightingale: A Novel

Katherine Arden - Del Rey
Format: Print book

A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman's myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Snow Child: A Novel

Eowyn Ivey - Reagan Arthur Books
Format: Book

Alaska, 1920: a brutal place to homestead, and especially tough for recent arrivals Jack and Mabel. Childless, they are drifting apart--he breaking under the weight of the work of the farm; she crumbling from loneliness and despair. In a moment of levity during the season's first snowfall,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Men Are Frogs

Saranna DeWylde - Zebra
Format: Paperback

Ever After, Missouri, is the unlikely source of the world's magic, but without love--magic's secret ingredient--the well is running dry. Resident fairy godmothers Petunia, Jonquil, and Bluebonnet are on the job! Nudging couples toward romance might do the trick, unless their fairy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Merry Spinster: Tales of Everyday Horror

Mallory Ortberg - Holt Paperbacks
Format: Paperback

A collection of darkly playful stories based on classic folk and fairy tales (but with a feminist spin) that find the sinister in the familiar and the familiar in the alien -- from Mallory Ortberg, author of Texts From Jane Eyre.From Mallory Ortberg comes a collection of darkly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A court of thorns and roses

Sarah J Maas - Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Format: Hardcover

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERPerfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hiddensee: A Novel

Gregory Maguire - William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the beloved #1 New York Times bestseller Wicked, the magical story of a toymaker, a nutcracker, and a legend remade . . .Gregory Maguire returns with an inventive novel inspired by a timeless holiday legend, intertwining the story of the famous Nutcracker with the life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbury Carol: A Novel

JOSH MALERMAN - Del Rey Books
Format: Hardcover

The Bram Stoker Award-nominated author of Bird Box returns with a haunting tale of love, redemption, and murder. Carol Evers is a woman with a dark secret. She has died many times . . . but her many deaths are not final: They are comas, a waking slumber indistinguishable from death, each...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Crane Wife

Patrick Ness - Penguin Press
Format: Hardcover

A magical novel, based on a Japanese folk tale, that imagines how the life of a broken-hearted man is transformed when he rescues an injured white crane that has landed in his backyard.George Duncan is an American living and working in London. At forty-eight, he owns a small print shop,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Spinning Silver

NAOMI NOVIK - Del Rey
Format: Hardcover

A fresh and imaginative retelling of the Rumpelstiltskin fairytale from the bestselling author of Uprooted, called "a very enjoyable fantasy with the air of a modern classic" by The New York Times Book Review.Miryem is the daughter and granddaughter of moneylenders,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tiger's Wife: A Novel

TÉA Obreht - Random House
Format: Print book

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST bullNEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLERIn a Balkan country mending from war Natalia a young doctor is compelled to unravel the mysterious circumstances surrounding her beloved grandfatherrsquos recent death Searching for clues she turns to his worn copy ofThe Jungle Bookand...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boy, Snow, Bird: A Novel

Helen Oyeyemi - Riverhead Books
Format: Hardcover

As seen on the cover of the New York Times Book Review, where it was described as "gloriously unsettling ... evoking Toni Morrison, Haruki Murakami, Angela Carter, Edgar Allan Poe, Gabriel Garca Mrquez, Chris Abani and even Emily Dickinson," and already one of the year's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Ever Afters: The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother

Danielle Teller - William Morrow
Format: Hardcover

In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella's "evil" stepmother.We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we?As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess...
Read More check catalog
 
 
For the Wolf

Hannah Whitten
Format: Paperback

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods. Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Alif the Unseen

G. Willow Wilson - Grove Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In an unnamed Middle Eastern security state, a young Arab-Indian hacker shields his clientsdissidents, outlaws, Islamists, and other watched groupsfrom surveillance and tries to stay out of trouble. He goes by Alifthe first letter of the Arabic alphabet, and a convenient handle to hide...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How to Fracture a Fairy Tale

Jane Yolen - Tachyon Publications
Format: Paperback

"[Yolen is] the Aesop of the twentieth century" -- The New York TimesFantasy legend Jane Yolen (The Emerald Circus The Devil's Arithmetic) , adored by generations of readers of all ages, delights with these effortlessly wide-ranging fairy tales, myths,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
Simple News Pro
Connect with us: Facebook Twitter YouTube Instagram
This email is a service provided by ReadingHouseLLC.com
If you no longer wish to receive emails please unsubscribe here.
©  2014 ReadingHouseLLC.com All Rights Reserved.
Simple News Pro