Back 10 To Try, Teen: Graphic Novels | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  10 To Try, Teen: Graphic Novels  
Anya's Ghost

Vera Brosgol - First Second
Format: Print book

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn't kidding about the "Forever" part . . . Of all the things Anya expected to find at the bottom of an old well, a new friend was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who's been dead for a century. Falling down a well is bad enough,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Unwanted: Stories of the Syrian Refugees

Don Brown - Clarion Books
Format: Hardcover

Sibert Honor Medalist · New York Public Library Best Of 2018 · The Horn Books Fanfare 2018 list · Kirkus Best Books of 2018 · YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction WinnerIn the tradition of two-time Sibert honor winner Don Browns critically acclaimed, full-color nonfiction graphic novels The Great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir

- Balzer + Bray
Format: Paperback

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life - perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft

Joe Hill - IDW
Format: Hardcover

Locke & Key tells of Keyhouse, an unlikely New England mansion, with fantastic doors that transform all who dare to walk through them.... and home to a hate-filled and relentless creature that will not rest until it forces open the most terrible door of them all...! Acclaimed suspense...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Banned Book Club

Hyun Sook Kim - Iron Circus Comics
Format: Paperback

A Junior Library Guild Selection When Kim Hyun Sook started college in 1983 she was ready for her world to open up. After acing her exams and sort-of convincing her traditional mother that it was a good idea for a woman to go to college, she looked forward to soaking up the ideas of Western...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey, Kiddo

Jarrett J. Krosoczka - Graphix
Format: Hardcover

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I Am Alfonso Jones

TONY MEDINA - Tu Books
Format: Paperback

Named to the 2018 Top Ten Great Graphic Novels for Teens list (Young Adult Library Services Association) and the New York Public Library's list of Best Books for Teens.Alfonso Jones can't wait to play the role of Hamlet in his school's hip-hop rendition of the classic Shakespearean...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grand Theft Horse

G NERI - Lee & Low Books
Format: Hardcover

Gail Ruffu was a rookie trainer known for her unconventional methods and ability to handle dangerous horses. When she became part owner of an untamed thoroughbred named Urgent Envoy, everything changed. After Urgent Envoy showed real promise, her co-owners forced Gail to speed up training...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Oracle Code

Marieke Nijkamp - DC Ink
Format: Paperback

The #1 New York Times bestselling author Marieke Nijkamp (This Is Where It Ends) and artist Manuel Preitano unveil a graphic novel that explores the dark corridors of Barbara Gordon's first mystery: herself.After a gunshot leaves her paralyzed, Barbara Gordon enters the Arkham...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thud

Mikael Ross - Fantagraphics
Format: Paperback

In this YA graphic novel, a boy with developmental disabilities finds his world turned upside down after his mother has a stroke and he realizes for the first time he's on his own. A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection When Noel's mother has a stroke, his world is turned...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pumpkinheads

Rainbow Rowell - First Second
Format: Paperback

In Pumpkinheads, beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Rainbow Rowell and Eisner Award-winning artist Faith Erin Hicks have teamed up to create this tender and hilarious story about two irresistible teens discovering what it means to leave behind a place -- and a person...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nimona

Noelle Stevenson - HarperTeen
Format: Print book

A National Book Award Longlist TitleThe graphic novel debut from rising star Noelle Stevenson, based on her beloved and critically acclaimed web comic, which Slate awarded its Cartoonist Studio Prize, calling it "a deadpan epic."Nemeses! Dragons! Science! Symbolism! All these...
Read More check catalog
 
 
They Called Us Enemy

George Takei - Top Shelf Productions
Format: Paperback

New York Times Bestseller!A stunning graphic memoir recounting actor/author/activist George Takei's childhood imprisoned within American concentration camps during World War II. Experience the forces that shaped an American icon -- and America itself -- in this gripping tale of courage,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This One Summer

Mariko Tamaki - First Second
Format: Paperback

A New York Times bestsellerA 2015 Caldecott Honor BookA 2015 Michael L. Printz Honor BookAn Eisner Award WinnerEvery summer, Rose goes with her mom and dad to a lake house in Awago Beach. It's their getaway, their refuge. Rosie's friend Windy is always there, too, like the little sister...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dragon Hoops

Gene Luen Yang - First Second
Format: Hardcover

In his latest graphic novel, Dragon Hoops, New York Times bestselling author Gene Luen Yang turns the spotlight on his life, his family, and the high school where he teaches.Gene understands stories -- comic book stories, in particular. Big action. Bigger thrills. And the hero...
Read More check catalog