Back 8 Aloud- Animals | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  8 Aloud- Animals  
Arabel's raven

Aiken, Joan - Clarion
Format: Book

A legendary author and illustrator team up for a trio of funny tales about a girl and her pet raven.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The One and Only Ivan

Katherine Applegate - Harper
Format: Book

Winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal and a #1 New York Times bestseller, this stirring and unforgettable novel from renowned author Katherine Applegate celebrates the transformative power of unexpected friendships. Inspired by the true story of a captive gorilla known as Ivan, this illustrated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mr. Popper's Penguins

Richard Atwater - Little
Format: Hardcover

Mr. Popper's Penguins is one of the handful of American books for children that has attained the status of a classic. First published in 1938, this story of a housepainter who is sent a male penguin by the great Admiral Drake, and who, thanks to the arrival of a female penguin, soon has twelve...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Jeanne Birdsall - Knopf
Format: Print book

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager. This summer the Penderwick sisters have a wonderful...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The World According to Humphrey

Betty G Birney - Puffin Books
Format: Paperback

The first book in the series about everyone's favorite classroom pet!You can learn a lot about life by observing another species. That's what Humphrey was told when he was first brought to Room 26. And boy, is it true! In addition to having FUN-FUN-FUN in class, each weekend this...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mouse and the Motorcycle

Beverly Cleary - Avon Books
Format: Paperback

In this imaginative adventure from Newbery Medal-winning author Beverly Cleary, a young mouse named Ralph is thrown into a world of excitement when a boy and his shiny toy motorcycle check in to the Mountain View Inn. This timeless classic now features a foreword written by New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mercy Watson to the Rescue

Kate DiCamillo - Candlewick Press
Format: Print book

It's the best thing since buttered toast - Mercy Watson in paperback! To Mr. and Mrs. Watson, Mercy is not just a pig - she's a porcine wonder. And to the good-natured Mercy, the Watsons are an excellent source of buttered toast, not to mention that buttery-toasty feeling...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Because of Winn-Dixie

Kate Dicamillo - Candlewick Press, 2015.
Format: Print book

A classic tale by Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo, America's beloved storyteller.One summer's day, ten-year-old India Opal Buloni goes down to the local supermarket for some groceries - and comes home with a dog. But Winn-Dixie is no ordinary dog. It's because of Winn-Dixie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Father's Dragon

Ruth Stiles Gannett - Random House Books for Young Readers; English Language edition
Format: Paperback

When Elmer Elevator hears about the plight of an overworked and underappreciated baby flying dragon, he stows away on a ship and travels to Wild Island to rescue the dragon.This book has been selected as a Common Core State Standards Text Exemplar (Grades 2-3, Stories) in Appendix B
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery

Deborah Howe - Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

THIS book is written by Harold. His full time occupation is dog. He lives with Mr. and Mrs. X (here called Monroe) and their sons Toby and Pete. Also sharing the home are a cat named Chester and a rabbit named Bunnicula. It is because of Bunnicula that Harold turned to writing. Someone...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller - Random House Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

An uplifting story of a girl discovering a secret family history when she makes a deal with a magical tiger from her grandmother's stories, the Korean version of "Once upon a time..."Some stories refuse to stay bottled up...When Lily and her family move in with her sick...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Song for a Whale

Kelly, Lynne - YEARLING
Format: Book

In the spirit of modern-day classics like Fish in a Tree and Counting by 7s comes the story of a deaf girl's connection to a whale whose song can't be heard by his species, and the journey she takes to help him. From fixing the class computer to repairing old radios, twelve-year-old...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pax

Sara Pennypacker - Balzer + Bray
Format: Hardcover

National Book Award Longlist * New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the YearFrom bestselling and award-winning author Sara Pennypacker comes a beautifully wrought, utterly compelling novel about the powerful relationship between a boy and his fox. Pax is destined to become...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Where the Red Fern Grows

Wilson Rawls - Delacorte
Format: Print book

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man's best friend. This special edition includes new material, including a note to readers from Newbery Medal winner and Printz Honor winner Clare Vanderpool,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cat Who Came In off the Roof

Annie M G Schmidt - Yearling Books
Format: Print book

A charming Dutch classic that withstands the test of time worldwide and will appeal to readers young and old - and dog and cat lovers alike! "A charming, refreshing, and funny treat." - Kirkus Reviews, StarredShy reporter Mr. Tibble is close to losing his job because he only...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Stuart Little

E. B. White - Harper Collins
Format: Hardcover

A hardcover edition of this treasured story, for which Garth Williams's original black-and-white line drawings for the jacket of Stuart Little have been colorized by the celebrated illustrator Rosemary Wells. Stuart Little is no ordinary mouse. Born to a family of humans, he lives in New York...
Read More check catalog