Back Biographies | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Biographies  
The Most Beautiful: My Life with Prince

Mayte Garcia · Hachette Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

At the one-year anniversary of his death, legendary musician Prince's first wife shares a uniquely intimate, candid, and revelatory look inside the personal and professional life of one of the world's most beloved icons.

In The...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Sally Bedell Smith · Random House
Pages: 596
Format: Hardcover

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen - perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British...
Read More check catalog
 
 
In such good company : eleven years of laughter, mayhem, and fun in the sandbox

Carol Burnett · Crown Archetype
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

Comedy legend Carol Burnett tells the hilarious behind-the-scenes story of her iconic weekly variety series, The Carol Burnett Show.

Who but Carol Burnett herself has the timing, talent, and wit to pull back the curtain on the Emmy-Award winning show that made television...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reagan Rising: The Decisive Years, 1976-1980

Craig Shirley · Broadside Books
Pages: 448
Format: Print book

With a Foreword by Jon MeachamNew York Times bestselling biographer Craig Shirley charts Ronald Reagan's astonishing rise from the ashes of his lost 1976 presidential bid to overwhelming victory in 1980. American conservatism - and the nation itself - would never be the same.In 1976,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Road to Camelot: Inside the Kennedy Campaign

Tom Oliphant · Simon & Schuster
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

"A must-read for fans of presidential history." - USA TODAY

"Splendid ... a gripping, authoritative campaign history." - The Boston Globe

"Terrific ... a tougher and more balanced account of the long campaign than anybody's written...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness

Paula Poundstone · Algonquin Books
Pages: 290
Format: Hardcover

"A remarkable journey. I laughed. I cried. I got another cat." - Lily Tomlin

"Paula Poundstone is the funniest human being I have ever known." - Peter Sagal, host of Wait Wait . . . Don't Tell Me! and author of The Book of Vice

"Is there a secret...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Angela Merkel: Europe's Most Influential Leader

Matthew Qvortrup · The Overlook Press
Pages: 367
Format: Hardcover

The illuminating and in-depth biography of Angela Merkel, using exclusive new sources and research to tell how the daughter of a clergyman from East Germany rose to become one of the most powerful women in the world

This is the fascinating tale of Angela Merkel's political ascent,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Being Elvis

Ray Connolly · Liveright Publishing Corp
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

On the fortieth anniversary of Elvis Presley's death comes this rocking biography of an iconic artist who fundamentally transformed American culture.

Elvis Presley is a giant figure in American popular culture, a man whose talent and fame were matched only by his later excesses...

Read More check catalog
 
 
American Ulysses: A Life of Ulysses S. Grant

Ronald C White · Random House
Pages: 826
Format: Print book

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * From the author of A. Lincoln, a major new biography of one of America's greatest generals - and most misunderstood presidents

In his time, Ulysses S. Grant was routinely grouped with George Washington and Abraham Lincoln in the "Trinity...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future

Ashlee Vance · Ecco Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller - Named One of the Best Books of the Year by The Wall Street Journal, NPR, Audible and Amazon
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Higher Loyalty: Truth, Lies, and Leadership

JAMES COMEY · Flatiron Books
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In his forthcoming book, former FBI director James Comey shares his never-before-told experiences from some of the highest-stakes situations of his career in the past two decades of American government, exploring what good, ethical leadership looks like, and how it drives sound decisions....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Unified: How Our Unlikely Friendship Gives Us Hope for a Divided Country

Tim Scott · Tyndale Momentum
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

In a divided country desperate for unity, two sons of South Carolina show how different races, life experiences, and pathways can lead to a deep friendship -- even in a state that was rocked to its core by the 2015 Charleston church shooting.Tim Scott, an African-American US senator, and Trey...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

J D Vance · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, NAMED BY THE TIMES AS ONE OF "6 BOOKS TO HELP UNDERSTAND TRUMP'S WIN" AND SOON TO BE A MAJOR-MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

"You will not read a more important book about America this year." - The Economist

"A...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Iris Apfel: Accidental Icon

Iris Apfel · Harper Design
Pages: 176
Format: Hardcover

"Iris is one of my favorite subjects to photograph. She has four eyes in front and two eyes behind, and that's why she can see things in a round-about way. She flirts with us just enough to make us fall madly in love with her, as she once did to her beloved husband Carl. In the midst...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Hey Mom: Stories for My Mother, But You Can Read Them Too

LOUIE ANDERSON · Touchstone
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

With wry wit and poignant humor, Louie Anderson, New York Times bestselling author and three-time Emmy Award-winning comedian starring in Zach Galifianakis's Baskets, shares his journey of turning life's challenges into joy as well as the wisdom he's gained from his mother.

Louie...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just the Funny Parts: My 30 Years on the Hollywood Jungle Gym

Nell Scovell · Dey Street Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

Introduction by Sheryl SandbergIf Bossypants and Lean In got drunk and hooked up, their sloppy-sex-love-child would be this juicy and insightful memoir which blows the doors off the male dominated writers' room and offers a scathingly funny account of Hollywood's sexual politics over the last...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unmasked

ANDREW LLOYD WEBBER · Harper
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Published to coincide with his seventieth birthday, a memoir by revered, award-winning composer, producer, and impresario of some of the most recognized musicals in the history of theater, including The Phantom of the Opera, Cats, and Evita. In Unmasked, internationally acclaimed composer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing Light: Michelle Obama Through the Lens of a White House Photographer

TEN SPEED PRESS. · Ten Speed Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A collection of striking and intimate photographs of Michelle Obama - many never before seen - coupled with personal reflections and behind-the-scenes stories from Official White House Photographer Amanda Lucidon, presented in a deluxe format.

Michelle Obama is one of the most admired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood

Trevor Noah · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The compelling, inspiring, and comically sublime story of one man's coming-of-age, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Michiko Kakutani, New York...
Read More check catalog