Back Jessica - Summer Reading | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Jessica - Summer Reading  
The book of speculation

Erika Swyler · St. Martin's Press, 2015.
Pages: 339
Format: Print book

"Dazzling...[a] quirky, raucous, and bewitching family saga." --Sara Gruen, author of Water for ElephantsSimon Watson, a young librarian, lives alone in a house that is slowly crumbling toward the Long Island Sound. His parents are long dead. His mother, a circus mermaid who made...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane

Katherine Howe · Voice; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

A fresh present-day story infused with an original take on popular history. Forget broomsticks and pointy hats here are witches that could well be walking among us today. This debut novel flows with poetic charm and eloquence that achieves high literary merit while concocting a gripping...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

Susannah Cahalan · Simon & Schuster; Reprint edition
Format: Hardcover

One day in 2009, twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a strange hospital room, strapped to her bed, under guard, and unable to move or speak. A wristband marked her as a flight risk, and her medical records—chronicling a month-long hospital stay of which she had no memory...
Read More check catalog
 
 
But maybe we're wrong : thinking about the present as if it were the past.

Charles Klosterman · Blue Rider Press
Pages: 272
Format: Print book

"But What If We re Wrong? " visualizes the contemporary world as it will appear to those who'll perceive it as the distant past. Chuck Klosterman asks questions that are profound in their simplicity: How certain are we about our understanding of gravity? How certain are we about...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Witchfinder's Sister

Beth Underdown · Ballantine
Pages: 336
Format: Print book

A thrilling debut novel, a literary historical thriller based on the devastating witch hunts in 1640s England conducted by "Witchfinder General" Matthew Hopkins - for readers of Sarah Waters and Katherine Howe. Before Salem, there was Manningtree. . . . "This summer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wicked Lovely

Melissa Marr · HarperCollins; Reprint edition

Rule Dont stare at invisible faeriesAislinn has always seen faeries Powerful and dangerous they walk hidden in mortal world Aislinn fears their crueltyespecially if they learn of her Sightand wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teensRule Dont speak to invisible faeriesNow...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Best Friend's Exorcism: A Novel

Grady Hendrix · Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Pages: 1
Format: Audiobook

Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fifth grade, when they bonded over a shared love of ET, roller-skating parties, and scratch-and-sniff stickers. But when they arrive at high school, things change. Gretchen begins to act . . . different. And as the strange coincidences and bizarre...
Read More check catalog