Back Thank you! Gratitude in Picture Books | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Thank you! Gratitude in Picture Books  

Titles selected by Children's Librarian Sarah Rodriguez.

Thank You, Mr. Panda

Steve Antony · Scholastic Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Generous Mr. Panda is giving away presents to all his animal friends, including a mouse, an octopus, an elephant, and a lemur, but they aren't being very grateful about the gifts they receive. It may be because the presents aren't quite right. Mouse receives a sweater that's too big, and Octopus...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Look and Be Grateful

Tomie dePaola · Holiday House
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In this meditative and joyful book, a young boy awakens with the dawn, opens his eyes and looks closely at his world. He admires all that surrounds him, large and small, from the radiant sun to a tiny, but exquisite, lady bug. "Today is today, and it is a gift," writes Tomie dePaola....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thank You, Omu!

Oge Mora · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn as well as for the Thanksgiving season, a generous woman is rewarded by her community.Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew! One by one, they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Thankful Book

Todd Parr · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

I am thankful for music because it makes me want to dance.I am thankful for my feet because they help me run and play.I am thankful for kisses because they make me feel loved.Todd Parr's bestselling books have taught kids about unconditional love, respecting the earth, facing fears,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Last Stop on Market Street

Matt Pena · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Winner of the 2016 Newbery MedalA 2016 Caldecott Honor BookA 2016 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor BookA New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2015Every Sunday after church, CJ and his grandma ride the bus across town....
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga

TRACI SORELL · Charlesbridge
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

The Cherokee community is grateful for blessings and challenges that each season brings. This is modern Native American life as told by an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation.The word otsaliheliga (oh-jah-LEE-hay-lee-gah) is used by members of the Cherokee Nation to express gratitude....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thankful

Eileen Spinelli · Zonderkidz
Pages: 32
Format: Print book

Thankful, by bestselling and award-winning children's author Eileen Spinelli, combines charming rhymes and whimsical illustrations to convey the importance of being thankful for everyday blessings. Like the gardener thankful for every green sprout, and the fireman, for putting the fire...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bear Says Thanks

Karma Wilson · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

What better way for Bear to say thanks, than to have a big dinner with all his friends!Bear has come up with the perfect way to say thanks - a nice big dinner! When Bear decides to throw a feast, his friends show up one by one with different platters of delicious food to share. There's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of Saying Thanks

Douglas Wood · Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Perhaps you'd like to know a secret, one of the happiest ones of all. You will surely find it for yourself one day. You'll discover it all on your own, maybe when you least expect it. If you've not yet discovered the secret of saying thanks, it's waiting for you. The secret...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thank You, Bees

TONI YULY · Candlewick
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

This gentle message of gratitude and connection, enhanced by beautifully simple collage illustrations, makes for a charming gift.Sun gives us light.Thank you, sun.Clouds bring the rain that makes puddles to splash in. Sheep give us wool for our sweaters and hats. The honey that sweetens...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It Could Always Be Worse: A Yiddish Folk Tale

Margot Zemach · Paw Prints 2007-06-28
Format: Library Binding

Once upon a time a poor unfortunate man lived with his mother, his wife, and his six children in a one-room hut.Because they were so crowded, the children often fought and the man and his wife argued. When the poor man was unable to stand it any longer, he ran to the Rabbi for help.As he follows...
Read More check catalog