Back 2020 Great Teen Books | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  2020 Great Teen Books  
Clap When You Land

Elizabeth Acevedo · HarperTeen
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.Camino Rios lives for the summers when...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Raybearer

Jordan Ifueko · Amulet Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent - perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you've sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy? Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Not Free

Traci Chee · HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

"All around me, my friends are talking, joking, laughing. Outside is the camp, the barbed wire, the guard towers, the city, the country that hates us. We are not free. But we are not alone." From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Should See Me in a Crown

Leah Johnson · Scholastic Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Becky Albertalli meets Jenny Han in a smart, hilarious, black girl magic, own voices rom-com by a staggeringly talented new writer.Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a plan...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Calamity Jane

Cynthia Hand · HarperTeen
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

Hold on to your hats: The authors who brought you the New York Times bestseller My Plain Jane, which BOOKLIST praised as "delightfully deadpan" (starred review) and Publishers Weekly called "a clever, romantic farce" (starred review) , are back with another irreverent...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Charming as a Verb

Ben Philippe · Balzer Bray
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. Henri "Halti" Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Super Fake Love Song

David Yoon · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

When Sunny Dae--self-proclaimed total nerd--meets Cirrus Soh, he can't believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakes Sunny's older brother Gray's bedroom--with its electric guitars and rock posters--for Sunny's own, he sort of, kind of, accidentally winds...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Darius the Great Deserves Better

Adib Khorram · Dial Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It's everything he's ever wanted--but what if he deserves better?Darius Kellner is having a bit of a year. Since his trip to Iran...
Read More check catalog
 
 
We Are Not from Here

Jenny Torres Sanchez · Philomel Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events.Pulga has his dreams. Chico has his grief.Pequeña has her pride. And these three teens have one another. But none of them have illusions about the town they've grown up in and the dangers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Justyce

Nic Stone · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

The stunning sequel to the #1 New York Times bestseller Dear Martin. Incarcerated teen Quan writes letters to Justyce about his experiences in the American juvenile justice system. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.In the highly anticipated sequel to her New York Times...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Cousins

Karen M. McManus · Delacorte Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each another, and they've never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were born. So when they each receive a letter inviting them to work at her island resort for the summer,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Queen's Assassin

Melissa de la Cruz · G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

Caledon Holt...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Banned Book Club

Hyun Sook Kim · Iron Circus Comics
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

A Junior Library Guild Selection When Kim Hyun Sook started college in 1983 she was ready for her world to open up. After acing her exams and sort-of convincing her traditional mother that it was a good idea for a woman to go to college, she looked forward to soaking up the ideas of Western...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Loop

Ben Oliver · Chicken House
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

Life inside The Loop-the futuristic death row for teens under eighteen-is one long repetitive purgatory. But when news of the encroaching chaos in the outside world reaches the inmates and disorder begins to strike, the prison becomes the least of their worries. Perfect for fans of The Fifth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Enigma Game

Elizabeth Wein · Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

The hair stood up at the back of my neck. Those letters meant something. And with the cipher machine, I'd worked it out myself. 1940. Facing a seemingly endless war, fifteen-year-old Louisa Adair wants to fight back, make a difference, do something-anything to escape the Blitz and the ghosts...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Punching the Air

Ibi Zoboi · Balzer Bray
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds, Walter Dean Myers, and Elizabeth Acevedo. The story that I thought...
Read More check catalog