Staff Picks | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks  
The Enchanted Hour: The Miraculous Power of Reading Aloud in the Age of Distraction

Meghan Cox Gurdon · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A Wall Street Journal writer's conversation-changing look at how reading aloud makes adults and children smarter, happier, healthier, more successful and more closely attached, even as technology pulls in the other direction.

A miraculous alchemy occurs when one person reads to another,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.

Sleep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Just mercy : a story of justice and redemption

Bryan Stevenson · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times * The Washington Post * The Boston Globe * The Seattle Times * Esquire * Time

Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Nonfiction | Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Bright River: A Novel

Liz Moore · Riverhead Books
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Two sisters travel the same streets,though their lives couldn't be more different. Then one of them goes missing.In a Philadelphia neighborhood rocked by the opioid crisis, two once-inseparable sisters find themselves at odds. One, Kacey, lives on the streets in the vise of addiction....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exhalation: Stories

Ted Chiang · Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From an award-winning science fiction writer (whose short story "The Story of Your Life" was the basis for the Academy Award-nominated movie Arrival) , the long-awaited new collection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Trust Exercise: A Novel

Susan Choi · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"Brilliant and challenging . . . An uncanny evocation of the not-so-distant past."
-- Tom Perrotta, New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Fletcher

Pulitzer finalist Susan Choi's multipart, narrative-upending novel in which what happens in high school...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Disappearing Earth: A novel

Julia Phillips · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Anthony Marra's A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife: the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion a propulsive, evocative, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer.

One...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era

Gareth Russell · Atria Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

In this original and meticulously researched narrative history, the author of the "stunning" (The Sunday Times) Young and Damned and Fair uses the sinking of the Titanic as a prism through which to examine the end of the Edwardian era and the seismic shift...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
Simple News Pro
Connect with us: Facebook Twitter Instagram
This email is a service provided by ReadingHouseLLC.com, 6525 Waterford Circle, Sarasota, FL 34238.
If you no longer wish to receive emails please unsubscribe here.
©  2014 ReadingHouseLLC.com All Rights Reserved.
Simple News Pro