Back Staff Picks | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Staff Picks  
Perfecting Patience: Buddhist Techniques to Overcome Anger

The Dalai Lama · Shambhala
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

In the days of extremism and severely divisive belief systems, learning patience and compassion practices (from the modern master of patience and compassion) is more valuable than ever.

All of the world's major religions emphasize the importance of love, compassion, and tolerance....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Enchanted Hour: The Miraculous Power of Reading Aloud in the Age of Distraction

Meghan Cox Gurdon · Harper
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A Wall Street Journal writer's conversation-changing look at how reading aloud makes adults and children smarter, happier, healthier, more successful and more closely attached, even as technology pulls in the other direction.

A miraculous alchemy occurs when one person reads to another,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Petal of the Sea

Isabel Allende
Format: Book

This epic novel spanning decades and crossing continents follows two young people as they flee the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War in search of a place to call home.

Read More check catalog
 
 
Just mercy : a story of justice and redemption

Bryan Stevenson · Spiegel & Grau
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times Bestseller | Named one of the Best Books of the Year by The New York Times * The Washington Post * The Boston Globe * The Seattle Times * Esquire * Time

Winner of the Carnegie Medal for Nonfiction | Winner of the NAACP Image Award for Nonfiction...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Magick of Food: Rituals, Offerings & Why We Eat Together

Gwion Raven · Llewellyn Publications
Pages: 288
Format: Paperback

Discover a magickal collection of lore, recipes, rituals, and practices from modern and ancient cultures of the world. The Magick of Food reveals how using food magickally can transform the mundane task of fueling your body into an opportunity for deep nourishment and connection to loved...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Bright River: A Novel

Liz Moore · Riverhead Books
Pages: 496
Format: Hardcover

Two sisters travel the same streets,though their lives couldn't be more different. Then one of them goes missing.In a Philadelphia neighborhood rocked by the opioid crisis, two once-inseparable sisters find themselves at odds. One, Kacey, lives on the streets in the vise of addiction....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Exhalation: Stories

Ted Chiang · Knopf
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

From an award-winning science fiction writer (whose short story "The Story of Your Life" was the basis for the Academy Award-nominated movie Arrival) , the long-awaited new collection...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Why We Sleep: Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams

Matthew Walker PhD · Scribner
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

The first sleep book by a leading scientific expert - Professor Matthew Walker, Director of UC Berkeley's Sleep and Neuroimaging Lab - reveals his groundbreaking exploration of sleep, explaining how we can harness its transformative power to change our lives for the better.

Sleep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Disappearing Earth: A novel

Julia Phillips · Knopf
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Anthony Marra's A Constellation of Vital Phenomena and Téa Obreht's The Tiger's Wife: the kidnapping of two small girls on a remote peninsula in Russia sets in motion a propulsive, evocative, searingly original debut novel by a dazzling young writer.

One...
Read More check catalog
 
 
American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins

"Extraordinary."
-- Stephen King

"This book is not simply the great American novel; it's the great novel of las Americas. It's the great world novel! This is the international story of our times. Masterful."
-- Sandra Cisneros

Read More check catalog
 
 
Trust Exercise: A Novel

Susan Choi · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"Brilliant and challenging . . . An uncanny evocation of the not-so-distant past."
-- Tom Perrotta, New York Times bestselling author of Mrs. Fletcher

Pulitzer finalist Susan Choi's multipart, narrative-upending novel in which what happens in high school...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era

Gareth Russell · Atria Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

In this original and meticulously researched narrative history, the author of the "stunning" (The Sunday Times) Young and Damned and Fair uses the sinking of the Titanic as a prism through which to examine the end of the Edwardian era and the seismic shift...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Carnegie Hill: A Novel

Jonathan Vatner · Thomas Dunne Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

Town & Country Magazine's Must-Read Books of Summer 2019 | She Reads' Best Books for Your Summer Roadtrip

"Carnegie Hill has got to be one of the most charming, hilarious, and insightful books I've read in ages. When it comes to New York's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Secondhand: Travels in the New Global Garage Sale

Adam Minter · Bloomsbury Publishing
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

From the author of Junkyard Planet, a journey into the surprising afterlives of our former possessions.

Downsizing. Decluttering. A parent's death. Sooner or later, all of us are faced with things we no longer need or want. But when we drop our old clothes and other items...

Read More check catalog