Back Peggy's Picks | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Peggy's Picks  
American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Lydia Quixano Pérez lives in the Mexican city of Acapulco. She runs a bookstore. She has a son, Luca, the love of her life, and a wonderful husband who is a journalist. And while there are cracks beginning to show in Acapulco because of the drug cartels, her life is, by and large, fairly...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Afterlife

Julia Alvarez · Algonquin Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The first adult novel in almost fifteen years by the internationally bestselling author of In the Time of the Butterflies and How the García Girls Lost Their Accents

"A stunning work of art that reminds readers Alvarez is, and always has been, in a class...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Edward: A Novel

Ann Napolitano · The Dial Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A twelve-year-old boy struggles with the worst kind of fame - as the sole survivor of a notorious plane crash - in a heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for readers of Small Great Things, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Immortalists.

What does it mean not just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Holdout: A Novel

Graham Moore · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

One juror changed the verdict. What if she was wrong? From the Academy Award-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and bestselling author of The Last Days of Night. . . .

"Exhilarating . . . a fiendishly slippery game of cat-and-mouse suspense and a provocative,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Such a Fun Age

Kiley Reid · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

Alix...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mirror & the Light

Hilary Mantel · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

With The Mirror & the Light, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with her peerless, Booker Prize-winning novels, Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She traces the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Deep State: A Thriller

Chris Hauty · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Deep State is a propulsive, page-turning, compelling, fragmentation grenade of a debut thriller." - C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wolf Pack and The Bitterroots

"The plot...rings eerily true...will keep you turning...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Ways We Said Goodbye: A Novel

Beatriz Williams · William Morrow
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling authors of The Glass Ocean and The Forgotten Room return with a glorious historical adventure that moves from the dark days of two World Wars to the turbulent years of the 1960s, in which three women with bruised hearts find refuge at Paris' legendary Ritz...

Read More check catalog
 
 
You Were There Too

Colleen Oakley · Berkley
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story about a woman who must choose between the man she loves and the man fate has chosen for her, in a novel that reminds us that the best life is one led by the heart.

Mia Graydon's life looks picket-fence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eight Perfect Murders: A Novel

Peter Swanson · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Fiendish good fun." -- Anthony Horowitz

From the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mountains Sing

Que Mai Phan Nguyen · Algonquin Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"An epic account of Việt Nam's painful 20th century history, both vast in scope and intimate in its telling . . . Moving and riveting." - VIET THANH NGUYEN, author of The Sympathizer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize

With the epic sweep of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz

Erik Larson · Crown
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

On Winston Churchill’s first day as prime minister, Adolf Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia had already fallen, and the Dunkirk evacuation was just two weeks away. For the next twelve months, Hitler would wage a relentless bombing campaign, killing 45,000 Britons....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Authenticity Project: A Novel

Clare Pooley · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"A clever, uplifting book that entertains and makes you think."
--Sophie Kinsella, #1 New York Times bestselling author

The story of a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love

Julian Jessop,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Under Occupation: A Novel

Alan Furst · Random House
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From the master of espionage and intrigue, this novel about heroic resistance fighters in 1942 occupied Paris is based on true events of Polish prisoners in Nazi Germany, who smuggled valuable intelligence to Paris and the resistance.

Occupied Paris in 1942, a dark, treacherous city...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When You See Me: A Novel

Lisa Gardner · Dutton
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner unites three of her most beloved characters--Detective D. D. Warren, Flora Dane, and Kimberly Quincy--in a twisty new thriller, as they investigate a mysterious murder from the past . . . that points to a dangerous and chilling present-day...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Petal of the Sea: A Novel

Isabel Allende · Ballantine Books
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the New York Times bestselling author of The House of the Spirits comes an epic novel spanning decades and crossing continents, following two young people as they flee the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War in search of a new place to call home.

In the late 1930s,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady Clementine: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence during World War I and World War II: Clementine Churchill.

Read More check catalog