Back Peggy's Picks | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Peggy's Picks  
American Dirt: A Novel

Jeanine Cummins · Flatiron Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

También de este lado hay sueños. On this side too, there are dreams.Already being hailed as "a Grapes of Wrath for our times" and "a new American classic", American Dirt is a rare exploration into the inner hearts of people willing to sacrifice everything for a glimmer...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Afterlife

Julia Alvarez · Algonquin Books
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

"One of the most significant Latina writers." - Entertainment Weekly

Antonia Vega, the immigrant writer at the center of Afterlife, has had the rug pulled out from under her. She has just retired from the college where she taught English when her beloved...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dear Edward: A Novel

Ann Napolitano · The Dial Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A twelve-year-old boy struggles with the worst kind of fame - as the sole survivor of a notorious plane crash - in a heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for readers of Small Great Things, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Immortalists.

What does it mean not just...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Holdout: A Novel

Graham Moore · Random House
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

From the Academy Award-winning screenwriter of The Imitation Game and bestselling author of The Last Days of Night: a jury on a murder trial is deadlocked when a young woman manages to turn the tide to acquit; now, a decade later, she must face the consequences when a fellow juror is killed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Such a Fun Age

Kiley Reid · G.P. Putnam's Sons
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

A striking and surprising debut novel from an exhilarating new voice, Such a Fun Age is a page-turning and big-hearted story about race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

Alix...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mirror & the Light

Hilary Mantel · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 800
Format: Hardcover

"If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?"

England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Deep State: A Thriller

Chris Hauty · Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Deep State is a propulsive, page-turning, compelling, fragmentation grenade of a debut thriller." - C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wolf Pack and The Bitterroots "The plot...rings eerily true...will keep you turning the pages well into the night."...
Read More check catalog
 
 
All the Ways We Said Goodbye: A Novel

Beatriz Williams · William Morrow
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestselling authors of The Glass Ocean and The Forgotten Room return with a glorious historical adventure that moves from the dark days of two World Wars to the turbulent years of the 1960s, in which three women with bruised hearts find refuge at Paris' legendary...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Were There Too

Colleen Oakley · Berkley
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story about a woman who must choose between the man she loves and the man fate has chosen for her, in a novel that reminds us that the best life is one led by the heart.

Mia Graydon's life looks picket-fence...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Eight Perfect Murders: A Novel

Peter Swanson · William Morrow
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

"Fiendish good fun." -- Anthony HorowitzFrom the hugely talented author of Before She Knew Him comes a chilling tale of psychological suspense and an homage to the thriller genre tailor-made for fans: the story of a bookseller who finds himself at the center of an FBI investigation...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mountains Sing

Que Mai Phan Nguyen · Algonquin Books
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

"An epic account of Việt Nam's painful 20th century history, both vast in scope and intimate in its telling . . . Moving and riveting." - VIET THANH NGUYEN, author of The Sympathizer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize With the epic sweep of Min Jin Lee's Pachinko or Yaa Gyasi's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz

Erik Larson · Crown
Pages: 464
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dead Wake and The Devil in the White City delivers a startlingly fresh portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the BlitzOn Winston Churchill's first day as prime minister, Hitler invaded Holland and Belgium. Poland and Czechoslovakia...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Authenticity Project: A Novel

Clare Pooley · Pamela Dorman Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A story about a solitary green notebook that brings together six strangers and leads to unexpected friendship, and even love--think Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine meets Love, Actually"Everybody lies about their lives. What would happen if you shared the truth?"This is the question...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Under Occupation: A Novel

Alan Furst · Random House
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

From the master of espionage and intrigue, this novel about heroic resistance fighters in 1942 occupied Paris is based on true events of Polish prisoners in Nazi Germany, who smuggled valuable intelligence to Paris and the resistance.

Occupied Paris in 1942, a dark, treacherous city...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When You See Me: A Novel

Lisa Gardner · Dutton
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner unites three of her most beloved characters--Detective D. D. Warren, Flora Dane, and Kimberly Quincy--in a twisty new thriller, as they investigate a mysterious murder from the past . . . that points to a dangerous and chilling present-day...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Petal of the Sea: A Novel

Isabel Allende
Format: Hardcover


Read More check catalog
 
 
Lady Clementine: A Novel

Marie Benedict · Sourcebooks Landmark
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence during World War I and World War II: Clementine Churchill.

Read More check catalog