Back 2019-20 LYRC Gr. 3-5 | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  2019-20 LYRC Gr. 3-5  
Army Brats

Daphne Benedis-Grab · Scholastic Press
Pages: 231
Format: Hardcover

The Bailey kids' mom has just been assigned to Fort Patrick, and it'll be the family's first time living on an army base! Tom, Charlotte, and Rosie get to make new friends, explore the neighborhood, and cool off in the huge pool. Unfortunately, they also have to deal with the base bully,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Balderdash!: John Newbery and the Boisterous Birth of Children's Books

Michelle Markel · Chronicle Books
Pages: 44
Format: Hardcover

This rollicking and fascinating picture book biography chronicles the life of the first pioneer of children's books - John Newbery himself. While most children's books in the 18th century contained lessons and rules, John Newbery imagined them overflowing with entertaining stories, science,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Boy Called Bat

Elana K Arnold · Walden Pond Press
Pages: 198
Format: Hardcover

From acclaimed author Elana K. Arnold and with illustrations by Charles Santoso, A Boy Called Bat is the first book in a funny, heartfelt, and irresistible young middle grade series starring an unforgettable young boy on the autism spectrum.For Bixby Alexander Tam (nicknamed Bat) , life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Derrick D Barnes · Agate Bolden
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A Newbery Honor BookA Caldecott Honor BookA Coretta Scott King Author Honor BookA Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor BookAn Ezra Jack Keats New Writer Award BookAn Ezra Jack Keats New Illustrator Honor BookA Society of Illustrators Gold Medal BookNamed one of the best books of 2017 by NPR,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Give Bees a Chance

Bethany Barton · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the author-illustrator of Children's Choice Book Award Winner I'm Trying to Love Spiders: a plea to please give bees a chance!Not sure whether to high-five bees or run away from them? Well, maybe you shouldn't high-five them, but you definitely don't have to run away from them. Give...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Grace Hopper: Queen of Computer Code

Laurie Wallmark · Sterling Children's Books
Pages: 48
Format: Hardcover

"If you've got a good idea, and you know it's going to work, go ahead and do it."The inspiring story of Grace Hopper - the boundary-breaking woman who revolutionized computer science - is told told in an engaging picture book biography. Who was Grace Hopper? A software tester,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Imagine That!: How Dr. Seuss Wrote The Cat in the Hat

Judy Sierra · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 48
Format: Library Binding

A lively new picture-book biography of the most beloved children's book author of all time: Dr. Seuss!Have you ever wondered how the great Dr. Seuss wrote his most famous book? Did you know that for The Cat in the Hat, he wasn't allowed to make up the fun words he was known for - like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Jake the Fake Keeps it Real

Craig Robinson · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 135
Format: Hardcover

For fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Big Nate comes the first book in a side-splitting illustrated series from comedian and film star Craig Robinson, #1 New York Times bestselling author Adam Mansbach, and NAACP History Maker recipient and cartoonist Keith Knight. Jake can barely play...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lemons

Melissa Savage · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw! Lemonade Liberty Witt's mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can't possibly make lemonade...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malala: Activist for Girls' Education

Raphaële Frier · Charlesbridge
Pages: 48
Format: Print book

Malala Yousafzai stood up to the Taliban and fought for the right for all girls to receive an education. When she was just fifteen-years old, the Taliban attempted to kill Malala, but even this did not stop her activism. At age eighteen Malala became the youngest person to be awarded the Nobel...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Explorers: The Door in the Alley

Adrienne Kress · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Featuring a mysterious society, a secretive past, and a pig in a teeny hat, The Explorers: The Door in the Alley is the first book in a new series for fans of The Name of This Book Is a Secret and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Knock once if you can find it - but only members are allowed...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Princess and the Peas

Rachel Himes · Charlesbridge
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

In this adaptation of The Princess and the Pea, Ma Sally cooks the best black-eyed peas in Charleston County, South Carolina. Her son, John, is a highly eligible bachelor, and three local women vie for his hand in marriage by attempting to cook as well as Ma. At the last minute, a surprise...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wedgie & Gizmo

SUZANNE SELFORS · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 168
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Stick Dog and My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish will love Suzanne Selfors's hilarious new illustrated series about the growing pains of blended families and the secret rivalry of pets."A delightfully fun read that will leave you in stitches!" - Caldecott Medalist Dan SantatWhen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wishtree

KATHERINE APPLEGATE · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

"Warm and thoughtful, this story is told from the perspective of an ancient oak tree who has seen it all. Bestselling author Katherine Applegate gets readers rooting for the old tree, along with the people and animals who come to depend on it. The shorter length and strong plot are appealing...
Read More check catalog