Back Girls' Book Club 2017 | Book List

SelectReads News
Dearreader template
  Girls' Book Club 2017  
Mr. and Mrs. Bunny--Detectives Extraordinaire!
Mr. and Mrs. Bunny--Detectives Extraordinaire!

Polly Horvath · Yearling
Format: Paperback

"National Book Award-winner Polly Horvath's latest, a rabbity romp complete with whimsical illustrations and a quirky cast of characters, has both the look and feel of a classic children's book," raves The Washington Post.In this hilarious chapter book mystery, meet a girl...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Marley: A Dog Like No Other
Marley: A Dog Like No Other

John Grogan · HarperCollins; Reprint edition
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Make way for Marley!When the Grogan family is ready for a dog, they choose Marley, a yellow furball of a puppy who quickly grows into a large, rowdy Labrador retriever. Marley has a zest for life, and as he grows, so does his enthusiasm. He has an appetite for whatever he can get his paws...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Tangle of Knots
A Tangle of Knots

Lisa Graff · Puffin Books
Pages: 12
Format: Paperback

A National Book Award nominee!The magic of Savvy meets the complexity of When You Reach Me in this "blithe magical puzzle," --The Wall Street JournalTold in multiple viewpoints, A Tangle of Knots is a magnificent puzzle. In a slightly magical world where everyone has a Talent,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Pi in the Sky
Pi in the Sky

Wendy Mass · Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Pages: 244
Format: Print book

Joss is the seventh son of the Supreme Overlord of the Universe. His older brothers help his dad rule the cosmos, but all Joss gets to do is deliver pies. That's right: pies. Of course, these pies actually hold the secrets of the universe between their buttery crusts, but they're...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tapper Twins Go to War
The Tapper Twins Go to War

Geoff Rodkey · Little
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

This bestselling first book in the Tapper Twins series is a hilariously authentic showcase of what it's like to be in middle school in our digitally-saturated world, told as a colorful "oral history" with photos, screenshots, text messages, chat logs, and online gaming digital...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Birthday Ball
The Birthday Ball

Lois Lowry · HMH Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

A wry, dry, laugh-out-loud princess tale by the hilarious Lois Lowry, with illustrations by Pulitzer Prize–winning cartoonist Jules Feiffer. Princess Patricia Priscilla is bored with her royal life and the excitement surrounding her sixteenth birthday ball. Doomed to endure courtship...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rules
Rules

Cynthia Lord · Scholastic
Pages: 200
Format: Paperback

This 2007 Newbery Honor Book is a humorous and heartwarming debut about feeling different and finding acceptance. Now in After Words paperback!Twelve-year-old Catherine just wants a normal life. Which is near impossible when you have a brother with autism and a family that revolves around...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Absolutely Almost
Absolutely Almost

Lisa Graff · Puffin Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), 2015. ©2014
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

From the author of the National Book Award nominee A TANGLE OF KNOTS comes an inspiring novel about figuring out who you are and doing what you love.Albie has never been the smartest kid in his class. He has never been the tallest. Or the best at gym. Or the greatest artist. Or the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prairie Evers
Prairie Evers

Ellen Airgood · Puffin Books
Pages: 215
Format: Print book

This charming, coming-of-age story is perfect for fans of Joan Bauer and Sheila Turnage.Prairie Evers is finding that school isn't all it's cracked up to be. She's always been homeschooled by her grandmother, learning about life while they ramble through the woods. But now Prairie's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Malcolm at Midnight
Malcolm at Midnight

W. H. Beck · HMH Books for Young Readers
Format: Book

When Malcolm the rat arrives as the pet at McKenna School, he revels in the attention. He also meets the Midnight Academy, a secret society of classroom pets that keeps the nutters (kids) safe. There’s just one problem: Rats have a terrible reputation! So when the Academy’s...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Friendship Over
Friendship Over

Julie Sternberg · Boyds Mills Press
Pages: 161
Format: Print book

Being ten is hard. Just ask Celie - who is juggling fights with her sister, secrets at school, a forgetful grandmother, and a best friend who won't speak to her. How can a girl who doesn't like change survive when everything around her is changing? By writing, of course. Girls will...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's
On the Road to Mr. Mineo's

Barbara O'Connor · Square Fish; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

Summer days drift by slowly in Meadville, South Carolina--that is, until Sherman the one-legged pigeon flies into town and causes a ruckus. First Stella, who's been begging for a dog, spots him on top of a garage roof and decides she wants him for a pet. Then there's Ethel and Amos,...
Read More check catalog