Back Americans & the Holocaust - Teens | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Americans & the Holocaust - Teens  
28 Days: A Novel of Resistance in the Warsaw Ghetto

David Safier · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

Inspired by true events, David Safier's 28 Days: A Novel of Resistance in the Warsaw Ghetto is a harrowing historical YA that chronicles the brutality of the Holocaust.

Warsaw, 1942. Sixteen-year old Mira smuggles food into the Ghetto to keep herself and her family alive....

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Devil's Arithmetic

Jane Yolen · Puffin Books
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback

30th Anniversary edition with a new introduction from the author

Hannah is tired of holiday gatherings−all her family ever talks about is the past. In fact, it seems to her that's what they do every Jewish holiday. But this year's Passover Seder will be different−Hannah...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Prisoner B-3087

Alan Gratz · Scholastic Press
Pages: 272
Format: Book

10 concentration camps.
10 different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly.
It's something no one could imagine surviving.
But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face.
As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Thief

Markus Zusak · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 608
Format: Paperback

DON'T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK'S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.

Nominated...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Summer of My German Soldier

Bette Greene · Puffin Books
Pages: 230
Format: Paperback

An emotional, thought-provoking book from multi-award-winning author Bette Greene.

The summer that Patty Bergen turns twelve is a summer that will haunt her forever. When her small hometown in Arkansas becomes the site of a camp housing German prisoners during World War II, Patty...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Real Name is Hanna

TARA LYNN MASIH · Mandel Vilar Press
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

Inspired by real Holocaust events, this poignant debut novel is a powerful coming-of-age story that will resonate with fans of The Book Thief and Between Shades of Gray.--A 2018 Skipping Stones Honor Award BookHanna Slivka is on the cusp of fourteen when Hitler's army crosses...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Delayed Life: The True Story of the Librarian of Auschwitz

Dita Kraus · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

A Delayed Life is the breathtaking memoir that tells the story of Dita Kraus, the real-life Librarian of Auschwitz.

Dita Kraus grew up in Prague in an intellectual, middle-class Jewish family. She went to school, played with her friends, and never thought of herself as being...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

John Boyne · David Fickling Books
Pages: 215
Format: Paperback

"Powerful and unsettling. . . . As memorable an introduction to the subject as The Diary of Anne Frank." - USA Today

Berlin, 1942: When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received...
Read More check catalog
 
 
This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

Andrew Fukuda · Tor Teen
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals -- a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl -- as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.

"I remember...

Read More check catalog
 
 
White Rose

Kip Wilson · Versify
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

"In a searing indictment of silent complicity, White Rose shines a light on one remarkable young woman's insistence on the power of truth, no matter the cost. A timely call to resistance." - Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint

"White Rose...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Resistance

Jennifer A Nielsen · Scholastic Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Chaya Lindner is a teenager living in Nazi-occupied Poland. Simply being Jewish places her in danger of being killed or sent to the camps. After her little sister is taken away, her younger brother disappears, and her parents all but give up hope, Chaya is determined to make a difference....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Light in Hidden Places

Sharon Cameron · Scholastic Press
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

The extraordinary story of Stefania Podgorska, a Polish teenager who chose bravery and humanity by hiding thirteen Jews in her attic during WWII -- from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sharon Cameron.

One knock at the door, and Stefania has a choice to make...



It...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Someday We Will Fly

Rachel Dewoskin · Penguin Books
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback

From the author of Blind, a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge.

Warsaw, Poland. The year is 1940 and Lillia is fifteen when her mother, Alenka, disappears and her father flees...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Orphan Monster Spy

MATT KILLEEN · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Her name is Sarah. She's blonde, blue-eyed, and Jewish in 1939 Germany. And her act of resistance is about to change the world.

After her mother is shot at a checkpoint, fifteen-year-old Sarah meets a mysterious man with an ambiguous accent, a suspiciously bare apartment, and a lockbox...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II

Alan Gratz · Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Infiltrate. Befriend. Sabotage.
World War II is raging. Michael O'Shaunessey, originally from Ireland, now lives in Nazi Germany with his parents. Like the other boys in his school, Michael is a member of the Hitler Youth.

But Michael has a secret. He and his parents are spies....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Mapping the Bones

Jane Yolen · Philomel Books
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

From the best-selling and award-winning author of The Devil's Arithmetic, Jane Yolen, comes her first Holocaust novel in nearly thirty years. Influenced by Dr. Mengele's sadistic experimentations, this story follows twins as they travel from the Lodz ghetto, to the partisans in the forest,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Flowers in the Gutter: The True Story of the Edelweiss Pirates, Teenagers Who Resisted the Nazis

K. R. Gaddy · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Photo-illustrated nonfiction, the story of the Edelweiss Pirates, a group of working-class teens who not only survived but resisted the Nazis by whatever means they could, even when they knew it could cost them their lives.

Flowers in the Gutter is told from the points of view...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Plot to Kill Hitler: Dietrich Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Spy, Unlikely Hero

Patricia McCormick · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Perfect for fans of suspenseful nonfiction such as books by Steve Sheinkin, this is a page-turning narrative about Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a pastor and pacifist who became an unlikely hero during World War II and took part in a plot to kill Hitler. Written by two-time National Book Award...

Read More check catalog
 
 

More teen items can be found on OverDrive.