Back Maud Hart Lovelace Award 2022 | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Maud Hart Lovelace Award 2022  

Each year, the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards announce nominees for the Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award. These books are read by students across the state who then vote on which book should be that year's winning title. Winners are announced each April.

Titles are grouped into two divisions: titles for grades 3-5 and titles for grades 6-8. There are several crossover books.

You can learn more about the Maud Hart Lovelace book award at the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards website: https://myrahome.org/Maud-Hart-Lovelace-Award

The Doughnut Fix

Jessie Janowitz · Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Pages: 304
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) Superfudge meets The Lemonade War in this funny, heartwarming series debut about change, adventure, family, and of course, doughnuts.

Tristan isn't Gifted or Talented like his sister Jeanine, and he's always been okay with that because he can make...

Read More check catalog
 
 
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Janae Marks · Katherine Tegen Books
Pages: 304
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) An Amazon Best Book of the Month! "Enticing and enthralling." - Jewell Parker Rhodes

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Indian No More

Charlene Willing McManis · Tu Books
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5)  Regina Petit's family has always been Umpqua, and living on the Grand Ronde reservation is all ten-year-old Regina has ever known. Her biggest worry is that Sasquatch may actually exist out in the forest. But when the federal government signs a bill...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Max and the Midknights

Lincoln Peirce · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) Join Max's quest to become a knight in this laugh-filled adventure from the New York Times bestselling author of the Big Nate series!


"Max is epic fun!" --JEFF KINNEY, New York Times bestselling author of the DIARY...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Rhino in Right Field

Stacy DeKeyser · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 272
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) A boy who loves baseball must get past his hard-working immigrant parents - and the rhino in the outfield - to become a batboy in this laugh-out-loud middle grade novel in the tradition of The Sandlot.

Nick wants to change his life. For twelve...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Saving Winslow

SHARON CREECH · HarperCollins
Pages: 176
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) "A winning tale of love." - Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Blended

SHARON M DRAPER · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 320
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Eleven-year-old Isabella's blended family is more divided than ever in this thoughtful story about divorce and racial identity from the award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of Out of My Mind, Sharon...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Inkling

KENNETH OPPEL · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 240
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) From the acclaimed author of The Nest, The Boundless, and Airborn comes a brilliantly funny, breakout book about a boy who discovers an ink blot that's come to life! Perfect for those who love Hoot and Frindle...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise

Dan Gemeinhart · Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 352
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) "Sometimes a story comes along that just plain makes you want to hug the world. The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise is Dan Gemeinhart's finest book yet -- and that's saying something. Your heart needs this...

Read More check catalog
 
 
When Stars Are Scattered

Victoria Jamieson · Dial Books
Pages: 264
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp, as told by a Somali refugee to the Newbery Honor-winning creator of Roller Girl.Omar and his younger brother, Hassan, have spent...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Boy Bites Bug

Rebecca Petruck · Amulet Books
Pages: 272
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Will didn't plan to eat a stinkbug. But when his friend Darryl called new kid Eloy Herrera a racial slur, Will did it as a diversion. Now Will is Bug Boy, and everyone is cracking up inventing insect meals for him, like French flies and maggot-aroni...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Game Changer

Tom Greenwald · Harry N. Abrams
Pages: 304
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) An Amazon Best Book of the Month

Thirteen-year-old Teddy Youngblood is in a coma fighting for his life after an unspecified football injury at training camp. His family and friends flock to his bedside to support his recovery - and to discuss the events...

Read More check catalog
 
 
It Wasn't Me

Dana Alison Levy · Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) THE BREAKFAST CLUB meets middle school with a prank twist in this hilarious and heartwarming story about six very different seventh graders who are forced to band together after a vandalism incident.

When Theo's photography project is mysteriously...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Line Tender

Kate Allen · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Heartbreaking but also filled with wit and hope, The Line Tender is the story of Lucy, the daughter of a marine biologist and a rescue diver, and the summer that changes her life. If she ever wants to lift the cloud of grief over her family and community,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Other Words for Home

Jasmine Warga · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 352
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A World Below

Wesley King · Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books
Pages: 272
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) A class field trips turns into an underground quest for survival in the latest middle grade novel from the author of Edgar Award winner OCDaniel.Mr. Baker's eighth grade class thought they were in for a normal field trip to Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico....

Read More check catalog