Back Minnesota Book Awards 2019 | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Minnesota Book Awards 2019  

The Minnesota Book Awards is a year-long program that connects readers and writers throughout Minnesota with the stories of our neighbors.

The process begins in the fall with book submissions and continues through winter with two rounds of judging. Winners are announced at the annual Minnesota Book Awards Ceremony each spring. Woven throughout the season are various activities and events that promote the authors and connect the world of Minnesota books – writers, artists, illustrators, publishers, editors, and more – to readers throughout the state.

Winners of the 2019 Minnesota Book Awards were announced on April 9, 2019. A full list of winners and nominees can be found here: https://thefriends.org/minnesota-book-awards/minnesota-book-awards-winners/

Children's Literature

The Rabbit Listened

Cori Doerrfeld · Dial Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A universal, deeply moving exploration of grief and empathy

With its spare, poignant text and irresistibly sweet illustrations, The Rabbit Listened is a tender meditation on loss.

When something terrible happens, Taylor doesn't know where to turn. All the animals are sure...
Read More check catalog
 
 

General Nonfiction

Doing Harm: The Truth about How Bad Medicine and Lazy Science Leave Women Dismissed, Misdiagnosed, and Sick

Maya Dusenbery · Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Format: Audiobook

This stunning expose is the first comprehensive analysis of gender bias in modern medical treatment in the United States today, putting women at increased risk for sickness and death.

In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Genre Fiction

The Voice Inside

Brian Freeman · Thomas & Mercer
Format: Hardcover

In the follow-up to bestselling psychological thriller The Night Bird, a serial killer mistakenly set free becomes a city's worst nightmare - and a detective's deadliest challenge.

Four years after serial killer Rudy Cutter was sent away for life, San Francisco homicide...

Read More check catalog
 
 

Memoir & Creative Nonfiction

Chinese-ness: The Meanings of Identity and the Nature of Belonging

Wing Young Huie · Minnesota Historical Society Press
Pages: 160
Format: Hardcover

Is Chinese identity personal, national, cultural, political? Does it migrate, become malleable or transmuted? What is authentic, sacred, kitsch? Using documentary and conceptual photographic strategies, acclaimed photographer Wing Young Huie explores the meaning of Chinese-ness in his home...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Middle Grade Literature

The Key to Every Thing

PAT SCHMATZ · Candlewick
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

For eleven-year-old Tash, Cap'n Jackie isn't just the elderly next-door neighbor - she's family. When she disappears, only Tash holds the key that might bring her back.

Tash didn't want to go to camp, didn't want to spend the summer with a bunch of strangers, didn't want to be separated...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Minnesota Nonfiction

The Crusade for Forgotten Souls: Reforming Minnesota's Mental Institutions, 1946–1954

Susan Bartlett Foote · Univ Of Minnesota Press
Pages: 312
Format: Paperback

The stirring story of the reform movement that laid the groundwork for a modern mental health system in Minnesota In 1940 Engla Schey, the daughter of Norwegian immigrants, took a job as a low-paid attendant at Anoka State Hospital, one of Minnesota's seven asylums. She would work among...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Novel & Short Story

Laurentian Divide: A Novel

Sarah Stonich · Univ Of Minnesota Press
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Poignant portrayals of life on the edge in northern Minnesota border country, from the best-selling author of These Granite Islands and Vacationland Bitter winters are nothing new in Hatchet Inlet, hard up against the ridge of the Laurentian Divide, but the advent of spring can't thaw...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Poetry

GeNtry!fication: or the scene of the crime

Chaun Webster · Noemi Press
Pages: 104
Format: Paperback

Poetry. African & African American Studies. GENTRY!FICATION: OR THE SCENE OF THE CRIME is a labyrinth full of folk tale and sign, definitions and the black subjects who violate them. In a time where many cities across the nation are undergoing massive shifts in who peoples them, particularly...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Young Adult Fiction

Dream Country

Shannon Gibney · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

The heartbreaking story of five generations of young people from a single African-and-American family pursuing an elusive dream of freedom.

"This novel is a remarkable achievement."--Kelly Barnhill, New York Times bestselling author and Newbery medalist

"Beautifully...
Read More check catalog