Back Maud Hart Lovelace 2020 Award | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Maud Hart Lovelace 2020 Award  

Each year, the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards announce nominees for the Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award. These books are read by students across the state who then vote on which book should be that year's winning title. Winners are announced each April.

Titles are grouped into two divisions: titles for grades 3-5 and titles for grades 6-8. There are several crossover books.

You can learn more about the Maud Hart Lovelace book award at the Minnesota Youth Reading Awards website: https://myrahome.org/Maud-Hart-Lovelace-Award

Amina's Voice

Hena Khan · Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 197
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5)

"Amina's anxieties are entirely relatable, but it's her sweet-hearted nature that makes her such a winning protagonist." - Entertainment Weekly

A Pakistani-American Muslim girl struggles to stay...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The End of the Wild

NICOLE HELGET · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) A modern, beautifully written story set against the backdrop of the controversial issue of fracking that explores the timely themes of poverty, environmental protection, what makes a family, and finding your place...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Framed!

James Ponti · Aladdin
Pages: 292
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  Get to know the only kid on the FBI Director's speed dial and several international criminals' most wanted lists all because of his Theory of All Small Things in this hilarious start to a brand-new middle...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lemons

Melissa Savage · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw!

Lemonade Liberty Witt's mama...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Losers Club

Andrew Clements · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 231
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) The beloved New York Times bestselling author of the modern classic Frindle celebrates books and the joy of reading with a new school story to love!

Sixth grader Alec can't put a good book down.

So...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Parker Inheritance

Varian Johnson · Arthur A. Levine Books
Pages: 352
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  Four starred reviews!

"Powerful.... Johnson writes about the long shadows of the past with such ambition that any reader with a taste for mystery will appreciate the puzzle Candice and Brandon...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Save Me a Seat

Sarah Weeks · Scholastic Pr
Pages: 216
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) Joe and Ravi might be from very different places, but they're both stuck in the same place: SCHOOL.

Joe's lived in the same town all his life, and was doing just fine until his best friends moved away and left him on his own.

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret of Dreadwillow Carse

Brian Farrey · Algonquin Of Chapel Hill
Pages: 240
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) A princess and a peasant girl must embark on a dangerous quest to outwit a centuries-old warning foretelling the fall of the Monarchy in this thrilling modern fairytale. In the center of the verdant Monarchy lies Dreadwillow Carse, a black and desolate...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Towers Falling

Jewell Parker Rhodes · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 228
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) & DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wish

Barbara O'Connor · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 227
Format: Book

DIVISION 1 (grades 3-5) A touching story about a girl and her dog, perfect for young animal lovers

Eleven-year-old Charlie Reese has been making the same secret wish every day since fourth grade. She even has a list of all the ways there are to make the wish,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Cyclone

DOREEN CRONIN · Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 352
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Nora's whole world plummets faster than the Cyclone roller coaster when her cousin Riley falls into a coma that Nora thinks is her fault in this warm, big-hearted debut middle grade novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Greetings from Witness Protection!

JAKE BURT · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 368
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8) Nicki Demere is an orphan and a pickpocket. She also happens to be the U.S. Marshals' best bet to keep a family alive. . . .

The marshals are looking for the perfect girl to join a mother, father, and son on the run from the nation's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Piecing Me Together

Rene Watson · Bloomsbury
Pages: 272
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  A timely and powerful story about a teen girl striving for success in a world that too often feels like it wants to break her. Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Refugee

ALAN GRATZ · Scholastic Press
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany. With the threat of concentration camps looming, he and his family board a ship bound for the other side of the world . . .



ISABEL is a Cuban girl in 1994. With riots and unrest plaguing her country, she and her family set out on a raft,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Terror at Bottle Creek

Watt Key · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 213
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  In this gritty, realistic wilderness adventure, thirteen-year-old Cort is caught in a battle against a Gulf Coast hurricane. Cort's father is a local expert on hunting and swamp lore in lower Alabama who has been teaching his son everything...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Book

DIVISION 2 (grades 6-8)  A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.

* An NPR Best Book of the Year
* A BOOKLIST Best...

Read More check catalog