Back Spotlight: Picture Books | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Spotlight: Picture Books  
Twins: A Picture Book

Mike Ciccotello · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

A heartwarming and clever picture book from debut author-illustrator Mike Ciccotello, who is the father of fraternal Twins.

Being a twin is great! Sometimes our friends can't tell us apart.

A boy and his twin do everything together -- leapfrog and piggyback rides,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Time for Bed, Miyuki

Roxane Marie Galliez · Princeton Architectural Press
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Like children everywhere, Miyuki's imagination peaks at bedtime, when she remembers all the things she has to do before she can possibly go to bed: she needs to water the vegetables, gather snails, and prepare for the arrival of the Dragonfly Queen. Her patient grandfather follows along...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sorry, Grown-Ups, You Can't Go to School!

Christina Geist · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

This fun role-reversal picture book will help reluctant students see the appeal of school!

It's just another school morning...until Mom, Dad, Grandma, and even Bow-wow the dog BEG the kids to let them come to school, too! Dad can tie his own shoes--why can't he come? Mom is all ready...
Read More check catalog
 
 
One Red Sock

Jennifer Sattler · Sleeping Bear Press
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

A little purple hippo faces a dilemma. While getting dressed one day, she realizes that she is missing a red sock. But as she searches throughout her sock drawer, she cannot find a suitable replacement. From blue to green and gray to white, nothing she finds will match. But does that really...
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Teacher is a Robot

Jeffrey Brown · Crown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books comes an imaginative picture book about a kid whose creative outlook has everyone at school seeing the world through new eyes. Perfect for fans of The Adventures of Beekle and The Most Magnificent Thing.Fred does not want...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Llama Llama Mess Mess Mess

Anna Dewdney · Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Mama Llama teaches Llama Llama a humorous lesson in cleaning up in Anna Dewdney's bestselling Llama Llama series.

Time to pick up all your toys!
Why is Mama making noise?
Mama says it's cleaning day.
Llama only wants to play.

Anna Dewdney's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
I'm a Baked Potato!

Elise Primavera · Chronicle Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

When a baked potato-loving lady adopts a dog, she adores him unconditionally - and given the pup's small, round frame and warm, brown coat she can't help but call him "Baked Potato"! But what happens when a dog who thinks he's a baked potato gets lost? Will he find his lady? And more...
Read More check catalog
 
 
How I Learned to Fall Out of Trees

Vincent Kirsch · Abrams Books for Young Readers
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

Roger and Adelia are the very best of friends. They've spent many springtimes collecting birds' nests, autumns jumping into piles of colorful leaves, and winters building snowmen. When the time comes for Adelia to move away, the two friends must say good-bye. But Adelia has one parting...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hats Are Not for Cats!

Jacqueline K. Rayner · Clarion Books
Pages: 32
Format: Hardcover

Are hats for cats? A big, bossy dog and a determined cat disagree. This funny rhyming romp - with a large cast of cats and hats - leads readers to the perfect conclusion: hats are for everyone!A big, severe, plaid-hat-wearing dog insists that the small black cat in the red fez shouldn't...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fly!

Mark Teague · Beach Lane Books
Pages: 40
Format: Hardcover

"Teague proves that a picture can be worth a thousand words - and almost as many laughs." - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Engaging illustrations and the baby bird's wild ideas will entertain audiences of all ages." - BOOKLIST (starred...
Read More check catalog