Back American Historical Fiction (Teen) | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  American Historical Fiction (Teen)  
Chains

Laurie Halse Anderson · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 316
Format: Hardcover

If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl?

As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate become the property...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fever 1793

Laurie Halse Anderson · Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Pages: 251
Format: Hardcover

From Fever 1793 "Where's Polly?" I asked as I dropped the bucket down the well. "Did you pass by the blacksmith's? "I spoke with her mother, with Mistress Logan," Mother answered softly, looking at her neat rows of carrots. "And?" I waved a mosquito...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond The Western Sea: Book One: The Escape From Home

Avi · Orchard Books
Pages: 304

On January 21, 1851, Maura and Patrick O'Connell are driven by a cruel English landlord from their impoverished village in Ireland. Their hope is to join their father in America, "The Promised Land." In the seething streets of Liverpool, the children share a fate played out against...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What I Saw And How I Lied

Judy Blundell · Scholastic Press
Format: Print book

This National Book Award winner set during the aftermath of WWII is now available in paperback!When Evie's father returned home from World War II, the family fell back into its normal life pretty quickly. But Joe Spooner brought more back with him than just good war stories. When...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Heroes

Robert Cormier · Delacorte Press
Pages: 136
Format: Print book

In Heroes, Robert Cormier explores the nature of heroism through a young and tragic life.Francis Cassavant returns from World War II to seek revenge on his childhood hero. He lost his face in France when he fell on a grenade, earning the Silver Star for Bravery. His hero also holds the Silver...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Watsons Go to Birmingham--1963

Christopher Paul Curtis · Delacorte Press
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

A wonderful middle-grade novel narrated by Kenny, 9, about his middle-class black family, the Weird Watsons of Flint, Michigan. When Kenny's 13-year-old brother, Byron, gets to be too much trouble, they head South to Birmingham to visit Grandma, the one person who can shape him up. And they...
Read More check catalog
 
 
These shallow graves

Jennifer Donnelly · Delacorte Press
Pages: 487
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of A Northern Light and Revolution. This thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. It's a story of dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out Of The Dust

Karen Hesse · Scholastic
Pages: 227
Format: Paperback

This gripping story, written in sparse first-person, free-verse poems, is the compelling tale of Billie Jo's struggle to survive during the dust bowl years of the Depression. With stoic courage, she learns to cope with the loss of her mother and her grieving father's slow deterioration....
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Zachary Beaver Came to Town

Kimberly Willis Holt

Nothing ever happens in Toby's small Texas town. Nothing much until this summer that's full of big changes.
It's tough for Toby when his mother leaves home to become a country singer. And Toby takes it hard when his best friend Cal's older brother goes off to fight in Vietnam.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Postcards to Father Abraham

Catherine Lewis

Sixteen-year-old Meghan used to be a runner. Top notch. Hermes couldn't catch her. But cancer destroyed that.

She used to have a brother. Killian. Meghan thought he was her white knight. But her father and Vietnam destroyed him.

She used to have a father, but h

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Art of Keeping Cool

Janet Taylor Lisle
Format: Hardcover

The War At Home

Fear permeates the Rhode Island coastal town where Robert, his mother, and sister are living out the war with his paternal grandparents: Fear of Nazi submarines offshore. Fear of Abel Hoffman, a German artist living reclusively outside of town. And for Robert, a

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead to Me

Mary McCoy · Disney-Hyperion
Format: Hardcover

"Don't believe anything they say."
Read More check catalog
 
 
Burn Baby Burn

Meg Medina · Candlewick
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover

While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl faces danger within her own home in Meg Medina's riveting coming-of-age novel.

Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lyddie

Katherine Paterson
Format: Book

Impoverished Vermont farm girl Lyddie Worthen is determined to gain her independence by becoming a factory worker in Lowell, Massachusetts, in the 1840s.
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Way from Chicago: A Novel in Stories

Richard Peck · Dial; 1st edition

This Newbery Honor Winner and National Book Award Finalist is an unforgettable modern classic and features the debut of the larger-than-life Grandma Dowdel   What happens when Joey and his sister, Mary Alice—two city slickers from Chicago—make their annual summer visits...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of The Easy

Ruta Sepetys · Philomel Books
Pages: 346
Format: Print book

It's 1950 and the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie Moraine wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Day Summer

Sarvenaz Tash · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Boy meets girl...at the most amazing concert the world has ever seen.Michael is unsure about most things. Go to college? Enlist in the military? Break up with his girlfriend? All big question marks. He is living for the moment and all he wants is a few days at the biggest concert of the summer.Cora...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Countdown

Deborah Wiles · Scholastic Press
Pages: 377
Format: Paperback

The story of a formative year in 12-year-old Franny Chapman's life, and the life of a nation facing the threat of nuclear war.

It's 1962, and it seems everyone is living in fear. Twelve-year-old Franny Chapman lives with her family in Washington, DC, during the days surrounding the Cuban...
Read More check catalog