Back General Historical Fiction (Tween) | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  General Historical Fiction (Tween)  
Don't You Know There's a War On?

Avi
Format: Print book

Brooklyn, New York, 1943: a time and place so remarkable that a mere five years later, Howie Crispers, wise at sixteen, can look back to record its fleeting intensity, already long behind him in memory.In 1943, Howie's pop is in the merchant marine, dodging Nazi U-boat w
Read More check catalog
 
 
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

Avi · Orchard Books
Pages: 215
Format: Paperback

A vicious captain, a mutinous crew -- and a young girl caught in the middleNot every thirteen-year-old girl is accused of murder, brought to trial, and found guilty. But I was just such a girl, and my story is worth relating even if it did happen years ago. Be warned, however: If strong...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Something Remains

Inge Barth-Grözinger

At the onset of the Nazi era, Erich Levi is shunned and ridiculed by his friends, teachers, and the Hitler Youth boys due to his Jewish heritage, and, discovering that there are still good people in this world, hangs on to his hopes and dreams in a country on the brink of war.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story

Nora Raleigh Baskin · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 197
Format: Hardcover

From the critically acclaimed author of Anything But Typical comes a touching look at the days leading up to the tragic events of September 11, 2001, and how that day impacted the lives of four middle schoolers.Ask anyone: September 11, 2001, was serene and lovely, a perfect day - until...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dreidels on the Brain

Joel ben Izzy · Dial Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Print book

At last a great American Hanukkah story! This very funny, very touching novel of growing up Jewish has the makings of a holiday classic.One lousy miracle. Is that too much to ask?Evidently so for Joel, as he tries to survive Hannukah, 1971 in the suburbs of the suburbs of Los Angeles (or,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
River Runs Deep

Jennifer Bradbury · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Elias is sent to Mammoth Cave in Kentucky to fight a case of consumption--and ends up fighting for the lives of a secret community of escaped slaves traveling along the Underground Railroad.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Al Capone Does My Shirts

Gennifer Choldenko · Puffin; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

A Newbery Honor BookToday I moved to a twelve-acre rock covered with cement, topped with bird turd and surrounded by water. I'm not the only kid who lives here. There's my sister, Natalie, except she doesn't count. And there are twenty-three other kids who live on the island...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Chasing secrets

Gennifer Choldenko · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 278
Format: Print book

Thirteen-year-old Lizzie and her secret friend Noah, who is hiding in her house, plan to rescue Noah's father from the quarantined Chinatown, and save everyone they love from contracting the plague that is spreading in 1900 San Francisco.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bud, Not Buddy

Christopher Paul Curtis · Delacorte Books for Young Readers; 1 edition
Format: Book

It's 1936, in Flint, Michigan. Times may be hard, and ten-year-old Bud may be a motherless boy on the run, but Bud's got a few things going for him:1. He has his own suitcase filled with his own important, secret things.2. He's the author of Bud Caldwell's Rules and Things...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Journey of Little Charlie

Christopher Paul Curtis · Scholastic Press
Pages: 234
Format: Hardcover

Twelve-year-old Charlie is down on his luck: His sharecropper father just died and Cap'n Buck -- the most fearsome man in Possum Moan, South Carolina -- has come to collect a debt. Fearing for his life, Charlie strikes a deal with Cap'n Buck and agrees to track down some folks accused of stealing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

Firoozeh Dumas · Clarion Books
Pages: 378
Format: Hardcover

Zomorod (Cindy) Yousefzadeh is the new kid on the block . . . for the fourth time. California's Newport Beach is her family's latest perch, and she's determined to shuck her brainy loner persona and start afresh with a new Brady Bunch name - Cindy. It's the late 1970s, and fitting in becomes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It All Comes Down to This

Karen English · Clarion Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents'...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Lily's Crossing (Newbery Honor Book)

Patricia Reilly Giff
Format: Book

This year, as in other years, Lily has planned a spectacular summer in Rockaway, in her family's cozy house on stilts over the Atlantic Ocean. But by the summer of 1944, World War II has changed almost everyone's life. Lily's best friend, Margaret, and her family have moved to a wartime...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out Of The Dust

Karen Hesse · Scholastic
Pages: 227
Format: Paperback

This gripping story, written in sparse first-person, free-verse poems, is the compelling tale of Billie Jo's struggle to survive during the dust bowl years of the Depression. With stoic courage, she learns to cope with the loss of her mother and her grieving father's slow deterioration....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Enemy: Detroit, 1954

Sara Holbrook · Calkins Creek
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Set in 1954, this compelling historical novel tells the story of a young girl's struggles and triumphs in the aftermath of World War II. The war is over, but the threat of communism and the Cold War loom over the United States. In Detroit, Michigan, twelve-year-old Marjorie Campbell struggles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Aim

Joyce Moyer Hostetter · Calkins Creek Books
Pages: 288
Format: Print book

As World War II threatens the United States in 1941, fourteen-year-old Junior Bledsoe fights his own battles at home. Junior struggles with school and with anger - at his father, his insufferable granddaddy, his neighbors, and himself - as he desperately tries to understand himself and find...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Without a Moon

Linda Williams Jackson · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 312
Format: Print book

It's Mississippi in the summer of 1955, and thirteen-year-old Rose Lee Carter can't wait to move north. But for now, she's living with her sharecropper grandparents on a white man's cotton plantation.       Then, one town over, a fourteen-year-old African American boy, Emmett...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Way from Chicago: A Novel in Stories

Richard Peck · Dial; 1st edition
Format: Book

This Newbery Honor Winner and National Book Award Finalist is an unforgettable modern classic and features the debut of the larger-than-life Grandma Dowdel   What happens when Joey and his sister, Mary Alice—two city slickers from Chicago—make their annual summer visits...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Fair Weather

Richard Peck

From Newbery Medal-winning author Richard Peck comes a dazzling slice of American History, set during the Chicago World's Fair of 1893.

In his celebrated, Newbery-winning novels A Year Down Yonder and A Long Way from Chicago, Richard Peck carrie
Read More check catalog
 
 
Echo

Pam MunÌ?oz Ryan · Scholastic Press
Pages: 592
Format: Hardcover

Winner of a 2016 Newbery Honor, ECHO pushes the boundaries of genre, form, and storytelling innovation.

Lost and alone in a forbidden forest, Otto meets three mysterious sisters and suddenly finds himself entwined in a puzzling quest involving a prophecy, a promise, and a harmonica.
...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cloud and Wallfish

Anne Nesbet · Candlewick Press
Pages: 385
Format: Print book

Slip behind the Iron Curtain into a world of smoke, secrets, and lies in this stunning novel where someone is always listening and nothing is as it seems.

Noah Keller has a pretty normal life, until one wild afternoon when his parents pick him up from school and head straight for the airport,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Making Bombs for Hitler

Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Lida thought she was safe. Her neighbors wearing the yellow star were all taken away, but Lida is not Jewish. She will be fine, won't she?But she cannot escape the horrors of World War II.Lida's parents are ripped away from her and she is separated from her beloved sister, Larissa....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paperboy

Vince Vawter · Delacorte Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." - Booklist, Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" - ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Countdown

Deborah Wiles · Scholastic Press
Pages: 377
Format: Paperback

The story of a formative year in 12-year-old Franny Chapman's life, and the life of a nation facing the threat of nuclear war.

It's 1962, and it seems everyone is living in fear. Twelve-year-old Franny Chapman lives with her family in Washington, DC, during the days surrounding the Cuban...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It All Comes Down to This

Karen English · Clarion Books
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

It's 1965, Los Angeles. All twelve-year-old Sophie wants to do is write her book, star in the community play, and hang out with her friend Jennifer. But she's the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents'...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wings of War

John Wilson · Doubleday Canada
Format: Paperback

A boy-friendly book set during World War One, published for the centennary of the war and accompanied by a digital component to boost interest from the school and library market.      Its the early 1900s and Edward Setten is growing up in the prairies fascinated by his uncle, who is one of the very...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Bat 6

Virginia Euwer Wolff

Set in a small Oregon town just after World War II, this is the powerful tale of a community shattered by its reaction to two young newcomers, Aki and Shazam. Told from 21 different points of view, "Bat 6" explores the subject of Japanese-American racial prejudice after the war. Show...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond the Bright Sea

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"An award-winning, well-researched, historical novel about an orphaned girl who sets out with her adoptive father to learn about her past despite the many dangers they face. A poignant story of belonging and the meaning of family." - Seira Wilson, Amazon Editor

- Winner...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.

* An NPR Best Book of the Year
* A BOOKLIST Best Book of the Year
* An Entertainment Weekly Best Middle Grade Book...
Read More check catalog