Back General Historical Fiction (Teen) | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  General Historical Fiction (Teen)  
Chains

Laurie Halse Anderson · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 316
Format: Hardcover

If an entire nation could seek its freedom, why not a girl?

As the Revolutionary War begins, thirteen-year-old Isabel wages her own fight...for freedom. Promised freedom upon the death of their owner, she and her sister, Ruth, in a cruel twist of fate become the property...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Fever 1793

Laurie Halse Anderson · Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
Pages: 251
Format: Hardcover

From Fever 1793 "Where's Polly?" I asked as I dropped the bucket down the well. "Did you pass by the blacksmith's? "I spoke with her mother, with Mistress Logan," Mother answered softly, looking at her neat rows of carrots. "And?" I waved a mosquito...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Soldier Dog

Sam Angus · Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 249
Format: Print book

With his older brother gone to fight in the Great War, and his father prone to sudden rages, 14-year-old Stanley devotes himself to taking care of the family's greyhound and puppies. Until the morning Stanley wakes to find the puppies gone.

Determined to find his brother, Stanley...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A School for Unusual Girls: A Stranje House Novel

Kathleen Baldwin · Tor Teen
Format: Hardcover

A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot calls this romantic Regency adventure "completely original and totally engrossing."It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Crossing Ebenezer Creek

Tonya Bolden · Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

When Mariah and her young brother Zeke are suddenly freed from slavery, they join Sherman's march through Georgia. Mariah wants to believe that the brutalities of slavery are behind them, but even as hope glimmers, there are many hardships yet to come. When she meets a free black named...

Read More check catalog
 
 
My Brother Sam Is Dead

James Lincoln Collier
Format: Print book

The classic story of one family torn apart by the Revolutionary War -- now with special After Words bonus features!

All his life, Tim Meeker has looked up to his brother Sam. Sam's smart and brave -- and is now a part of the American Revolution. Not everyone in town wants
Read More check catalog
 
 
With Every Drop of Blood

James Collier · Delacorte Books for Young Readers; First Edition edition
Pages: 235
Format: Hardcover

The authors of My Brother Sam Is Dead examine the causes of the Civil War in the tale of an unlikely friendship formed between a Yankee soldier who is a runaway slave and the Rebel boy he captures.
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Red Badge of Courage

Stephen Crane
Format: Paperback

First published in 1895, America's greatest novel of the Civil War was written before 21-year-old Stephen Crane had "smelled even the powder of a sham battle." But this powerful psychological study of a young soldier's struggle with the horrors, both within and with
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Northern Light

Jennifer Donnelly · Harcourt Children's Books; First Edition edition
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Mattie Gokey has a word for everything. She collects words, stores them up as a way of fending off the hard truths of her life, the truths that she can't write down in stories.The fresh pain of her mother's death. The burden of raising her sisters while her father struggles over...
Read More check catalog
 
 
These shallow graves

Jennifer Donnelly · Delacorte Press
Pages: 487
Format: Hardcover

A New York Times bestseller from the acclaimed author of A Northern Light and Revolution. This thrilling mystery is perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. It's a story of dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Across A War-Tossed Sea

L.M. Elliott · Disney-Hyperion
Format: Hardcover

It's 1943, and World War II is raging. To escape the terror of the Blitz, ten-year-old Wesley and fourteen-year-old Charles were evacuated from England to America. After a few near misses with German U-boats and a treacherous ocean crossing, the brothers arrived in Virginia. The culture...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Threads and Flames

Esther Friesner · Viking Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover

Its 1910, and thirteen-year-old Raisa has just traveled alone from a small Polish shtetl all the way to New York City. Its overwhelming, awe-inspiring, and even dangerous, especially when she discovers that her sister has disappeared and she must now fend for herself. She finds work in the Triangle...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Girl in the Blue Coat

Monica Hesse · Little
Pages: 301
Format: Hardcover

"In 1943 Nazi-occupied Amsterdam, teenage Hanneke--a 'finder' of black market goods--is tasked with finding a Jewish girl a customer had been hiding, who has seemingly vanished into thin air, and is pulled into a web of resistance activities and secrets as she attempts to solve the mystery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Jewish Dog

Asher Kravitz · Flashlight Pr
Pages: 239
Format: Print book

Filtering the darkest, most dramatic period of modern Jewish history through the naive, often sage, perspective of a remarkable dog, The Jewish Dog offers readers a view of the Holocaust as never seen before.

This bestselling novel in Israel follows the life and thoughts...

Read More check catalog
 
 
World War II Book 1: The Right Fight

Chris Lynch · Scholastic Press
Pages: 192
Format: Book

There are few things Roman loves as much as baseball, but his country is at the top of the list. So when it looks like the United States will be swept up into World War II, he turns his back on baseball and joins the US Army. Roman doesn't mind. As it turns out, he is far more talented...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead to Me

Mary McCoy · Disney-Hyperion
Format: Hardcover

"Don't believe anything they say."
Read More check catalog
 
 
Burn Baby Burn

Meg Medina · Candlewick
Pages: 310
Format: Hardcover

While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl faces danger within her own home in Meg Medina's riveting coming-of-age novel.

Nora Lopez is seventeen during the infamous New York summer of 1977, when the city is besieged by arson, a massive blackout, and a serial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lost Crown

Sarah Miller · Atheneum Books for Young Readers; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

Olga, Tatiana, Maria, and Anastasia.  Like the fingers on a hand -- first headstrong Olga then Tatiana, the tallest Maria the most hopeful for a ring and Anastasia, the smallest. These are the daughters of Tsar Nicholas II, grand duchesses living a life steeped in tradition and privilege. ...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of Darkness

Ashley Hope Pérez · Carolrhoda Lab TM
Pages: 408
Format: Hardcover

A 2016 Michael L. Printz Honor Book

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year

A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

2016 Tomás Rivera Book Award Winner


"[This] layered tale of color lines, love and struggle in an East Texas oil town is a pit-in-the-stomach...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shadow on the Mountain

Margi Preus · Amulet Books
Pages: 286
Format: Book

Shadow on the Mountain recounts the adventures of a 14-year-old Norwegian boy named Espen during World War II. After Nazi Germany invades and occupies Norway, Espen and his friends are swept up in the Norwegian resistance movement. Espen gets his start by delivering illegal newspapers,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Hired Girl

Laura Amy Schlitz · Candlewick Press
Pages: 387
Format: Print book

Winner of the 2016 Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
A 2016 Association of Jewish Libraries Sydney Taylor Award Winner
Winner of the 2016 National Jewish Book Award for Children's and Young Adult Literature

Newbery Medalist Laura Amy Schlitz brings her delicious wit and keen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Between Shades of Gray

Ruta Sepetys · Philomel Books; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington PostLina is just like any other fifteen-year-old Lithuanian girl in 1941. She paints, she draws, she gets crushes on boys. Until one night when Soviet officers barge into her home,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Out of The Easy

Ruta Sepetys · Philomel Books
Pages: 346
Format: Print book

It's 1950 and the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie Moraine wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Salt to the Sea

Ruta Sepetys · Philomel Books
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted" - The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Lies We Tell Ourselves

Robin Talley · Harlequin Books Teen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

In 1959 Virginia, the lives of two girls on opposite sides of the battle for civil rights will be changed forever.

Sarah Dunbar is one of the first black students to attend the previously all-white Jefferson High School. An honors student at her old school, she is put into remedial...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Day Summer

Sarvenaz Tash · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

Boy meets girl...at the most amazing concert the world has ever seen.Michael is unsure about most things. Go to college? Enlist in the military? Break up with his girlfriend? All big question marks. He is living for the moment and all he wants is a few days at the biggest concert of the summer.Cora...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Uncertain Glory

Lea Wait · Islandport Press
Pages: 203
Format: Hardcover

Joe Wood has big dreams. He wants to be a newspaperman, and though he's only thirteen, he's already borrowed money for the equipment to start his own press. But it's April 1861, and the young nation is teetering on the brink of a civil war. He has to help Owen, his young assistant,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Code Name Verity

Elizabeth Wein · Hyperion
Pages: 343
Format: Book

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it's barely begun.

When "Verity" is arrested by the Gestapo, she's...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Maid of the King's Court

Lucy Worsley · Candlewick Press
Pages: 368
Format: Print book

In the vibrant, volatile court of Henry VIII, can even the most willful young woman direct her own fate and follow her heart in a world ruled by powerful men?Clever, headstrong Elizabeth Rose Camperdowne knows her duty. As the sole heiress to an old but impoverished noble family, Eliza...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Book Thief

Markus Zusak · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 15
Format: Paperback

DON'T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK'S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF.

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that is now a major motion picture, Markus Zusak's unforgettable story is about the ability of books to feed the soul.


When...
Read More check catalog