Back Battle of the Books 5th - 6th | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Battle of the Books 5th - 6th  
The White Mountains

John Christopher · Aladdin Paperbacks
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave.Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ice Magic (New Matt Christopher Sports Library)

Matt Christopher · Norwood House Paper Editions
Pages: 128
Format: Library Binding

The twins' toy hockey game seems to be magic as it plays games identical to the real ones before they even happen. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Read More check catalog
 
 
What's the Big Idea, Ben Franklin?

Jean Fritz · Putnam & Grosset Group
Pages: 46
Format: Paperback

No matter how busy he was, Ben Franklin always found time to try out new ideas and he was also a man of many talents. He was also an ambassador to England, a printer, an almanac maker, a politician, and even a vegetarian (for a time) .
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Side of the Mountain

Jean Craighead George

Sam Gribley is terribly unhappy living in New York City with his family, so he runs away to the Catskill Mountains to live in the woods-all by himself. With only a penknife, a ball of cord, forty dollars, and some flint and steel, he intends to survive on his own. Sam learns about
Read More check catalog
 
 
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's library

Chris Grabenstein · Random House
Pages: 291
Format: Print book

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games - board...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Redwall (Redwall, Book 1)

Brian Jacques · Firebird
Pages: 351
Format: Paperback

A "New York Times" bestseller, "Redwall" is now available in a digest-sized edition. "An animal world as compelling as that of "The Wind in the Willows . . . " This epic adventure contains elements of all grand questions, with heroic archetypes that keep...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

Kelly Jones · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Format: Library Binding

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens. Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they've inherited from a great-uncle. But farm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Harry's Mad

Dick King-Smith · Knopf
Pages: 128
Format: Paperback

"Harry's parents and friends think he's crazy because he acts out the rich fantasies of his 10-year-old imagination. And when his eccentric American uncle dies and leaves Harry a parrot named Madison (Mad), they're convinced of it. A believable, satisfying animal fantasy,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Masterminds

Gordon Korman · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 323
Format: Hardcover

"A terrific page-turner, full of unexpected twists and revelations. Buckle up." - James PattersonThe first book in a new action-packed series from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman is perfect for young fans of James Patterson and John Grisham. Eli Frieden lives in the most...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Wrinkle in Time

Madeleine L'Engle · Square Fish
Pages: 245
Format: Paperback

This is Book 1 of the Time Quintet Series It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. "Wild nights are my glory,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ella Enchanted

Gail Carson Levine · HarperCollinsPublishers
Pages: 232
Format: Hardcover

This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old. At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift - the "gift" of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half, or to chop...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Number the Stars

Lois Lowry · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 137
Format: Hardcover

As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, Annemarie Johansen's family takes in Annemarie's best friend, Ellen Rosen, and conceals her as part of the family.Through the eyes of ten-year-old Annemarie, we watch as the Danish Resistance smuggles...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Nim's Island

Wendy Orr · Puffin
Format: Paperback

Nim lives on an island in the middle of the wide blue sea, shared by only her father, Jack, a marine iguana called Fred, a sea lion called Selkie, a turtle called Chica, and a satellite dish for her e-mail. No one else in the world lives quite like Nim, and she wouldn't swap places...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonder

R J Palacio · Alfred A. Knopf
Pages: 315
Format: Print book

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!Over 5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face. The book that inspired the Choose Kind...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hatchet

Gary Paulsen · Puffin; 16th edition
Format: Book

Stranded in the Canadian wilderness with only the clothes on his back and a hatchet, Brian Robeson must put his bitter thoughts of his parents' divorce behind and deal with trying to stay alive. "Plausible, taut, this (survival) story is spellbinding."--Kirkus Reviews.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scared Stiff

Willo Davis Roberts · Aladdin Paperbacks
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Rick and Kenny's Pa was right -- troubles really do happen in threes. First Pa's truck was robbed, then Pa ran off, leaving Rick, Kenny, and Ma to fend for themselves, and now Ma has disappeared, too. Rick just knows Ma would never leave them on purpose -- but then, where is she?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Esperanza Rising

Pam Munoz Ryan · Scholastic Press
Pages: 262
Format: Book

Pura Belpré Award WinnerIRA Notable Book for a Global SocietyNew York Public Library's 100 Titles for Reading and SharingEsperanza thought she'd always live with her family on their ranch in Mexico--she'd always have fancy dresses, a beautiful home, and servants. But a sudden tragedy...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On the Banks of Plum Creek

Laura Ingalls Wilder · HarperCollins; Revised edition

The adventures of Laura Ingalls and her family continue as they leave their little house on the prairie and travel in their covered wagon to Minnesota. Here they settle in a little house made of sod beside the banks of beautiful Plum Creek. Soon Pa builds a wonderful new little house...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love, Ruby Lavender

Deborah Wiles · Harcourt Children's Books
Pages: 199
Format: Hardcover

Ruby Lavender and Miss Eula are a pretty good team, for a couple of chicken thieves. What other granddaughter-grandmother duo could successfully drive the getaway car for chickens rescued from a journey to the slaughterhouse, paint a whole house shocking pink, and operate their own personal...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Castle in the Attic

Elizabeth Winthrop

A gift of a toy castle, complete with silver knight, introduces William to an adventure involving magic and a personal quest.
Read More check catalog