Battle of the Books 5th - 6th | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Battle of the Books 5th - 6th  
Crenshaw

Katherine Applegate · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 245
Format: Hardcover

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.

Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret School

Avi · Harcourt Children's Books
Pages: 153
Format: Hardcover

More than anything, Ida Bidson wants to become a teacher. To do that, she needs to finish eighth grade so she can go on to high school. But when the one-room school in Ida's remote Colorado town closes unexpectedly, that dream seems unattainable. Her only hope is to keep the school...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home

Henry Cole · KTegenBks; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A beautifully illustrated novel about a mouse, her friendship with Audubon's apprentice, and her search for home.Beneath the crackled and faded painting of a horse, underneath the worn and dusty floorboards of the dining room, lives Celeste, a mouse who spends her days weaving baskets,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

Kate DiCamillo · Candlewick
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

The beloved author of BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE enlightens us with a tale of adventure, despair, love, and soup.

Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tuesdays at the Castle

Jessica Day George · Bloomsbury
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie's favorite days. That's because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Out of Time

Margaret Peterson Haddix · Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers; 1st edition
Format: Print book

When a diphtheria epidemic hits her 1840 village, thirteen-year-old Jessie discovers it is actually a 1996 tourist site under unseen observation by heartless scientists, and it's up to Jessie to escape the village and save the lives of the dying children.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Rider

Joan Hiatt Harlow · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback

Fourteen-year-old Hannah is an orphan living with her cruel aunt Phoebe in Salem, Massachusetts. Hannah recently lost her mother, and now her only comfort is her horse, Promise. But when her money-hungry aunt sells the horse and then indentures Hannah to the Boston family of a British general,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson · Dial Books
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby - perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile!

For most of her twelve years,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller · Random House Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

An uplifting story of a girl discovering a secret family history when she makes a deal with a magical tiger from her grandmother's stories, the Korean version of "Once upon a time..."

Some stories refuse to stay bottled up...

When Lily and her family move...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Slacker

Gordon Korman · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Cameron Boxer is very happy to spend his life avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, and gaming for hours in his basement. It's not too hard for him to get away with it . . . until he gets so caught up in one game that he almost lets his house burn down around him.
Oops.
It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (The Chronicles of Narnia, Book 2)

C. S. Lewis · HarperCollins
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback

Don't miss one of America's top 100 most-loved novels, selected by PBS's The Great American Read.

A beautiful paperback edition of The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, book two in the classic fantasy series The Chronicles of Narnia. This edition features cover art by three-time...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Wings

Gill Lewis · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

The majestic Osprey is an endangered bird that hasn't been seen in Scotland for years, so when Iona McNair locates an Osprey nest, she's desperate to keep the bird safe from poachers. She shares her secret with her classmate Callum, and the two become friends as they work to save...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiloh

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Eleven-year-old Marty Preston loves to spend time up in the hills behind his home near Friendly, West Virginia. Sometimes he takes his .22 rifle to see what he can shoot, like some cans lined up on a rail fence. Other times he goes up early in the morning just to sit and watch the fox and deer....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kite Fighters

Linda Sue Park · HMH Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition
Format: Paperback

In a riveting narrative set in fifteenth-century Korea, two brothers discover a shared passion for kites. Kee-sup can craft a kite unequaled in strength and beauty, but his younger brother, Young-sup, can fly a kite as if he controlled the wind itself. Their combined skills attract the notice...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sideways Stories from Wayside School

Louis Sachar · Wilcox & Follett Book Co
Pages: 141
Format: Hardcover

Humorous episodes from the classroom on the thirtieth floor of Wayside School, which was accidentally built sideways with one classroom on each story.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frozen Stiff

Sherry Shahan

What begins as a two-night camping and kayaking trek in the untamed Alaskan wilderness turns into a test of survival for Cody and her cousin Derek. While their mothers are in Juneau picking up supplies for Yakutat Lodge, the cousins sneak off in an old pickup. The taste of freedom
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mysterious Benedict Society

Trenton Lee Stewart · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 485
Format: Hardcover

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trouble with Tuck: The Inspiring Story of a Dog Who Triumphs Against All Odds

Theodore Taylor

Available for the first time in a Yearling edition, the classic, inspiring story of a dog who triumphs against all odds, by the bestselling author of The Cay.

Helen adored her beautiful golden Labrador from the first moment he was placed in her arms, a squirming fat
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Crooked Kind of Perfect

Linda Urban · Harcourt Children's
Pages: 213
Format: Hardcover

Ten-year-old Zoe Elias has perfect piano dreams. She can practically feel the keys under her flying fingers; she can hear the audience's applause. All she needs is a baby grand so she can start her lessons, and then she'll be well on her way to Carnegie Hall.

But when Dad ventures...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Bridge Home

Padma Venkatraman · Nancy Paulsen Books
Pages: 208
Format: Hardcover

"Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma shares with us an unflinching peek into the reality millions of homeless children live every day but also infuses her story with hope and bravery...
Read More check catalog
 
 
 
Simple News Pro
This email is a service provided by ReadingHouseLLC.com
If you no longer wish to receive emails please unsubscribe here.
©  2014 ReadingHouseLLC.com All Rights Reserved.
Simple News Pro