Back Battle of the Books 5th - 6th | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Battle of the Books 5th - 6th  
Crenshaw

Katherine Applegate · Feiwel & Friends
Pages: 245
Format: Hardcover

In her first novel since The One and Only Ivan, winner of the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Secret School

Avi

More than anything, Ida Bidson wants to become a teacher. To do that, she needs to finish eighth grade so she can go on to high school. But when the one-room school in Ida's remote Colorado town closes unexpectedly, that dream seems unattainable. Her only hope is to keep the school open...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Indian in the Cupboard

Lynne Reid Banks · Doubleday
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

Full of magic and appealing characters, this classic novel takes readers on a remarkable adventure.It's Omri's birthday, but all he gets from his best friend, Patrick, is a little plastic Indian brave. Trying to hide his disappointment, Omri puts the Indian in a metal cupboard and locks...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home

Henry Cole · KTegenBks; 1 edition
Format: Hardcover

A beautifully illustrated novel about a mouse, her friendship with Audubon's apprentice, and her search for home.Beneath the crackled and faded painting of a horse, underneath the worn and dusty floorboards of the dining room, lives Celeste, a mouse who spends her days weaving baskets,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

Timothy B. Ering · Candlewick
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL!Kate DiCamillo introduces a hero for all time! Welcome to the story of Despereaux Tilling, a mouse who is in love with music, stories, and a princess named Pea. It is also the story of a rat called Roscuro, who lives in the darkness and covets a world filled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Tuesdays at the Castle

Jessica Day George · Bloomsbury
Pages: 228
Format: Print book

Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie's favorite days. That's because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Running Out of Time

Margaret Peterson Haddix · Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 184
Format: Print book

When a diphtheria epidemic hits her 1840 village, thirteen-year-old Jessie discovers it is actually a 1996 tourist site under unseen observation by heartless scientists, and it's up to Jessie to escape the village and save the lives of the dying children.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Midnight Rider

Joan Hiatt Harlow

Fourteen-year-old Hannah is an orphan living with her cruel aunt Phoebe in Salem, Massachusetts. Hannah recently lost her mother, and now her only comfort is her horse, Promise. But when her money-hungry aunt sells the horse and then indentures Hannah to the Boston family of a Bri
Read More check catalog
 
 
Roller Girl

Victoria Jamieson · Dial Books
Pages: 239
Format: Hardcover

The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby - perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile! For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Slacker

Gordon Korman · Scholastic Press
Pages: 240
Format: Print book

Cameron Boxer is very happy to spend his life avoiding homework, hanging out with his friends, and gaming for hours in his basement. It's not too hard for him to get away with it . . . until he gets so caught up in one game that he almost lets his house burn down around him. Oops. It's...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe Read-Aloud Edition (Narnia)

C. S. Lewis

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wild Wings

Gill Lewis · Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Print book

The majestic Osprey is an endangered bird that hasn't been seen in Scotland for years, so when Iona McNair locates an Osprey nest, she's desperate to keep the bird safe from poachers. She shares her secret with her classmate Callum, and the two become friends as they work to save...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Shiloh

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor · Atheneum
Pages: 144
Format: Hardcover

Eleven-year-old Marty Preston loves to spend time up in the hills behind his home near Friendly, West Virginia. Sometimes he takes his .22 rifle to see what he can shoot, like some cans lined up on a rail fence. Other times he goes up early in the morning just to sit and watch the fox and deer....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Kite Fighters

Linda Sue Park

Read More check catalog
 
 
Secrets at Sea

Richard Peck · Dial Books; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

In the beloved tradition of The Borrowers, The Tale of Desperaux, and The Cricket in Times Square, here is an irresistible adventure story of the tiny individuals who secretly live among us humans.Helena is the oldest of four mouse siblings who live in the walls of the Cranston estate....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sideways Stories from Wayside School

Louis Sachar · Wilcox & Follett Book Co; No Edition Stated edition
Format: Hardcover

Humorous episodes from the classroom on the thirtieth floor of Wayside School, which was accidentally built sideways with one classroom on each story.,
Read More check catalog
 
 
Frozen Stiff

Sherry Shahan · Dell
Pages: 160
Format: Paperback

What begins as a two-night camping and kayaking trek in the untamed Alaskan wilderness turns into a test of survival for Cody and her cousin Derek. While their mothers are in Juneau picking up supplies for Yakutat Lodge, the cousins sneak off in an old pickup. The taste of freedom is soon...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mysterious Benedict Society

Trenton Lee Stewart · Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 485
Format: Hardcover

Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children-two boys and two girls-succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Trouble with Tuck

Theodore Taylor
Format: Hardcover

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Crooked Kind of Perfect

Linda Urban · Harcourt Children's
Pages: 213
Format: Hardcover

Ten-year-old Zoe Elias has perfect piano dreams. She can practically feel the keys under her flying fingers; she can hear the audience's applause. All she needs is a baby grand so she can start her lessons, and then she'll be well on her way to Carnegie Hall. But when Dad ventures to the music...
Read More check catalog