Back Battle of the Books 5th - 6th | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Battle of the Books 5th - 6th  
The White Mountains

John Christopher · Aladdin Paperbacks
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave.Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Ice Magic (New Matt Christopher Sports Library)

Matt Christopher · Norwood House Paper Editions
Pages: 128
Format: Library Binding

The twins' toy hockey game seems to be magic as it plays games identical to the real ones before they even happen. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Who Was Neil Armstrong?

Roberta Edwards · Grosset & Dunlap
Pages: 105
Format: Paperback

On July 20, 1969, Neil Armstrong stepped on the moon and, to an audience of over 450 million people, proclaimed his step a ?giant leap for mankind.? This Eagle Scout built his own model planes as a little boy and then grew up to be a test pilot for experimental aircraft before becoming...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What's The Big Idea, Ben Franklin? (Paperstar)

Jean Fritz · Puffin
Pages: 48
Format: Paperback

No matter how busy he was, Ben Franklin always found time to try out new ideas and he was also a man of many talents. He was also an ambassador to England, a printer, an almanac maker, a politician, and even a vegetarian (for a time).
Read More check catalog
 
 
My Side of the Mountain

Jean Craighead George · Dutton
Pages: 177
Format: Print book

"Should appeal to all rugged individualists who dream of escape to the forest." - The New York Times Book Review

Sam Gribley is terribly unhappy living in New York City with his family, so he runs away to the Catskill Mountains to live in the woods - all by himself....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's library

Chris Grabenstein · Random House
Pages: 291
Format: Print book

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

Kelly Jones · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 224
Format: Hardcover

Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.

Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they've inherited from a great-uncle. But farm...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Masterminds

Gordon Korman · Balzer + Bray
Pages: 323
Format: Hardcover

The first book in the action-packed series from New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman is perfect for young fans of James Patterson and John Grisham.

Eli Frieden lives in the most perfect town in the world: Serenity, New Mexico. Honesty and integrity are valued above...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Wrinkle in Time

MADELEINE L'ENGLE · Square Fish
Pages: 256
Format: Paperback

It was a dark and stormy night ... In 1962, Madeleine L'Engle debuted her novel A Wrinkle in Time, which would go on to win the 1963 Newbery Medal. Bridging science and fantasy, darkness and light, fear and friendship, the story became a classic of children's literature and is beloved...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Ella Enchanted (Newbery Honor Book)

Gail Carson Levine · HarperCollins
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

This beloved Newbery Honor-winning story about a feisty heroine is sure to enchant readers new and old.

At her birth, Ella of Frell receives a foolish fairy's gift - the "gift" of obedience. Ella must obey any order, whether it's to hop on one foot for a day and a half,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Number the Stars

Lois Lowry · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 137
Format: Hardcover

As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, Annemarie Johansen's family takes in Annemarie's best friend, Ellen Rosen, and conceals her as part of the family.

Through the eyes of ten-year-old Annemarie, we watch as the Danish Resistance...

Read More check catalog
 
 
The Mad Wolf's Daughter

Diane Magras · Kathy Dawson Books
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

A Scottish medieval adventure about the youngest in a war-band who must free her family from a castle prison after knights attack her home--with all the excitement of Ranger's Apprentice and perfect for fans of heroines like Alanna from The Song of the Lioness series.

One dark night,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Wonder

R J Palacio · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 315
Format: Hardcover

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING JULIA ROBERTS, OWEN WILSON, AND JACOB TREMBLAY!

Over 6 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller WONDER and have fallen in love with Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face.

The book that inspired...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Hatchet

Gary Paulsen · Puffin; 16th edition
Format: Book

Stranded in the Canadian wilderness with only the clothes on his back and a hatchet, Brian Robeson must put his bitter thoughts of his parents' divorce behind and deal with trying to stay alive. "Plausible, taut, this (survival) story is spellbinding."--Kirkus Reviews.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Scared Stiff

Willo Davis Roberts · Aladdin Paperbacks
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback

Rick and Kenny's Pa was right -- troubles really do happen in threes. First Pa's truck was robbed, then Pa ran off, leaving Rick, Kenny, and Ma to fend for themselves, and now Ma has disappeared, too. Rick just knows Ma would never leave them on purpose -- but then, where is she?...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Esperanza Rising

Pam Munoz Ryan · Scholastic Press
Pages: 262
Format: Hardcover

Pura Belpré Award Winner
IRA Notable Book for a Global Society
New York Public Library's 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing

Esperanza thought she'd always live with her family on their ranch in Mexico--she'd always have fancy dresses, a beautiful home, and servants. But a sudden...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Holes

Louis Sachar · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Format: Hardcover

A darkly humorous tale of crime and punishmentStanley Yelnat's family has a history of bad luck, so he isn't too surprised when a miscarriage of justice sends him to a boys' juvenile detention center, Camp Green Lake. There is no lake - it has been dry for over a hundred years...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Brothers at Bat: The True Story of an Amazing All-Brother Baseball Team

Audrey Vernick · Clarion Books
Format: Hardcover

The Acerra family had sixteen children, including twelve ball-playing boys. It was the1930s, and many families had lots of kids. But only one had enough to field a baseballteam . . . with three on the bench! The Acerras were the longest-playing all-brotherteam in baseball history. They...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Love, Ruby Lavender

Debbie Wiles

Ruby Lavender and Miss Eula are a pretty good team, for a couple of chicken thieves. What other granddaughter-grandmother duo could successfully drive the getaway car for chickens rescued from a journey to the slaughterhouse, paint a whole house shocking pink, and operate their ow
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Castle in the Attic

Elizabeth Winthrop · Holiday House
Pages: 137
Format: Hardcover

A gift of a toy castle, complete with silver knight, introduces William to an adventure involving magic and a personal quest.
Read More check catalog