Back Junior Historical Fiction | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Junior Historical Fiction  
The War that Saved My Life

Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Format: Book

 
A young disabled girl and her brother are evacuated from London to the English countryside during World War II, where they find life to be much sweeter away from their abusive mother.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Caddie Woodlawn

Carol Ryrie Brink · Macmillan ; London
Pages: 275
Format: Print book

Caddie Woodlawn, which has been captivating young readers since 1935, was awarded the John Newbery Medal for the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Now it is in a brand-new edition with lively illustrations by Trina Schart Hyman. In her new foreword,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Elijah of Buxton

Christopher Paul Curtis · Scholastic Press; First Edition edition
Format: Hardcover

Newbery Medalist and CSK Award winner Christopher Paul Curtis's debut middle-grade/young-YA novel for Scholastic features his trademark humor, compelling storytelling, and unique narrative voice.Eleven-year-old Elijah is the first child born into freedom in Buxton, Canada, a settlement...
Read More check catalog
 
 
It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

Firoozeh Dumas · Clarion Books
Pages: 384
Format: Print book

Zomorod (Cindy) Yousefzadeh is the new kid on the block . . . for the fourth time. California's Newport Beach is her family's latest perch, and she's determined to shuck her brainy loner persona and start afresh with a new Brady Bunch name - Cindy. It's the late 1970s, and fitting in becomes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Boston Jane : an adventure

Jennifer L Holm · HarperCollins
Pages: 273
Format: Print book

Schooled in the lessons of etiquette for young ladies of 1854, Miss Jane Peck of Philadelphia finds little use for manners during her long sea voyage to the Pacific Northwest and while living among the American traders and Chinook Indians of Washington Territory.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Our Only May Amelia

Jennifer L. Holm · HarperCollins; 1st edition
Format: Print book

She may be a miracle, but she's no proper young lady!It isn't easy being a pioneer in the state of Washington in 1899, but it's particularly hard when you are the only girl ever born in the new settlement. With seven older brothers and a love of adventure, May Amelia Jackson...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

Jacqueline Kelly · Henry Holt
Pages: 340
Format: Hardcover

Calpurnia Virginia Tate is eleven years old in 1899 when she wonders why the yellow grasshoppers in her Texas backyard are so much bigger than the green ones. With a little help from her notoriously cantankerous grandfather, an avid naturalist, she figures out that the green grasshoppers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Inside Out and Back Again

Thanhha Lai · HarperCollins
Pages: 272
Format: Audio CD

Inside Out and Back Again is a New York Times bestseller, a Newbery Honor Book, and a winner of the National Book Award! Inspired by the author's childhood experience of fleeing Vietnam after the Fall of Saigon and immigrating to Alabama, this coming-of-age debut novel told in verse...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Number the Stars

Lois Lowry · Houghton Mifflin
Pages: 137
Format: Hardcover

As the German troops begin their campaign to "relocate" all the Jews of Denmark, Annemarie Johansen's family takes in Annemarie's best friend, Ellen Rosen, and conceals her as part of the family.

Through the eyes of ten-year-old Annemarie, we watch as the Danish Resistance...

Read More check catalog
 
 
A Night Divided

Jennifer A. Nielsen · Scholastic Press
Pages: 317
Format: Print book

From NYT bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen comes a stunning thriller about a girl who must escape to freedom after the Berlin Wall divides her family between east and west.

With the rise of the Berlin Wall, twelve-year-old Gerta finds her family suddenly divided. She, her mother,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
A Long Walk to Water: Based on a True Story

Linda Sue Park · Clarion Books
Pages: 121
Format: Hardcover

The New York Times bestseller A Long Walk to Water begins as two stories, told in alternating sections, about two eleven-year-olds in Sudan, a girl in 2008 and a boy in 1985. The girl, Nya, is fetching water from a pond that is two hours' walk from her home: she makes two trips...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Woods Runner

Gary Paulsen · Wendy Lamb Books
Pages: 164
Format: Print book

Samuel, 13, spends his days in the forest, hunting for food for his family. He has grown up on the frontier of a British colony, America. Far from any town, or news of the war against the King that American patriots have begun near Boston.

But the war comes to them. British soldiers...
Read More check catalog
 
 
On The Wings of Heroes

Richard Peck · Dial Books
Pages: 148
Format: Print book

Davy Bowman's brother and their dad hung the moon. Dad looks forward to Halloween more than a kid, and Davy's brother, Bill, flies B-17s. Davy adores these two heroes and tries his best to follow their lead, especially now.

World War II has invaded Davy's homefront boyhood. There's an air raid...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Yellow Star

Jennifer Roy · Amazon Children's Publishing; First Edition edition
Pages: 242
Format: Hardcover

"In 1945 the war ended. The Germans surrendered, and the ghetto was liberated. Out of over a quarter of a million people, about 800 walked out of the ghetto. Of those who survived, only twelve were children. I was one of the twelve." For more than fifty years after the war, Syvia,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sign of the Beaver

Elizabeth George Speare
Format: Book

 
Left alone to guard the family's wilderness home in eighteenth-century Maine, a boy is hard-pressed to survive until local Indians teach him their skills.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Moon Over Manifest

Clare Vanderpool · Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Winner of the 2011 Newbery Award.The movement of the train rocked me like a lullaby. I closed my eyes to the dusty countryside and imagined the sign I’d seen only in Gideon’s stories: Manifest—A Town with a rich past and a bright future. Abilene Tucker feels abandoned....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Paperboy

Vince Vawter · Delacorte Press
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird." - Booklist, Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" - ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Listening for Lions

Gloria Whelan · HarperCollins
Pages: 194
Format: Print book

Historical fiction with a wicked twist. Listening for Lions is a breathtaking story of tragedy, deception, and triumph against all odds. National Book Award-winning author Gloria Whelan sets this richly historical coming-of-age adventure in British East Africa in the year 1918. This irresistible...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Beyond the Bright Sea

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Book

From the Newbery-honor winning author of the critically acclaimed Wolf Hollow comes a moving story of identity and belonging.

Twelve-year-old Crow has lived her entire life on a tiny, isolated piece of the starkly beautiful Elizabeth Islands in Massachusetts....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Wolf Hollow

Lauren Wolk · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

A 2017 Newbery Honor Book
New York Times Bestseller

A young girl's kindness, compassion, and honesty overcome bullying.


★ An NPR Best Book of the Year
★ A BOOKLIST Best Book of the Year
★ An Entertainment Weekly...
Read More check catalog