Back Interesting People | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Interesting People  
Missing Lucile: Memories of the Grandmother I Never Knew

Suzanne Berne · Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Pages: 296
Format: Book

Even as a child, Suzanne Berne understood the source of her father's terrible melancholy: he'd lost his mother when he was a little boy. Decades later, with her father now elderly and ailing, she decides to try to uncover the woman who continues to haunt him. Every family has a missing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Drinking with Men: A Memoir

Rosie Schaap · Riverhead Hardcover
Pages: 272
Format: Book

NPR "Best Books of 2013"BookPage Best Books of 2013Library Journal Best Books of 2013: MemoirFlavorwire 10 Best Nonfiction Books of 2013A vivid, funny, and poignant memoir that celebrates the distinct lure of the camaraderie and community one finds drinking in bars.Rosie Schaap...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Reading the OED: One Man, One Year, 21,730 Pages

Ammon Shea · Penguin Group
Pages: 232
Format: Book

An obsessive word lover's account of reading the Oxford English Dictionary cover to cover. "I'm reading the OED so you don't have to. If you are interested in vocabulary that is both spectacularly useful and beautifully useless, read on..." So reports Ammon Shea, the tireless,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dead End Gene Pool: A Memoir

Wendy Burden · Gotham Books
Pages: 279
Format: Print book

In the tradition of Sean Wilsey's Oh The Glory of It All and Augusten Burrough's Running With Scissors, the great-great-great granddaughter of Cornelius Vanderbilt gives readers a grand tour of the world of wealth and WASPish peculiarity, in her irreverent and darkly humorous memoir. For generations...
Read More check catalog
 
 
You Don't Look Like Anyone I Know

Heather Sellers · Riverhead Books
Pages: 356
Format: Hardcover

An unusual and uncommonly moving family memoir, with a twist that give new meaning to hindsight, insight, and forgiveness. Heather Sellers is face-blind-that is, she has prosopagnosia, a rare neurological condition that prevents her from reliably recognizing people's faces. Growing up, unaware...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Man in the Rockefeller Suit: The Astonishing Rise and Spectacular Fall of a Serial Imposter

Mark Seal · Viking
Pages: 336
Format: Book

A real-life Talented Mr. Ripley, the unbelievable thirty-year run of a shape-shifting con man. The story of Clark Rockefeller is a stranger-than-fiction twist on the classic American success story of the self-made man-because Clark Rockefeller was totally made up. The career con man who convincingly...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Satan Is Real: The Ballad of the Louvin Brothers

Charlie Louvin · ItBooks
Pages: 297
Format: Book

Get ready for one of America's great untold stories: the true saga of the Louvin Brothers, a mid-century Southern gothic Cain and Abel and one of the greatest country duos of all time. The Los Angeles Times called them "the most influential harmony team in the history of country music,"...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Father's Day: A Journey into the Mind and Heart of My Extraordinary Son

Buzz Bissinger · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 242
Format: Book

A remarkable memoir from the best-selling author of Friday Night Lights and Three Nights in August.Buzz Bissinger's twins were born three minutes - and a world - apart. Gerry, the older one, is a graduate student at Penn, preparing to become a teacher. His brother Zach has spent his life...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis

Timothy Egan · Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Pages: 370
Format: Book

How a lone man's epic obsession led to one of America's greatest cultural treasures: Prizewinning writer Timothy Egan tells the riveting, cinematic story behind the most famous photographs in Native American history - and the driven, brilliant man who made them.
Read More check catalog
 
 
Cotton Tenants: Three Families

James Agee · Melville House
Pages: 224
Format: Paperback

A re-discovered masterpiece of reporting by a literary icon and a celebrated photographerIn 1941, James Agee and Walker Evans published Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, a four-hundred-page prose symphony about three tenant farming families in Hale County, Alabama at the height of the Great...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Empty Mansions: The Mysterious Life of Huguette Clark and the Spending of a Great American Fortune

Bill Dedman · Random House Publishing Group
Pages: 456
Format: Book

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * UPDATED TEXT WITH RESULTS OF THE CLARK ESTATE SETTLEMENT * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Janet Maslin, The New York Times * When Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Bill Dedman noticed in 2009 a grand home for sale, unoccupied for nearly sixty years,...
Read More check catalog