Back Soaring Eagle Book Awards (Teens) | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  Soaring Eagle Book Awards (Teens)  

2018-2019 Nominees

I Will Always Write Back: How One Letter Changed Two Lives

Martin Ganda - Little
Pages: 392
Format: Print book

"The true story of an all-American girl and a boy from"" Zimbabwe and the letter that changed both of their lives forever. " It started as an assignment. Everyone in Caitlin's class wrote to an unknown student somewhere in a distant place. Martin was lucky to even receive...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Three Dark Crowns

Kendare Blake - HarperTeen
Pages: 398
Format: Book

Fans of acclaimed author Kendare Blake's Anna Dressed in Blood will devour her latest novel, a dark and inventive fantasy about three sisters who must fight to the death to become queen.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dividing Eden

JOELLE CHARBONNEAU - HarperTeen
Pages: 318
Format: Hardcover

From the author of the New York Times bestselling The Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley - Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 288
Format: Book

A beautiful love story for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon: two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages.

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Projekt 1065: A Novel of World War II

Alan Gratz - Scholastic Press
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

Infiltrate. Befriend. Sabotage.
World War II is raging. Michael O'Shaunessey, originally from Ireland, now lives in Nazi Germany with his parents. Like the other boys in his school, Michael is a member of the Hitler Youth.

But Michael has a secret. He and his parents are spies....
Read More check catalog
 
 
Rebel of the Sands

Alwyn Hamilton - Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 314
Format: Book

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic. For humans, it's an unforgiving place, especially if you're poor, orphaned, or female. Amani Al'Hiza is all three....

Read More check catalog
 
 
Stalking Jack the Ripper

Kerri Maniscalco - jimmy patterson
Pages: 336
Format: Book

Presented by James Patterson's new children's imprint, this deliciously creepy horror novel has a storyline inspired by the Ripper murders and an unexpected, blood-chilling conclusion...

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Dumplin'

Julie Murphy - Balzer Bray
Pages: 400
Format: Book

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sarah Dessen comes this powerful novel with a fearless heroine - self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson - from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs,...

Read More check catalog
 
 
Long Way Down

JASON REYNOLDS - Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Pages: 306
Format: Hardcover

A Newbery Honor Book
A Coretta Scott King Honor Book
A Printz Honor Book
A Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner for Young Adult Literature
Longlisted for the National Book Award for Young People's Literature
Winner of the Walter Dean Myers Award
An Edgar Award...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Thornhill

PAM SMY - Roaring Brook Press
Pages: 544
Format: Hardcover

Parallel stories set in different times, one told in prose and one in pictures, converge as a girl unravels the mystery of the abandoned Thornhill Institute next door.

1982: Mary is a lonely orphan at the Thornhill Institute For Children at the very moment that it's shutting its doors....

Read More check catalog
 
 

2017-2018 Winner

Scythe

Neal Shusterman - Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Pages: 464
Format: Paperback

Two teens must learn the "art of killing" in this Printz Honor-winning book, the first in a chilling new series from Neal Shusterman, author of the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology.

A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery: humanity has conquered...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2017-2018 2nd place

Girl in the Blue Coat

Monica Hesse - Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

An unforgettable story of bravery, grief, and love in impossible times"A tapestry of guilt and acceptance, growing responsibility, and reluctant heroism, Hanneke's coming-of-age under heartbreaking circumstances is a jarring reminder of how war consumes and transforms the passions...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2017-2018 3rd place

Orbiting Jupiter

Gary D. Schmidt - Clarion Books
Pages: 192
Format: Hardcover

The two-time Newbery Honor winner Gary D. Schmidt delivers the shattering story of Joseph, a father at thirteen, who has never seen his daughter, Jupiter. After spending time in a juvenile facility, he's placed with a foster family on a farm in rural Maine. Here Joseph, damaged and withdrawn,...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2016-2017 winner

Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon - Ember
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--now a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn't touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2016-2017 2nd place

Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo - Henry Holt and Co.
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover

Enter the Grishaverse with the #1 New York Times-bestselling Six of Crows.

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price -- and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly...

Read More check catalog
 
 

2016-2017 3rd place

Code of Honor

Alan Gratz - Scholastic Press
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover

From the acclaimed of author of Prisoner B-3087, a timely, heart-racing action-adventure about the War on Terror -- and the bond between brothers.Kamran Smith has it all. He's the star of the football team, dates the most popular girl in school, and can't wait to enlist in the Army...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2015-2016 Winner

Unbroken

Laura Hillenbrand - Delacorte
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

The #1 New York Times bestseller, which is also a major motion picture directed by Angelina Jolie, has now been adapted by the author for young adults. Beautifully illustrated throughout, this riveting biography includes more than 100 black-and-white photos, as well as exclusive content,...
Read More check catalog
 
 

2015-2016 2nd place

Throne of glass

Sarah J Maas - Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin....

Read More check catalog
 
 

2015-2016 3rd place

Ashfall

Mike Mullin - Tanglewood
Pages: 466
Format: Paperback

Under the bubbling hot springs and geysers of Yellowstone National Park is a supervolcano. Most people don't know it's there. The caldera is so large that it can only be seen from a plane or satellite. It just could be overdue for an eruption, which would change the landscape and climate...
Read More check catalog
 
 

Past winners and nominees can be found here.