Back New Teen Fiction | Book List

SelectReads News
Simple News Pro
  New Teen Fiction  
Confessions of a Teenage Leper

Ashley Little · Penguin Teen
Format: Print book

Cheerleading, mean girls, shopping . . . and leprosy? High school is about to get complicated. For fans of Before I Fall and Exit, Pursued By a Bear. Abby Furlowe has plans. Big plans. She's hot, she's popular, she's a cheerleader and she's going to break out of her small...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo · HarperTeen
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A National Book Award Longlist title!Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth....
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Iron Flower

Laurie Forest · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 608
Format: Hardcover

Dark forces are on the rise in this sweeping sequel to The Black Witch by critically acclaimed author Laurie Forest.Elloren Gardner and her friends were only seeking to right a few wrongs when they rescued a Selkie and freed a military dragon. The last thing they expected was to be thrust...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unbroken: 13 Stories Starring Disabled Teens

Marieke Nijkamp · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

This anthology explores disability in fictional tales told from the viewpoint of disabled characters, written by disabled creators. With stories in various genres about first loves, friendship, war, travel, and more, Unbroken will offer today's teen readers a glimpse into the lives of disabled...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Blood Water Paint

Joy McCullough · Dutton Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover

"When I finished this novel, I knew I would be haunted and empowered by Artemisia Gentileschi's story for the rest of my life." - Amanda Lovelace, bestselling author of the princess saves herself in this oneHer mother died when she was twelve, and suddenly Artemisia Gentileschi...
Read More check catalog
 
 
When Elephants Fly

Nancy Richardson Fischer · Harlequin Teen
Pages: 400
Format: Hardcover

Don't miss one of the most heartwarming young adult novels of the year. Perfect for fans of Water for Elephants, Wonder and All the Bright Places, When Elephants Fly shows that how we choose to live our lives matters, and that there are some battles worth fighting even if it means losing...
Read More check catalog
 
 
The Leading Edge of Now

Marci Lyn Curtis · Kids Can Press
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover

Just when Grace is beginning to get used to being an orphan, her estranged uncle suddenly comes forward to claim her.That might have been okay if he d spoken to her even once since her father died. Or if moving in with Uncle Rusty didn t mean returning to New Harbor. Grace once spent the best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Sadie

COURTNEY SUMMERS · Wednesday Books
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover

"Summers has pulled no punches when it comes to diving into the darker side of teen lives." -- BustleA gripping novel about the depth of a sister's love; poised to be the next book you won't be able to stop talking about.A missing girl on a journey of revenge and a Serial -- like...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Give the Dark My Love

Beth Revis · Razorbill
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover

A young alchemist turns to dark magic when a deadly plague sweeps through her homeland in this epic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis.Seventeen-year-old Nedra Brysstain leaves her home in the rural, northern territories of Lunar Island to attend the prestigious Yugen...
Read More check catalog
 
 
People Kill People

ELLEN HOPKINS · Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 448
Format: Hardcover

Someone will shoot. And someone will die. #1 New York Times bestselling author Ellen Hopkins tackles gun violence and white supremacy in this compelling and complex novel.People kill people. Guns just make it easier. A gun is sold in the classifieds after killing a spouse, bought by a teenager...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Unclaimed Baggage

Jen Doll · Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover

Doris -- a lone liberal in a conservative small town -- has mostly kept to herself since the terrible waterslide incident a few years ago. Nell had to leave behind her best friends, perfect life, and too-good-to-be-true boyfriend in Chicago to move to Alabama. Grant was the star quarterback...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Freak 'N' Gorgeous

Sebastian J Plata · Sky Pony Press
Pages: 312
Format: Hardcover

Everyone is ugly sometimes. In a world not unlike our own, there is a phenomenon called the INEXPLICABLE DEVELOPMENT -- a rare occurrence with permanent consequences. Average-looking, under-the-radar sixteen-year-old Konrad Wolnik's life is turned upside down when, one morning, he wakes...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Dare You to Lie

AMBER LYNN NATUSCH · Tor Teen
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover

From Amber Lynn Natusch, author of the Force of Nature series, comes her first young adult thrilling novel of suspense with Dare You to Lie.When her FBI agent father is framed for murder, Kylene is forced to move in with her grandfather, back to the small town that turned its back on her,...
Read More check catalog
 
 
Swing

Kwame Alexander · Blink
Pages: 432
Format: Hardcover

Things usually do not go as planned for seventeen-year-old Noah. He and his best friend Walt (aka Swing) have been cut from the high school baseball team for the third year in a row, and it looks like Noah's love interest since fifth grade, Sam, will never take it past the "best...
Read More check catalog
 
 
What the Night Sings

Vesper Stamper · Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 272
Format: Hardcover

Longlisted for the National Book AwardFor fans of The Book Thief and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who must come to terms with who she is and how to rebuild her life."A tour de force. This powerful story of love, loss,...
Read More check catalog